We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travelers have booked this property
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen
Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Fully fitted kitchen
Fantastic view from the cottage
living room with great views over the fields and doors leading onto patio & garden.
one of the lovely bathrooms
spacious twin bedroom
Twin room with fab views over the fields
Double room with great countyside views
Sofa bed in upstairs mezzannine
Upstairs living room mezzanine
Patio area
View of sunrise from the cottage
Front view of The Old Shippon & Churn cottage
large garden/patio area
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newport, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen O
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved the cottage, we changed our original plans for a grown up get away from it all and last minute took our grandchildren. The cottage and area can cater for both. Sarah and Andrew have thought of everything . We loved our stay .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to animals and gorgeous trees
Liked least: Wi-fi signal a bit patchy in some areas of the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so glad you all got chance to soak up the view,a morning coffee sat on the patio watching the farms sheep & cows graze in the peace & quiet is a great way to start the day. We would love to welcome you back to Sambrook Manor anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yankie100
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent countryside house. Great views and kind hosts”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks to Sarah and her lovely kids. The Old Shippon was extraordinary. Beautifully renovated with every detail thought about.
The peace and quiet and tranquility are something special.
The house is very spacious - 8 beds a very large kitchen and even a lounge and a second floor den. Very clean and tidy. Somewhat luxurious.
Glorious views of the countryside, and so much to do within a short driving distance.
Sarah and her young kids were very helpful and welcoming. Thanks for letting us feed the calf with the bottle and collect the eggs from the chicken.
Our kids loved it. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely and peaceful and great Location for our needs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ronnie123...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A truly Idyllic Cottage with a beautiful interior and stunning views!”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The best accommodation by far that I have booked in the UK. Such a warm, cosy and clean cottage. The owners are so helpful and welcoming and all the little extras were an unexpected surprise, fruit, eggs, soap etc. A beautiful location with lambs and cows outside the property. Close to local towns. I would say you need a car to travel about but there are lovely walks outside your door. There was an excellent folder of tips and advice. I would stay here again when in the area. I was so pleased to have found this lovely cottage and it was a joy to stay there. Thank you Sarah!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Underfloor heating and Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
Really lovely to meet you all and thank you for the great review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage . The little extra's are my pleasure and were hopefully useful, we have just taken a delivery today of 10 new point of lay chickens which will provide lots more of our delicious free range eggs for guests to enjoy. I would love to welcome you back to Sambrook Manor cottages anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You can never have enough of this place!”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Service second to none, friendly helpful and can never do enough for you.
The property is still as fresh as it was when we first went 3 years ago. Clean, new and comfortable.
It is comfortable enough just to laze around in or superbly located for family orientated activities such as Ironbridge, Chester Zoo and historical Shrewsbury, all within very easy reach.
The village is nice and quiet with some very nice walks including a very quick one to the local pub with good food and ales.
There is nothing to not like about this cottage and everything to like.
If you want somewhere in Shropshire pick this or the smaller property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and coming back
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing