We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday cottage/location”
other travelers have booked this property
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen
Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Fully fitted kitchen
Fantastic view from the cottage
living room with great views over the fields and doors leading onto patio & garden.
one of the lovely bathrooms
spacious twin bedroom
Twin room with fab views over the fields
Double room with great countyside views
Sofa bed in upstairs mezzannine
Upstairs living room mezzanine
Patio area
View of sunrise from the cottage
Front view of The Old Shippon & Churn cottage
large garden/patio area
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newport, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
212acom
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday cottage/location”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked The Old Shippon to visit family nearby. I found it very easy to arrange and book. We were delighted with the location and the cottage. Four adults and four kids stayed, the cottage was very clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Sarah and her family made us very welcome, her daughter and sheepdog spot came and played with the kids a couple of times which was really lovely. We all agreed that we would definately book again if we were going back to Shopshire.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us it was great to meet you all, Spot does like to come & meet the guests and enjoys a fuss. If you do decide to come and visit Shropshire again we would love to welcome you back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandickey
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place To Stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location of the barn is outstanding, wonderful views and wildlife, not to mention the friendly sheep!
We were 4 Adults and two children plenty of space for all. Kids enjoyed the provided games inside and out.
The Barn is very well equipped and you don't need to bring anything other than food and clothes.
Beds were very comfortable and we all slept like logs
Sarah is a wonderful host and it was lovely to meet you.
I would recommend Sambrook Cottages to anyone.
We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H
Maidstone
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We hired the cottage for one week in June and were not dissapointed.
We are family of 4 with 2 children- 2yrs old and 9weeks, we went away with our friends who had a 3 year old and 3 month old baby. The cottage catered exactly for our needs and baby cots were provided which were far better than any travel cot.
All rooms are ample sizes and it's nice that the kitchen splits the two sleeping areas each with their own bathroom which makes sharing the accommodation really easy.
We had a food shop delivered and although it arrived early we were very lucky that Sarah was there to help.
The outside space was perfect. Completely fenced in and safe for our children and great for them to look out over the fields with sheep and cows in. Some toys were already at the cottage which was great for the kiddies.
Wi-fi is provided but unfortunately we had a few connectivity issues, although we were too fussed and isolated us from the normal rat race!
I can't fault the service we received from Sarah. Our little girl left her bunny behind and Sarah did a little search and rescue and kindly posted bunny back to us which was really appreciated and so very kind.
We would most definitely recommend this cottage and will be looking to book again.
Thank you
The Patterson's and Wards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
It was really nice to meet you all (briefly) I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us the cottage is well laid out for two families and the garden is a great space especially for little ones to let off a bit of steam , I hope the friendly sheep in the field came to say hello. Also really pleased I could return the much loved bunny to your daughter. Hope to see you all again at Sambrook Manor cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zbecky
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fantastic time was had. Great cottage , very attentive hosts. Lots of little lovely touches such as toys left out for our daughter and the opportunity to bottlefeed the lambs. The only problem we had was that the cottage wasn't very sound proof so our baby's crying woke up the whole house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda H
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Shippon”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely property. Well stocked and clean. Stunning views. A great family holiday. Definitely going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Thank you for your review it was great having you all stay with us & would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0bgillia...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Old Shippon”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely stay in 'the old shippon' cottage. We had a warm welcome from Sarah and Andrew, along with some yummy fresh eggs. Very comfortable luxury accommodation. Great underfloor heating. Some very nice walks in the beautiful countryside surrounding the cottage. Thanks for the lamb feeding, the kids loved it! Don't hesistate to book here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing