We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant for miles”
Review of The Swan at Forton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Forton
Ranked #2 of 6 Newport B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant for miles”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is our favourite, and try as we may, we cannot find one to equal it, or even come close. It's got the whole package:- the staff are always polite and helpful- the setting is atmospheric (especially in the conservatory) and the food is divine.



  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillysalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    41
    24
    18
See reviews for
50
70
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I chose from the al a carte menu and had roast cod loin with "creamy mash" and green beans. When it arrived, the cod loin was tiny and the mash was very evidently instant. Not what you expect when you are being charged £12.95 for the plate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We used to love coming here - but seems they have had a change over in staff - used to be very professional - with lovely happy staff and that actually seemed to enjoy working there and made you feel very welcome - not anymore - manageress seems to be in the wrong job - hasnt a clue about customer care - if anything she gives off a "vibe" as to not to approach her -a smile wouldnt go a miss, we felt as if we shouldn't of been there wanting to eat or drink! NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SashaJade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinklilly25
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arranged a party at the Swan at Forton for my Dads 65th using the Christmas menu. The meal was really fantastic. This is the first time a number of us had been to this venue in years as it had started to get a bad reputation however it appears in the last year the management have changed. The food was excellent value for money and it was a really nice menu. Most of us had steaks and they were all cooked to our liking with very little wastage, not one tough steak in sight. The menu was the best I could find locally coming from Market Drayton.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pinklilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited for a mid week lunch and an evening meal during a weeks holiday in the area. The carvery was excellent quality and both the t-bone steak and venison dishes were delicious. Service was attentive but not in your face and the local ale was great. All in all would highly recommend. A added bonus was being able to use our taste card.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Used to come here very often. Stayed here the night before my wedding.... Then it changed management. We visited not long ago. The staff seemed very young and unprofessional. I asked for a Shiraz and there was a glass of red on the side, she picked it up, stuck her nose in it and sniffed it and said 'I think that's a Shiraz ', the other barnan said 'yeah it is, I poured it ages ago', then they gave it to me. I politely declined and asked for a fresh one since I was paying over £5 for it. There were a load of young lads around the bar (friends of the Barmaids) and as we left they all burst into laughter!! It just seems that every time we visit to give it another go, it is being run by untrained kids. Please do the lovely building justice and employ some professional staff. Such a shame, we used to love coming here under the old management.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had an evening meal here in Oct 2012 as part of a weekend at the Ironbridge Museums. The restaurant is in a tiny village but has a good carpark. On a rainy night it had a very welcoming warm atmosphere with good lighting. Right from entering we were treated extremely well and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good quality and beautifully cooked. The wine wasnt cheap but it was a proper Rioja. The timing of courses was perfect and service very attentive and prompt. We really enjoyed our evening and would recommend this restaurant, I think the owners are trying very hard to make it a success.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nairbsehayremmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
10.1 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
5.1 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Forton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Forton

Property: The Swan at Forton
Address: Eccleshall Road, Newport TF10 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Swan at Forton 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Swan at Forton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Forton Newport, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing