We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for The Grand Prix Weekend”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for The Grand Prix Weekend”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've just got back from staying the weekend at the Red Lion and the favourable reviews we saw in Trip Advisor were confirmed by our experience. The welcome, service & quality of food were excellent as was the room (old English charm with a four poster bed - room 6).

We have no hesitation in recommending the Red Lion and we plan to make this our base for next years F1 race.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a four poster bed which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review from your stay, im glad the previous reviews influenced your trip and I will be sure to pass on the brilliant feedback. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    152
    58
    21
    14
See reviews for
70
241
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend of my son s wedding in June Lovely place , staff are brilliant ----- especially Natalie who saved the day by driving us to the wedding venue when our taxi failed to arrive on time ! She was an absolute Star ! We had B+B and the food was fantastic , spoilt for choice with the full breakfast menu and extras such as cereals , fruit , juices etc Could nt fault our stay whatsoever ! The ladies on reception also gave us a brief history of the inn , and as it is 400 years old , gave good advice about the winding stairs and low beams ! We had room no 8 which is at the back and therefore no traffic noise ! Beautiful open plan " loft like " bathroom as the room was split level ........... did nt want to go home ! Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Inn are away from the main road No 8 was brilliant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a brilliant review from your stay. I’m glad the team were so accommodating during your visit, I will be sure to pass on the great comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt very special. All the members of staff at this hotel do everything thing they can to make your stay memorable. At check in we where given very comprehensive advice on where to duck within the hotel to avoid low beams. Our room (number 6) was very spacious facing the front of the hotel. Very romantic with a four poster bed. The food served in either the bar or the restaurant was everything one could hope for. Complements to the chef. Two members of staff we had the most contact with were Julie hotel everything and Sue the breakfast chef. These two people added an extra dimension with their fantastic attitude to giving a 5 star service but also good light hearted conversations at breakfast time. We will defiantly be spending more long weekends at this hotel in the future.

T & C

Room Tip: Remember this hotel is 16th century hotel. Expect the floors to be up hill down dale. The rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am glad to here you feel the hotel is fantastic & hope to see you again if you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel and we would absolutely recommend it. Both our rooms have been great each time. When we have been down to eat the ladies have been so helpful very friendly, chatty, make you feel so welcome and cant do enough for you. On Thursday we checked out and there was only one lady on shift to serve 23 peolpe breakfast and check them out which is alot for anyone but she wasn't stressed and took it in her stride. We had a problem with the hot water as they had a power cut the night before but she promptly found us a room to use but unfortunately it had the same problem but the housekeeping lady also kept apologising. Great comforty beds too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dan & the team are glad to here you enjoyed your stay & found the staff friendly. Hopefully we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipping campden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

As this was a nearly half way place to meet friends we booked in for lunch and were not disappointed.

We were given a warm welcome - innovative menu, friendly caring staff and attention to detail. The food we ordered was very well presented and we would certainly go again.

Only downside was that we thought that the drinks prices were steep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, all feedback is invaluable to us to continually improve our service standards. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Whenever we stay at this hotel/inn, we know we are always assured of a warm welcome from all the team members, Dan, Natalie, Lucy, Jenna, Julie, who between them make every effort to insure your visit is as comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable as you could wish for! From the moment you arrive they are a 100% committed to make sure your room is up to your complete satisfaction, your seating in the dining area and any special dietary needs are taken care of, if you are gluten free etc!
The professional but genuine friendliness that they show to all their customers is a credit to them all, we always look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We always stay in rooms 3&6, room 3 is at the rear of the hotel so is a bit quieter, and is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
I am glad to hear you had a good stay with us again & look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night with my mum while visiting my son in Oxford. The hotel is 400 years old & consequently has narrow, steep staircases & low beams- something the staff member who checked us in made sure we were aware of. We couldn't fault the rooms- small but with everything needed, & very comfortable beds. Our evening meal was fine & breakfast was freshly cooked. My mum said her scrambled eggs & smoked salmon were the best she'd had. The staff were very friendly & attentive. We would definitely book again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 10 & 11- at the back of the hotel & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dan & the team are glad to here you enjoyed your stay & found the beds comfortable & the staff friendly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adderbury
2.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
501 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
537 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Adderbury, Banbury OX17 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Adderbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Banbury
Banbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing