We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better the second time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Even better the second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed this Inn so much in Winter we decided to return in the Spring. It would not suit elderly people with walking difficulties because of the narrow winding stairs to bedrooms.There is one ground floor room however, which is more expensive because it is the 'character' room. (Lovely) Our room was small with loads of character and very clean. Bed was very comfortable, and flat screen decent sized t.v. was a plus. Staff without exception friendly and helpful. Food was well presented and tasty. Wonderful choice for breakfast. Sad to leave, but will be back soon.

Room Tip: Book the Character room for size and ambience and because it is on the ground floor. Others have ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridafanatic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionManagerOEI, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us such great feed back, This certainly goes a long way in encouraging us to deliver excellent hospitality in everyway, look forward to seeing in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    147
    56
    21
    12
See reviews for
68
232
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Red Lion , on a 3 night stay, Friday till Monday, First impression is that the building is a very old cottage building, that has great character feel about it. It looks fantastic in a nice village called Adderbury. We checked in on Friday with a very more welcome from the Manager Derek. Julie sorted our room out very quickly, which was fantastic again with the really feel of an old cottage. View over looking the green at the front of the hotel. Overall the hotel was spotless with fantastic food, but the best thing about this hotel is the team of staff, everyone from the Manger Derek, Assistant Manager Natalie, special mention to Julie as well.
Overall I could not find anything to complain about and will defo be returning with friends this time. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Red Lion at Adderbury is absolutely beautiful. Just got back from an overnight stay and, I have to admit, I wish we had been able to stay longer. So disappointed to leave. The building is stunning, 300 years old, quaint and quirky. The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable and the beds were king size, heaven to sleep in and hard to get out of!

The staff couldn't do enough for us during our stay. The food was nothing short of excellent and the choice on the menu was very extensive. Even breakfast had its own menu, along with cereal, fruit, yoghurt and pastries. We were served so much toast and my coffee was topped up so many times, I thought we were going to sit there forever !! I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. It sits on a picturesque village green and its charm is immense. One of our group has stayed in many hotels throughout the world, Hiltons and Thistles included and he could not express enough how the Red Lion was far and above one of the best he has stayed in. Anyone who has a negative comment about this place needs their head examined

Room Tip: The superior rooms (many have 4 poster beds) are beautiful. Our room was at the back of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adderbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

No staff behind the bar, took 10 minutes to order a drink when we arrived,
Ordered fish & chips and scampy.
Fish was very greasy and both portions of peas were shrivelled up and dry,
The tar-tar sauce was so old it had a skin over the top, no one came to check if the meal was ok
and again no one behind the bar so we had to wait 10 minutes to ask for fresh tar-tar sauce, which was plonked on the table without a word said and the original tar-tar sauce not collected.
Had to wait for staff to pay for the meal, they never asked how the meal was and we left before the table was cleared

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had good food in generous portions, a beautifully arranged wedding breakfast, perfect staff who went the extra mile to please, an overnight stay for us and some of our guests and a good breakfast. We would love to do it all again!!!!
Thank you to all the team who who worked so hard to make our day very special.

Room Tip: We had all the rooms except 2, including both honeymoon rooms and we and all our guests were very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from a most enjoyable two night break at The Red Lion. Nothing is too much trouble for Derek and his cheerful team. The food was very good as always, with lots to choose from.....won't be long before we're back!!!

Room Tip: Number 3 is a lovely twin with lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caw982016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I love the Red Lion. I had forgotten how truly marvellous their fish and chips is! I also ordered their chocolat fudge brownie which was delicious. As for service, the staff is warm and lovely. Thank you so much. Me and my friend who I hadn't seen for 10 years had a great day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adderbury
2.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Adderbury, Banbury OX17 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Adderbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Banbury
Banbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing