We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel/Restaurant In An Olde-Worlde Style”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel/Restaurant In An Olde-Worlde Style”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have eaten at The Red Lion on many occasions over the years and have never really been disappointed. Friendly staff, good, hot food and all in the comfort of quaint, charming surroudings. This time, it was for a family birthday and again the staff were lovely and the meals were delicious. it's a great place to sit outside in summer - but really pleasant and cosy indoors during the winter. What more can I say!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlumpedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Red Lion I am glad to here to have used us many time over the year & have enjoy Friendly staff, good, hot food and all in the comfort of quaint, charming surroundings at we offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    153
    59
    21
    14
See reviews for
73
241
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion for two nights in November. This is an Old English Inn which dates back to 1600s so don't expect modern surroundings or furniture. Because of the nature of the building the stairs are narrow and winding and not suitable for those with mobility issues. That said the buidling has old world charm and the accommodation was comfortable amd clean. Overall the staff were friendly and provided good service even on the second night when they were also catering for a wedding party of around 50 people. A good breakfast and restaurant menu as I expect from the Old English Inns chain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I am glad to here you like the old world charm of the Red lion & enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you as to the future if you are in the area again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Red Lion last weekend. Service and food were excellent and the rooms were very nice - in keeping with the age of the hotel. The only criticism would be that some of the carpets were worn and the decor was a bit "tired"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our old hotel & we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

a weekend away with the good lady and was just right
staff were very pleasant , despite being obviously short staffed
they spent time explaining all we needed including night access
our room was quirky with a bathroom above the bed,
but it was a nice room, the only think my wife thought it lacked was a mirror near a plug for doing her hair.
Evening meal was very nice and good portions , and well priced, the ale was also kept well
it was amazing we had room for breakfast the next day, but well you are on holiday
all round a very nice stay and great value

in a great position for exploring Oxfordshire and Warwickshire

only tip the stairs up to the rooms are snug and windy, but as an old coaching inn you expect that sort of thing

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosunsbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
The team at the Red Lion are glad you like the quaint and quirkiness for the hotel & that you thought the breakfast was amazing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just spent a couple of nights at the Red Lion, it's a quaint place, we have nicknamed Hogworts due to hidden staircases and strange multi door places. Firstly the room we had only had a bath with a shower attachment, we did want a shower quickly before dinner, but there was no other rooms to move us too, we was offered the use of another rooms shower, we declined.
We ate there both nights and breakfasted there, and I just have to agree with the comments about the lack of staff, and the multi tasking of the few that are there is just stupid. They also need to sack their butcher, I asked for a steak, it came cooked just as I like it, but not sure you are allowed to serve "blue" but cooking was fine by me ( nice one chef) BUT the quality of the meat was so poor, I can by better cuts in Asda, stringy with big sinews and almost needed a chainsaw to cut it.
Breakfast was almost laughable on both days. One person running around checking people out of the hotel answering the phone, sorting the cleaners, and serving the breakfast.
We booked a table for 8 on the second night, was shown to a table for 7 and had one of our party just standing by the table for some time, till they at last asked if they wanted a chair !
Then item were off, some part of the desert menu were out of stock so they substituted other things, we sat for ages waiting for anything to happen, after the 3rd or 4th round of drinks we had to insist that the one person working took some of the glasses away, we never knew where our waitress disappeared to half way thro the meal, she just vanished.

Will we stay again? NO
Will we eat there again ? NO

Plenty of nice places in and around Banbury, as regular visitors to the place, we will try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get the best upgrade they have , it has a shower in it, and be prepared to climb steep curly stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We take every comment seriously and that helps us improve in the future. We are really sorry about your previous visit and we are hoping for you to give us another chance so we can show you our high standard, which we always provide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here recently with family after attending a family funeral. We chose it because we wanted a nice pub with rooms, where we could relax and have a nice quiet meal after a fairly stressful day! The red lion delivered. Lovely setting opposite the green. Really nice bedrooms. Excellent meal and excellent service (especially the Portuguese lady who's name I forget - she was terrific and lovely). Really nice bar and excellent outside seating area. To top it off the breakfast was excellent too. Highly recommend and hope to return in better circumstances. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penhowesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went for a meal Sunday lunch time. Found a table (all empty tables had dirty plates etc strewn over them). Husband went to the bar to order drinks and whilst I sat looking at the menu during the long wait, some people asked were we thinking of eating? I replied yes we were. They said they'd waited over an hour after their starter arrived for their main to be served which never materialised. I said they should mention this to the staff and complain. The lady at the bar (eventually) went to serve my husband who asked how long the wait would be for food. She seemed oblivious as to any delay whatsoever. The people we chatted to said they were not paying and walked out. I do not blame them. Blatantly a lack of sufficient staff to cope and the cook/chef came out to the bar area whilst my husband was waiting to be served and looked frazzled to say the least.
Ok, they may have been busy but tables should be cleared and acknowledgement to paying punters that there may be a wait before your food is served would pacify most of us but the staff seemed "on another planet" as they never seemed to notice the dirty tables and impatient customers.
We've been before and enjoyed it but I must admit now that upon reflection there always seems to be a delay in being served.
In this day and age with so many out of work and when you occupy a main road side location offering accommodation, you really should get your act together. Needless to say we left without eating there too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raq54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We take every comment seriously and that helps us improve in the future. We are really sorry about your previous visit and we are hoping for you to give us another chance so we can show you our high standard, which we always provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adderbury
3.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Adderbury, Banbury OX17 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Adderbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Banbury
Banbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing