We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly & welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Emmington
Ranked #1 of 2 Sydenham B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly & welcoming”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Only marked the sleep down due to the clog-wearing people in the room above us. A lovely stay, with a very relaxed atmosphere, definitely would stay again and would have dinner too. We were attending an event in another venue so didn't have an evening meal; breakfast was lovely though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
25
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bmth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I have just dined at this delightful inn and have had the best meal we have had for long time ,every Thursday they have a steak night and the deal is a steak meal for 2 with a bottle of good wine ,or alternatives to drink if you wish and all for around £27.50. Well worth every penny. They also have a very good menu to choose from on other nights and I am sure the food will be just as good. Try for yourself you will love it !! . It is so hard to get value for money when you eat out but this is the exception. Sue

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank east2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I lived in Chinnor for 30yrs and have seen many changes to the Inn, some good some bad. My partner and I were down visting some family before xmas and decided to stay at the Inn for a change. We stayed in room 7 (upstairs) it was very quiet (except for other guests who decided to laugh and talk outside our room, keeping us awake at 1oclock in the morning). The room was ok a bit out dated and certainly not worth £80.00 per night, the shower was poor and the bathroom could do with some work. I was also disappointed as i left something in the room and did not receive a call from the owners, one of my children could have picked them for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a reunion with two other couples who we first met on on a Cunard cruise, so we like our food! We all enjoyed our meals immensely. The menu is well thought out and all the dishes home-made. Everything was delicious. Enjoyable full English breakfast.
The pub is welcoming and nicer than the photos on the website might suggest. Both host and locals are friendly. The rooms benefit from being in a separate building so noise from the pub is not an issue, although the clientele is quiet anyway. Rooms are clean, pleasant and fairly priced (as are the meals).
We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesnJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent two days at the Inn and the service was exceptional, meals were first rate. Loved the Breakfast. Bar busy and lively great meeting place. Good selection of Beer.
Jerry and Paula have a fantastic way with food and drink. Thanks Jerry for the tour of keeping and preparing the beer. Now I know why it's so good. The shamrock on the Guinness is a special touch.

Room Tip: No issues with noise in the room. Older Inn with spacious and very clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogpaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't think you could find a better place to celebrate with friends. Chef Paula is a genius, and put together a selection of treats including seared sea-bass, oxtail and a chocolate brownie dessert that made me want to cry. Host Jerry chose our wine (and port) for us and it was fabulous. We were a party of 12 and what completed the day was being able to stay overnight in the clean and comfortable bedrooms and get up together (a bit reluctantly) to share a generous and delicious breakfast. With never ending toast. Brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went here for my mothers 65th birthday, the Sunday lunch was lovely and the staff are very welcoming. This is the second time that we have been here and I woukld recommend it for good value, good quality food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydenham
2.7 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
605 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
217 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Emmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Emmington

Property: The Inn at Emmington
Address: Sydenham Road, Sydenham OX39 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sydenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Emmington is a traditional countryside inn dedicated to providing good food, fine ales & a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Emmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing