We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Pub!”
Review of The Fat Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fat Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Watlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a really nice, well run, traditional pub in the middle of a lovely village. Good beers, log fires and great food.

The room was nice and spacious, and they are updateing some rooms and they look really great. The bed was fantastic.

The only reason that I haven't given it an excellent rating is that service was very slow at both breakfast and dinner, but we weren't in a rush, so that didn't bother us. The food was well worth waiting for!

Everyone that worked there was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon72London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Simon

Thank you for your lovely review and sorry for the slow service. Our kitchen isn't the largest so it can get a little hectic when we are busy but it's something we are always working on and trying to improve. Thankfully we like to think that the food, when it comes, will invariably make the wait worthwhile.

Merry Christmas

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 186 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in two rooms, both nice, we wanted to revisit Watlington, but this location is good for touring in Oxfordshire, or even for quick access to London via Princess Risborough. The pub does meals.

Room Tip: It's a small b&b with purpose built rooms in the pub's courtyard, good parking off road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Ramblingaround

Thank you for your lovely words. We hope to see you again if you're ever rambling around our neck of the woods.

Happy wandering

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were looking to break our journey to Southampton and luckily stumbled upon this on the internet. What a gem!. We stayed just one night. The room was very comfortable, with all the usual facilities. All the staff were very helpful. We would definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Lynda

I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. If you do decide to revisit our little town we do you you drop in and say hello.

All the best

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We came upon this here place whilst searching online for a quick get away from the hustle and bustle of West London. We turned up on a Saturday at around 3.00pm and found the parking more than ample. On entering the pub we were greeted by a very pleasant young gentlemen who walked to us our room in the converted barn. The room was very nice and the bathroom too made the most of the room available. It wasn't until later on when we came to retire in the evening we found it was rather warmer than we would have liked in August and there were no windows to open as it only has a patio style door. In the winter I think this would a plus point and a very cosy place to spend a night. On reflection the bathroom could have benefitted from a little more love in places, nothing that couldn't be put right quite quickly, a lose fitting here and there, all cosmetic really. Also I challenge anyone to take a shower without covering the floor in water. The screen is a little small and the shower head is a little big. All minor things really. A towell on the floor and problem solved.

The good parts of which there are many; The pub looks lovely and quaint. All the staff are extremely polite and make you feel welcome. The food we had in the restaurant was also of a very high standard, excellent in fact. The waiter was more than willing to please and the chocie of wines and beers is also very good. The breakfast was superb made from local produce.

I would recommend anyone to try this place. The flaws are few and the postives are many.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Mex

What a nice review, thank you. I hope you will be pleased to hear that since you visited we have put bathroom mats on all our shower floors as standard so that no-one again has to endure a post shower flood. Thanks for the tip. As our staff unsurprisingly never take showers in our own rooms it's something that could well have gone unnoticed so you have my gratitude.

Here's to no more slippery floors.

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here because we were walking the Ridgeway and it was convenient. The building is very attractive with beautiful tiled roofs and it's in a pleasant street in a typical Chilterns small town. The food was excellent, well thought out and executed using local ingredients. If it had more than one vegetarian option I'd score it higher. The dining room was a nice room to eat in - eclectic with mismatched furniture. The staff, particularly a lovely woman with, I think a Scottish accent (sorry I didn't get her name) were uniformly helpful. The downside was the room (number 4). The rooms are in a converted barn in the yard. The decoration was ok with new furniture pretending to be old. The bathroom was small which isn't necessarily a problem but you had to squeeze past the toilet to get in an out of the bath. I'd be worried if if it was someone perhaps not very agile. And then there was a horrible red light in the ceiling (presumably a safety feature) but it was pretty bright. In addition the curtains were not designed to keep the light out which seems pretty essential for bedroom curtains but it's amazing how many hotels fall down on this. I am not a picky hotel stayer as those who've read my other reviews will know but they need to deal with this. So, public rooms really good. Bedrooms need some further thought. Food excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Lynn

Thank you for your review. As always it is nice to hear from our customers where there is room for improvement and you have made some very valid points which we will be addressing in the near future. I must say that I can only hope you enjoyed a good night's sleep despite the red light and translucent curtains. You are indeed correct that is a safety feature (fire detector in fact) and that light is an indicator to show it's working. Annoying but neccesary I'm afraid.

Fingers crossed for 'great' next time around. I'm browsing curtain catalogues as I type.

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

nice rooms and a very good breakfast, staff all very helpful.The rooms are in a converted barn at the back of the hotel away from the road. they offer some nice little touches like a couple of chocolate bars in the room and bottles of water, well worth a look at

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davefarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Dave

Thank you for a delightful review.
I'm so glad you enjoyed the chocolates.

Kind regards

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago as we attended a friend's wedding in near by Benson. Fantastic food - breakfast was delish. Really good evening meal and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Our room was lovely. Great, very comfortable, seligh bed, decent sized bathroom with a bath. Lovely original features. And, very thoughtful extras - chocolate bars and water bottles in your room each day.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01Jenn_Jenn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Jenn

What kind words, your write up is very much appreciated. Hopefully we'll see you again should any more of your Watlington friends get married.

Any chocolate requests?

John Riddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watlington
3.0 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
4.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
636 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fat Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fat Fox Inn

Address: 13 Shirburn Street, Watlington OX49 5BU, England (Formerly The Fox and Hounds Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Watlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watlington
Price Range: $104 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fat Fox Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Fox Inn, formerly the Fox and Hounds, is a country pub with dining and accommodation in the village of Watlington on the northern edge of the Chilterns in Oxfordshire. The pub is easily accessed from the M40 at Lewknor. Watlington is only 15 miles from the heart of the City of Oxford and 35 minutes from Blenheim Palace and the Oxfordshire Cotswolds, as well as the Thameside town of Henley on Thames, home of the Royal Regatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fat Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fat Fox Hotel Watlington
The Fat Fox Inn Watlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing