We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Emmington
Ranked #1 of 2 Sydenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in March as we were attending a friend's wedding in Oxfordshire. On approaching the Inn we were pleasantly surprised. However, unfortunately this feeling did not last. The owners were very unfriendly and we were made to feel very unwelcome and this would probably explain why the place was empty! We decided to stay for dinner as we arrived late, but the food was awful. The room was very basic, the bed uncomfortable, and the toilet was unclean. I would not stay here again and would definitely not recommend it. It was such a shame as it spoilt an otherwise lovely weekend. Very very disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WheresClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 83 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

I took friends for Sunday Lunch at the Inn at Emmington on February 16th. We were greeted by Jerry from behind the bar and enjoyed a quick drink before being shown to our table. Thereafter we enjoyed a 3 course lunch, the quality of which you would struggle to receive in rather more expensive restaurants elsewhere.
Following starters, the beef was chosen by 3 of us and to say it melted in the mouth would be a truly fair description. The forth choice was the Pork Belly which my friend compared to his meal of the same dish in London just a week earlier.... his view was The Inn excelled into 1st place.
The meal was rounded off with truly enjoyable deserts and throughout our meal we were served by a cheerful, friendly and polite waitress. In fact I took a moment to watch the service on other tables too, mainly to cheekily check out their choice of deserts... and could see the pleasant and helpful service being offered at all tables..
I didn't stay over on this occasion, but I have done so in the past. The rooms are spacious with and certainly comfortable enough. However I would challenge you to enjoy a meal of this quality, enjoy good service and a few drinks for the cost of this menu. You will eat well and I am sure you will not be disappointed... I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Barryeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we approached the Inn as its lovely. Was greeted with a smiley face and shown to our rooms. Very simple rooms but the bed was very very comfortable and we had access to free wifi and had freeview available on the tv. Tea and coffee available also. The gentleman in the bar was extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was delicious too. We are already talking about planning another stay as we loved the relaxing feel the place gave and hope to enjoy more of beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsbyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We arranged to go to The Inn at Emmington for a couple of nights with friends to visit Oxford and for a walk in the Chilterns. The Inn at Emmington lies about 20 minutes outside Oxford but is an easy journey in.
We arrived late afternoon on Friday after a stop start journey on the M25, M40. The rooms were ready, ours was large, comfortable with all necessary amenities. We had a cup of tea in our room then went to the bar for a drink and eventually for the 3 course meal we had booked earlier. We adjourned to the restaurant, an extension of the bar at about 7pm when to our surprise we were told by the proprietor to 'keep the noise down!' as he was concerned for future diners, the restaurant was empty! We were enjoying ourselves and were occasionally a little loud, we didn't seem to be disturbing the couple of locals that were at the bar, there was no foul language, we weren't abusing anyone, we were just enjoying ourselves. This put a real dampener on the evening as we felt we had to speak in low tones and the proprietor was keeping an eye on us. To top it all at the end of our stay he charged us more than he had agreed in advance, blaming us for getting the price wrong. Fortunately we found the confirmation email on our return and the money has been reimbursed. On a positive note, the food was good and the bar person was nice, friendly and helpful and if we had been quiet and conservative throughout our stay, the proprietor would have been better pleased. We will not return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Mazjanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

For just under £100 I stayed overnight, had a very good three course meal & a sound night's sleep.

The rooms aren't up to much, reminded me of staying at an old aunt's house when I was younger, however I slept well, are well, the service was great

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank MB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had to stay here for work a few times. The beds are really really hard and you can hear the person in the next room snore and move around the room, clearly. Whatever they are doing you will hear it.
Friendly people though and my first visit included a game of Aunt Sally in the garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are a bit of a muchness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMcClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped here yesterday for sunday lunch with relatives without having been in before (under 10 mins from M40). We did book as there were eight of us but the restaurant was not busy. Loved the easy chairs and the book case.
We'd expected the usual pork, lamb, turkey roast but the only 'typical' roast was the delicious roast beef - generous fresh veggies, roasts and excellent yorkshires and gravy that were very definitely homemade. The other options were twists on the usual fair and were apparently very good as well. Others of us ate off the a la carte. It was good to note that we managed to get a more standard chicken without the advertised extra sauce as all was fresh cooked (even that was very tasty). Puddings were up to the same high standards our waitress was friendly and helpful.
We managed to stretch our lunch to three hours and ended up leaving at nearly four and we were probably quite loud shouting down the table. Great that this didn't seem an issue which was appreciated. Excellent meal and relaxing surroundings. Go if you're in the area and wish we lived nearer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah-on-her-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Emmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Emmington

Address: Sydenham Road, Sydenham OX39 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sydenham
Price Range: $101 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Emmington is a traditional countryside inn dedicated to providing good food, fine ales & a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Emmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing