We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of The Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Eynsham B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I visited the Talbot restaurant with my family for a midday lunch. The service was good, but the food did not live up to expectations. The vegatables followed the current "al dente" trend, but like so many other restaurants, it has become an excuse for being undercooked and almost raw. A main course of Tunas steak was returned as it was tough, dry, tasteless and unedible. Another selection was offered, but declined. No charge was made for it in the final account.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

I really like this hotel. The staff were excellent and made me feel at home. They were helpful with my travel enquiries and really kind people. The food was very good. The atmosphere was great. A really nice English pub. The room was comfortableand clean. I didn't have an ensuite but that was only outside my door. There was a bus stop right outside the pub to get the bus to Oxford then on to Blenheim Palace. On a main road so a bit of traffic noise at peak time in the morning but that was ok.The little village close by for my travel supplies. I would stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be fine here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Talbot for a week. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I recommend getting breakfast included as you have the option of a full-english every morning as well as cereals, juice, tea, and coffee. The pub food is excellent and there's always specials on. And the portions are very generous so make sure you go hungry. The room is very welcoming with comfortable beds and tea and coffee waiting for you. A closet with extra blankets and pillows. The bathroom was very spacious. The only complaints would be that the tv was very small, the clock on the bedside table didn't have batteries, and sometimes the water for a shower wouldn't get hot around lunchtime for some reason. Don't be put off by the location being right on the road, it quiets down at night. Also, being right beside the bus stop is convenient; and right after the toll bridge makes it easy to remember where to get off when returning from Oxford. Overall, I highly recommend the Talbot and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was a bit difficult for me to decide whether to rate Very Good or Excellent so perhaps I have been a bit harsh only giving The Talbot Inn just 4 stars. I had an enjoyable 3 night stay. Room very comfortable, well furnished and clean. If I were to quibble I would have liked a proper shower fixture rather than a shower head attached to the bath taps (which you have to adjust to get the temperature right) and a larger screen TV but both were entirely adequate. Big breakfast choice and helpings. The one meal I took in the restaurant was good - although by Sunday evening the Roasts and some Specials had gone. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent location both to get into Oxford (very easy to catch a bus from outside) and to explore the Cotswolds. Very good value. Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3RDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Average can mean different things to different people. In one sense it means just about OK; no better than anywhere else. Or it could mean that something is pretty good, Certainly of good quality without standing out from the others. TheTalbot falls into the latter category.
The owner and his staff are very pleasant, the rooms are perfectly OK and the breakfast is of decent quality. If you expect more, then you would have to pay more for it in a more expensive establishment.
Two minor criticisms. It would have been nice to have had more shelf space in the en suite, and if you have to have a breakfast table that is near to the bar entrance, the others all being occupied, it is draughty and the food gets cold quicker than one would like. (Probably not a problem in summer.)But these are quibbles. Would we stay again? Yes quite probably.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are looking for a great "Home base" for exploring Oxford and the Cotswold this is the place.
Easy access to public transportation, bus stops right outside the door, very helpful, friendly staff and great value.
We had a great time and highly recommend the Talbot Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very pleasant room, was clean & we overlooked the river. Location is good for going to Oxford there is a bus stop next to it & the buses are very regular. We had a car but was easier to catch the bus then take the car. Being out of Oxford the inn was a reasonable price. Breakfast was very good & the staff were very helpful. We would be more than pleased to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed towards the back which may be quitter if it is a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eynsham
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,685 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moon House
Moon House
#2 of 5 in Eynsham
11 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coombe Cottage
Coombe Cottage
#4 of 5 in Eynsham
5 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chequers Inn
The Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Cassington
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: Oxford Road, Eynsham OX29 4BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Eynsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsham
Price Range: $81 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Talbot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Eynsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing