We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous scenery, but beware it is out of town with limited transport options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery, but beware it is out of town with limited transport options”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed here for the second time, and although I love the cottages for the jungle feel and quiet, I wouldn't choose it again. The food options are limited, expensive (and not that great), and the transport is non-existent. They charge 200THB per trip, one way, into town, whereas other cottages nearby give unlimited free transfers. The tours from here are also expensive, they charge 3000THB for a day lake tour, which you can easily get for 1800THB from many of the tour agencies or hotels in town.
Stay here if you want peace and quiet, and are happy to just lay around on your balcony (there is a small part of the river you can swim in too, but beware the fish - they bite!). If you want to go to the National park, you are best to stay elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_kir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We chose the 3 night package tour and couldn't be more happy. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds with mozzy nets and a fan and a decent sized bathroom with a good shower. The breakfast was good, lunch and evening meals were excellent!! The whole setting was beautiful, waking to the sounds of the jungle forest and being lulled to sleep by the same. The trips, elephant trecking was excellent, and the walk through the National Park interesting and informative. For us, however, the highlight of the visit was the boat trip around the lake. It was absolutely breathtaking, you didn't know where to look first! We had a boat to ourselves (four friends in our 50's). The trip included lunch at a small floating rest area, the food again was excellent! The resort was very quiet with only a handful of guest and I think for one night we were the only guests. We enjoyed our evenings in the restaurant, and spent our time trying (pathetically) to catch the bats on camera and watching them catch the large bees that were flying around (they certainly make a loud crunch when they do!). The staff were very attentive and the service very good. We booked all our transfers through the booking agent for the resort, this for us helped to make our holiday very relaxing and enjoyable, thanks Frankie, everything worked like clockwork and we felt like VIPs when we arrived at the airport in Surit Thani and saw our names being waved in front of us. Thank you to everyone at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages we had a fantastic time and highly recommend everyone to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshire49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I think this is the right accomodation. It was called Art's Riverside lodging. They had about a dozen tree houses right on the river. In the mroning and at about 5 pm you could see monkeys playing in the water and around the hotel. The rooms were comfortable with a fan, mosquito nets and outdoor bathrooms. The hotel staff was nice enough and it seemed like if you could get their attention they might be able to schedule trips for you. This place was a little off the beaten track and you would be advised to take a headlamp for the walks down the dark road. The price was defintely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nijmegen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We came here after a terrible journey, the river was almost dry and it was hot.
The children (2 and 5) loved the cottiages and the wooden bridges, even though there was no water under the bridges.. The localtion is wonderfull. espcecially the restaurant has a beautifull view. We didn't take a package, allmost everyone else did.

The food was good but average (we didn't have the package-menu's).
The rooms are nice, roomy, basic but fully functional.
Staff was nice and very helpfull
It's a quiet place where you should arrange something, or have something arranged.

Trouble is that it's remote, for transportation and our
GSMs (12call) didn't work.. WiFi is ok, slow, but hey, it's a jungle out there.

I hope it's gone rain soom, makes the place a lot nicer

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

A lovely place to unwind the mind. We took the four day three night package and were very satisfied with the quality of the tours and the attention paid.

I slept for nearly twelve hours each night. Winter is the time to come here. Am not sure I could handle the hot season in Riverside Cottages.

The food given included in the package was good - indeed excellent - apart from the final day when the cook tried friend chicken and chips. This repeated on us for the next day!

Frankie is a legend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilledVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We took advantage of the great value 4 day/3 night package which included our accommodation, all our meals and 4 different tours. The lodge was in a lovely jungle setting. We were provided with mosquito nets and fans, it was still quite hot though. The meals were all lovely and we were given a choice of about 4 different dishes at each sitting. It may be best to take big bottles of water with you as you have to buy small bottles of water from the bar and there are no shops near to the resort. All the tours were great and very personal as it was just us on the tours with the guide. The scenery in Khao Sok is unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Very friendly people, we had a wonderful time. We stayed here in December / January 2009. The cottages were spacious and clean, they are quite basic with a fan but are quite confortable. The location is great, just a few minutes from Khao Sok Park. The staff are great and super helpful, they helped us with all the information and activities we needed, they can arrange transportation to any place you would like to go. The place is great but I have to say the best part of it was all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesus_vazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Sok National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Riverside Cottages

Property: Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Address: 230 Moo 6 Soi Natai,, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khao Sok Riverside Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the ancient rainforest, Riverside Cottages is the perfect jungle lodge for relaxing and exploring Khao Sok National Park. You can swim in the river in front of the hotel, or simply relax with a beverage and enjoy our excellent Thai and Western cuisine. We love to help visitors explore the area, and can arrange activities including jungle safaris, tours to Cheow Lan Lake, elephant trekking and canoe trips. Riverside Cottages is a 2 kilometers east of Khao Sok's touristy town center, easily accessed with our free shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Khao Sok Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages Hotel Khao Sok National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing