We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at good prices”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We often stop off at the Red Lion on week days as the bar food is good and they have very good offers (two main meals for £10). The Red Lion is an attractive old coaching inn with cozy public rooms and an open fire in winter. Food is good 'pub grub' and service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Many thanks for your comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your meals. We aim to offer great value dining to all our customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 450 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

really enjoyed our stay stayed in room 1, arrived around 8:45pm after travelling down from somerset greeted by very welcoming staff and check in was very easy.

Room was clean if I am totally honest not my sort of style very old fashioned could do with a little updating and the bathroom had a shower but not on a bracket on the wall, little disappointed in this but was only there for a quick stay as we were off again early so did not raise with staff.

Had a good nights sleep.

very nice breakfast could not fault and hot fluffy pastries at 7am.
staff all very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PresleyAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Many thanks for your comments, we have a geat team here at the Red Lion & always appreciated when someone takes the time to leave feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I held my wifes birthday party in the 'Tudor Room' fire place and wall panels, excellent.
Service was very good, although the 'team' were working under extreme preasure as the hotel was busy at the weekend, they coped really well and gave magnificant service to our party of 24.
The food was served hot and everthing was cooked to perfection and not one complaint.
Yes, the decor is a little dated but I believe that adds to the style of the pub, after all it is in a small village and traditional without being shabby of course.
I recommend the Red Lion and have already booked another function, super service from the helpful staff sells it for me.

Room Tip: No 6 has a comfortable 4 poster and we did not hear any noice from the road nearb; stairs are windin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trenchtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We are really please that your recent stay at our hotel was relaxing. The team here will enjoy reading your thoughts and we hope you have the opportunity to visit The Saracens Head in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have eaten at The Red Lion on many occasions over the years and have never really been disappointed. Friendly staff, good, hot food and all in the comfort of quaint, charming surroudings. This time, it was for a family birthday and again the staff were lovely and the meals were delicious. it's a great place to sit outside in summer - but really pleasant and cosy indoors during the winter. What more can I say!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlumpedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your comments about the Red Lion I am glad to here to have used us many time over the year & have enjoy Friendly staff, good, hot food and all in the comfort of quaint, charming surroundings at we offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion for two nights in November. This is an Old English Inn which dates back to 1600s so don't expect modern surroundings or furniture. Because of the nature of the building the stairs are narrow and winding and not suitable for those with mobility issues. That said the buidling has old world charm and the accommodation was comfortable amd clean. Overall the staff were friendly and provided good service even on the second night when they were also catering for a wedding party of around 50 people. A good breakfast and restaurant menu as I expect from the Old English Inns chain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

I am glad to here you like the old world charm of the Red lion & enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you as to the future if you are in the area again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Red Lion last weekend. Service and food were excellent and the rooms were very nice - in keeping with the age of the hotel. The only criticism would be that some of the carpets were worn and the decor was a bit "tired"

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about our old hotel & we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

a weekend away with the good lady and was just right
staff were very pleasant , despite being obviously short staffed
they spent time explaining all we needed including night access
our room was quirky with a bathroom above the bed,
but it was a nice room, the only think my wife thought it lacked was a mirror near a plug for doing her hair.
Evening meal was very nice and good portions , and well priced, the ale was also kept well
it was amazing we had room for breakfast the next day, but well you are on holiday
all round a very nice stay and great value

in a great position for exploring Oxfordshire and Warwickshire

only tip the stairs up to the rooms are snug and windy, but as an old coaching inn you expect that sort of thing

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosunsbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

The team at the Red Lion are glad you like the quaint and quirkiness for the hotel & that you thought the breakfast was amazing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adderbury
3.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
541 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Adderbury, Banbury OX17 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Adderbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Price Range: $99 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Banbury
Banbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing