We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really tasty food...even if you're not a veggie. Fantastic unique service, cosy friendly feel to the restaurant. Really impresse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Roya

Cafe Roya
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Beeston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really tasty food...even if you're not a veggie. Fantastic unique service, cosy friendly feel to the restaurant. Really impresse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Really.good evening, the food was amazing, alot of which I've never tried
Definitely going again. Friendly service. Restaurant uniquely decorated has a great feel to it. Amazing value for the food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mahongobongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    38
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A decent restaurant in Beeston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited on May 11th and the service was excellent despite there being a party in, which often knocks restaurants out of kilter. The food - apart from the Iranian stew which we thought a bit bland - was inventive, tasty and well presented. Wonderful to have a class restaurant in Beeston, brisk 15 minute walk and we were home in Bramcote. Everyone in the locality should support this venture.....forget World Service etc......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BirdersMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Something special for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had previously dined at Royas place when she was trading from Chilwell Road and were looking forward to the opening of the new restaurant at Wollaton Road. We were not disappointed.
The menu has a small choice and on our visit there were four starters, three main courses and three puddings plus the option of cheese and biscuits.
We were are party of four and therefore we were able to try most of what was on the menu. We were all very impressed by what was on offer. The food is not only very tasty but is also delightfully presented.
Many of the dishes are middle eastern influenced and the Iranian lentil stew was a standout. The beet burger seemed very popular and was apparently excellent.
The restaurant has been fitted in a tasteful and contemporary style and made for an intimate evening.
There is an excellent wine list plus the choice of beers and cider.
The waiting staff were friendly and attentive and we are enthusiastic for another visit very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanandJim806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Popped in last night after waiting since September to go. The food was lovely and good value. I really enjoyed the house red wine and the décor is beautifully done. Service was very great also. I will be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlotte a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unfortunate wait...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Unfortunately we haven't got the same great things to say as everybody else!

Waited an hour for our starter to arrive - by which point we were contemplating paying for our wine and getting a bag on chips on the way home! When the food arrived it was nice but we then waited another 45 minutes for our main course. Once again, when the food arrived it was nice although presentation was poor and waiting so long for each course had taken the enjoyment out of our evening. We've also never seen a waitress attempt to open a bottle of champagne with a corkscrew! Waiting staff didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing..

The service was atrocious and we wouldn't consider going back again in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bish B, Owner at Cafe Roya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I can only apologise for the unacceptable evening you have had at Cafe Roya. We have had a series of staffing problems in the new venue which means I am in the kitchen by myself and new staff are not up to speed. Although all the food is freshly prepared to order, the times you say you were waiting for each course is far too long. I feel very disappointed that we let you down so badly. I take great pride in the restaurant and I know things are not up to usual standards. I can assure you that I am addressing these issues and am trialing new staff all next week in the kitchen which will free me to concentrate more on efficient service. I really hope that you try us again and that we can restore your faith in Cafe Roya! Once again, my sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Roya also viewed

Beeston, Nottingham
Beeston, Nottingham
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Cafe Roya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing