We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful”

Review of Postbox Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is set in the heart of the village Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The cottage is set in the heart of the village
Courtyard
Sitting room
Dining area
Window at the front of the cottage
Double bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Twin bedroom
Alcove in twin room
The separate bathroom
The Wheatsheaf-good food just five minuites walk away
The church of St Mary the Virgin, Edith Weston
Ready for fishing
The Italian restraunt-less than ten minutes walk away
Rutland Water Golf Club
© Rutland Sailing Club
© Rutland Osprey Trust -  The nature reserve regularly holds in excess of 20,000 waterfowl
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edith Weston, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A beautifully peaceful place to stay within easy walking distance of the south shore of Rutland Water. Postbox Cottage was well thought out and fully equipped with loads of storage and everything we needed for our 3 day stay (including milk and chocolates on our arrival) The village pub was equally welcoming. Our little dog had a thoroughly fab first holiday!! Thoroughly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angiet66
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing New Years stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Postbox cottage for 4 nights over New year. The cottage is very well equipped and beautifully decorated literally a home from home. The gas log burner is lovely and makes for a cost time.The cottage had a few Christmas decorations which were a nice touch.Handy for walks to other villages or around the water itself.In quiet position so no traffic noise.Very handy for the great village pub The Wheatsheaf serving great food & drink.Look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcodger...
Trunch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy cottage in pretty village.”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very cosy, warm cottage. Very well equipped particularly the kitchen although with The Wheatsheaf only 100 yards away and serving good food it could be a difficult choice whether to eat in or out. A helpful folder with suggested walking routes and an OS map was a bonus. Great walking from the door. Would definitely consider a return visit and recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginette H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage and wonderful location”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage ideal for small sized family and small dog. Well equipped kitchen and beautifully decorated throughout. What a bonus to have linen and towels provided too. The stair gates were useful to contain our dog but would also protect small children from the stairs. We could not fault it. The location was great with easy access to Rutland Water and a good Italian restaurant also within walking distance. Other activities if you needed them in a short drive. Shame the pub was closed for repair but we heard good reports and would have liked to have visited it. The village shop was handy when we had run out of lunch! A great break and one we would repeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean fresh smell when we entered the property
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen1976
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow what a fantastic place!! ”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at postbox cottage! Communication with Elizabeth prior to and during our stay was excellent!

The cottage is deceptively spacious and absolutely beautiful both inside and out! We chose this cottage as our house was being renovated so we needed to get away with our dog for a few days, as Rutland Water is practically on our doorstep we thought we would holiday closer to home!

We can't stress how well equipped the cottage is, you literally have everything you need! While we were there we were blessed with hot September summer sunshine which made the charming enclosed patio garden area a great place for relaxing and eating!

We enjoy walking with our dog and I am a keen photographer, and with Edith Weston's location on Rutland Water you are a 5-10 min walk away from a beautiful sunset across the reservoir with Normanton Church framing the view! Obviously there are a whole host of other water related/cycling/fishing etc activities all on your doorstep.

The kitchen and patio are great for cooking at the cottage but there is a couple of great pubs and restaurants (Italian restaurant at the lakeside, 10 mins away)

We visited all the local towns but found Stamford to be be the best, but Uppingham is also great!

A very reasonable charming cottage in a beautiful village! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Hi Glen
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the weather was kind to you. Thank you for your kind comments, much appreciated!
All the best, Elizabeth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchaa
Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage, Stunning Location”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned from a long weekend in Post Box Cottage and what a fabulous weekend we had.

The village is beautiful and the cottage a real treat. It's much larger than it looks in the pictures with a very spacious living room / dining area as you walk in with beautiful exposed brick walls and very plush furnishings.

The kitchen is incredibly well equipped with some really helpful extras in the cupboards (tea, coffee, squash, seasoning and condiments) along with some goodies left by Elizabeth.

Previous reviews are accurate enough, you want for nothing here. We took our dog with us and really valued the dog gates which prevented him from going upstairs.

The bedrooms are very spacious and there's tons of wardrobe and storage space with two family size bathrooms.

Location wise you're 30 seconds from a great pub (food and drinks are top notch along with the service) and just 10 minutes from the water (with great walks).

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone, it's first class and worth every good review it gets.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very warm and cosy cottage but beautifully furnished
Liked least: nothing, it's top notch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PD1962
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An idyllic retreat”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent well equipped, clean, comfortsble and cosy cottage within walking distance of Rutland Water. Post Office cottage is home from home with lots of little extras, including free WiFi. The information book, which we found very useful provided detailed accounts about the cottage, local area, walks and places to visit. Thank you Elizabeth for a lovely break we would certainty recommend this as a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing