We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Emmington
Ranked #1 of 2 Sydenham B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Second stay, wonderful”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

An excellent stay again at the Inn at Emmington with the usual warm and friendly welcome to make us feel immediately relaxed.

Super real ales - Breakspear this time, followed by dinner in the busy restaurant with wonderful home-made breaded mushrooms, followed by a locally sourced steak with a garlic & herb butter.

Rooms comfortable and breakfast a great way to send us on our way. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
24
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed over a Saturday night in one of the upstairs rooms and ate an evening meal in the restaurant. The rooms are in a block separate from the bar so there was no noise from the patrons. The upstairs rooms are reached by a narrow set of steep stairs, so bear this in mind when you book if it is important, and ask for a downstairs room. As mentioned elsewhere, there is a large library if you need something to read.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Think Holiday Inn, Premier Inn or Tavelodge - but without the dust, muck or odd musty smells form the bathroom we have come to expect from those establishments. Internet is available in the rooms. Our room face over the road but it wasn't noisy and we both slept very well.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they did Sunday breakfast half an hour early for us as we had an appointment to meet. The food, both the evening meal and the breakfast, were absolutely superb. The small and friendly bar is well stocked with the usual assortment of drinks (no Fosters when we were there) and they have a selection of delicious local real ales. Fantastic.
Everything was good value for money and, should we be in the area again, we would have no hesitation at all in booking to stay at the Inn again.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Note the steep, narrow stairs for the upstairs rooms if this is a factor for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We decided to try the Inn at Emmington for a family birthday lunch, not having been there for a couple of years, and were delighted with everything. The food was delicious, perfect roast beef, crunchy roast potatoes, yorkshires to die for and a brilliant selection of fresh vegetables. The service was excellent and the owners very friendly. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed 2 nights good breakfast. Room clean and warm and they allow dogs in selected rooms. Staff friendly but best of all, they serve local real ale. Would definitely visit again and hope to try the restaurant. Oh, and big library available if you're bored.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisapaininthearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Didn't stay here but had lunch which is well cooked, imaginative pub grub at very reasonable prices. Good beer and wine selection helped it all go down well along with friendly service. What better on a dya out in ther country?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Hosts Jerry & Paul provide a warm welcome and rooms are very clean, roomy and comfortable. Good selection of well kept real ales and the food is well cooked by the chef who is one of owners. The restaurant was very homely for breakfast too, with high quality ingredients making a smashing start to the day

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just enjoyed an excellent evening at the Inn at Emmington. The proprietors (Jerry & Paula) were extremely welcoming, attentive and professional hosts. The food was excellent, and I was particularly pleased to see some stock of quality gluten free beer available for purchase. A warm, convivial atmosphere and friendly locals. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydenham
1.6 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Emmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Emmington

Property: The Inn at Emmington
Address: Sydenham Road, Sydenham OX39 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sydenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Emmington is a traditional countryside inn dedicated to providing good food, fine ales & a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing