We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Eynsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed the night whilst visiting family. My Mum recommended it as she lives near in Farmoor. Excellent food, really comfortable bed, the room had all the facilities required, spacious too. Breakfast was cooked to order and filling, set us up for a day shopping in Oxford. Really recommend this Inn, close to Oxford, but not too close and a regular bus service late into the night for those seeking the night life.
Excellent Beer too!
Parking a bit tight but available. It is on a main road near a toll bridge so egress in the morning can be slow during rush hour

Room Tip: Double room was great and spacious enough with all you need facility wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
62
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Didn't stay here, five of us just dropped in for a couple of pints and dinner. The staff were friendly, the beer was good and the food even better. They had a game casserole on special, which was excellent, and my daughter had a steak which again was top notch. She is a student at Oxford and said that she had been out to places there that charged three times the price for something half as good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Talbot a couple of times whilst away on business and its a good place to stay. Getting there in the rush hour from Oxford is a bit of a challenge - not helped by the 5p toll bridge just up the road, but obviously not the Talbot's fault. The pub is on the main road, but the traffic didn't cause me a problem on either stay and parking was fine.

The added advantage of the Talbot is several good real ales and decent food, and at decent prices too.

The room(s) that I have stayed in are good and comfortable, with tea making facilities and wireless internet so all good. The only fault/issue I have is that breakfast is not served until 7:30am, and indeed its not really possible to check out before then either. Working in the city and the travel challenges that provides, I really need to head off at 7:30 to get into work on time. So if breakfast was served from 7am like most other establishments then this would be 5 star from me.

I will definitely stay there again as its one of my top choices in the area and the prices are keen too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Gordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The first impression was that there wasn't much parking, but having found the overflow car park we were happy to leave the car there for the weekend. There are frequent buses into and back from Oxford so no need to use the car. The room was lovely overlooking the river, but obscured by a marquee, which was a shame. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, with a good variety of cereals, yogurts and fruit, but we had one evening meal in the pub which was rather disappointing. All in all a good stay in a nice location conveniently situated for visiting Oxford.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a lovely place. we arrived for an off-the-cuff meal, took a while ordering as everything on the menu sounded delicious!! Waiter was very patient as we dilly-dallied around, finally we whittled it down to moules and garlic mushrooms to start, and four main courses.

The starters we beautiful. I believe the mushrooms are on the lunchtime menu as well, and seem to be a firm favourite with the locals.

For mains we had the Rump steak, cooked to perfection with a beautiful creamy Stilton sauce; Cod and chips, with possibly the best mushy peas ever made; a chicken Caesar salad, which was my attempt at going healthy, but didn't last long as i was soon diving into the chips on my partner's plate opposite me!

The final main course, which deserves it's own paragraph, was the Sweet Potato, Spinach and Chick Pea Curry. the most beautiful dish I have tasted in a long time, the sauce was delicious, the vegetables were beautiful and soft, with a very generous helping of rice on the side. Absolutely gorgeous, Definitely something to write home about!!

I believe the chef here is new, and he/she is doing a very, VERY good job. The portions are big, the food delicious, and a lot of choice - even the salads on the side of our dishes were dressed, which says something in itself!

I am looking forward to coming down from Wales again and spending a weekend in one of the rooms available, it is a lovely location, on a direct bus route to town, and surrounded by numerous walks by the river. the perfect setting to take some time out and chill, something none of us do enough!!

complements to the chef, and big congrats to Trevor. this Inn is going places. watch this space!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss Katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very cheerful and happy welcome from Trevor, who seemed to never stop, we were offered a choice of room and left to prepare ourselves for our evening meal, we did have a problem with one of the steaks but that was quickly rectified. The breakfast the next morning was lovely and once again there was Trevor apologising profusely about the problem with the steak. We were going into Oxford shopping and Trevor recommended that we catch the bus just outside of the pub straight into town to save the hassle and price of parking. On our return to the pub to pick up the car to return home, we sat and had a very pleasant light lunch. Well done Trevor!

Room Tip: Leave it to Trevor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at this delightful, traditional pub with rooms which is very conveniently situated for access to Oxford, but located in a picturesque spot amidst the Oxfordshire countryside. Trevor and his staff are welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient; the pub and dining room are always busy with a mixture of locals and guests. The dining room menu is varied and the food absolutely delicious and far superior to the usual "pub grub".

Room Tip: All the rooms we've seen have been of the same high quality - spacious, comfortable, well equipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eynsham
3.7 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#8 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Property: The Talbot Inn
Address: Oxford Road, Eynsham OX29 4BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Eynsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Talbot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Eynsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing