We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Emmington
Ranked #1 of 2 Sydenham B&B and Inns
Hampton. Middx
1 review
“Lunch meeting”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were at school together some 71 years ago, yes they did have schools then, and we have been in touch for many years. We live at quite a distance apart now and the Emmington Inn was the perfect venue for a quiet chat and a beautifully cooked meal by Paula. We could not have found a better location.

Room Tip: We only went for lunch but if that is their hallmark, then you won't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
25
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

On Saturday night we decided last minute to try the Inn at Emmington. We have driven past this unassuming Inn on a number of occasions and decided to give it a try. We arrived not having booked a table, but the manager was very accommodating and managed to squeeze 2 hungry people in. We ordered the Slow cooked pork belly special, which was melt in the mouth and the sticky toffee pudding was just amazing. Great tasty food, freshly prepared in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. We will certainly be going back and will book a table next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara_RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

You know you're on to a winner when you can hear laughing from the bar on approach and this was certainly the case at the Inn at Emmington last Friday night.

A great atmosphere in a bar packed with regulars complimented by some excellent home cooking made for a perfect stop over for the night.

The kitchen combines some imaginative vegetarian cooking and great locally sourced produce into meals several leagues above your traditional pub grub. A reasonably priced wine list and good sized, immaculately clean rooms makes it an obvious choice to stay overnight. And free Wifi. It makes you wonder why it the Inn at Emmington can offer this facility free, why other hotels think its OK to rip guests off with high rate daily charges,.


Will I be back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My family and I went to the Inn at Emmington to celebrate my dad's birthday, there were 6 of us and they catered for our needs superbly, only 2 of us had the steak (completely unaware that thursday is steak night!) and got a free bottle of wine with our meal. The food is delicious cooked to a very high standard and I even treated myself to the sticky toffee pudding to finish.
Definately coming back here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Only marked the sleep down due to the clog-wearing people in the room above us. A lovely stay, with a very relaxed atmosphere, definitely would stay again and would have dinner too. We were attending an event in another venue so didn't have an evening meal; breakfast was lovely though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I have just dined at this delightful inn and have had the best meal we have had for long time ,every Thursday they have a steak night and the deal is a steak meal for 2 with a bottle of good wine ,or alternatives to drink if you wish and all for around £27.50. Well worth every penny. They also have a very good menu to choose from on other nights and I am sure the food will be just as good. Try for yourself you will love it !! . It is so hard to get value for money when you eat out but this is the exception. Sue

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank east2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I lived in Chinnor for 30yrs and have seen many changes to the Inn, some good some bad. My partner and I were down visting some family before xmas and decided to stay at the Inn for a change. We stayed in room 7 (upstairs) it was very quiet (except for other guests who decided to laugh and talk outside our room, keeping us awake at 1oclock in the morning). The room was ok a bit out dated and certainly not worth £80.00 per night, the shower was poor and the bathroom could do with some work. I was also disappointed as i left something in the room and did not receive a call from the owners, one of my children could have picked them for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydenham
2.7 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
605 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
217 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Emmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Emmington

Property: The Inn at Emmington
Address: Sydenham Road, Sydenham OX39 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sydenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Emmington is a traditional countryside inn dedicated to providing good food, fine ales & a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Emmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing