We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
168
88
21
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
168
88
21
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the river national park free shuttle to the town wooden hut additional night jungle hikes thai family lake tour restaurant food was delicious tree snakes inner tubes jungle experience khao soi floating bungalows thai massage floating restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 291 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

We did the 4 day 3 night jungle package. We did the canoe trip, night safari, overnight trip at the lake, and trip to the hot springs. Our little tours were AMAZING and our guides were the best! Our favorite trips were obviously the overnight lake trip and the night safari.

Please don’t expect a 4 star stay because that is not what you are going to get. You are in the jungle! We loved waking up to the sounds of monkies, etc. the wildlife and scenery are fantastic!

Our only two complaints: the water heater was defientely not working.. we didnt need hot water to shower..just lukewarm and we didn’t even get that. The food was also hit or miss - same goes for the staff. Some of the girls at the front weren’t the nicest our first day. Some dishes were great, some weren’t. All in all..we had a great time!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kellyk4888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Guest Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hey Kellyk4888,

We really appreciate your honest and up-front assessment about what guests to Khao Sok Riverside Cottages can expect when they arrive here! It is so helpful to have feedback like yours providing context for our resort, and we're grateful that you have taken the time to share your thoughts!
It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time with us, and enjoyed your excursions to much! We're really proud of our right to arrange tours into the gorgeous wilderness of Khao Sok, so it is always nice to hear back from satisfied guests.
Regarding your complaints, thank you for bringing this to our attention. The issue with hot water is a long-standing one, and is difficult to address due to seasonal changes in the availability of water. However, we'll ensure that our maintenance team is conducting regular, thorough inspections and maintenance of all of our heaters. In regards to the food and staff, we apologise for the inconsistency. Generally, our restaurant and staff receive top marks, as you could see from other reviews, but we understand that this doesn't guarantee the same amazing service every time. We'll be sure to address this issue at the next staff meeting!
Thanks again for taking the time to get in touch with your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in a riverside cottage. Really good experience and definitely glad we stayed here. Accommodation is basic in that there is no air conditioning, hot water, tv etc but you are in the jungle. There is a fan in the room which certainly was useful as very hot and humid. All the staff very pleasant and helpful. Food was ok but limited. There is a shuttle into Khao Sok where there are numerous places to eat. All our trips arranged by Riverside and they were fantastic and not expensive. We did the elephant sanctuary, canoe down the river and not too be missed Cheown Lan Lake. Saw monkeys, snake, fish, birds, spiders and even elephants in the river at the cottages. The animal noises at night time are interesting.

The only down side for us was the selfish individuals staying in a cottage behind us. For three nights we had them talking loudly and laughing on their balcony until well after midnight.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank halina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hello halina g,

It's great to hear from you, and we're really pleased that you had such a good experience at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages! We're glad that we were able to provide you with that tough-to-find balance of rustic awesomeness and basic comfort that ensured you could relax in the jungle :)
We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the excursions that we arranged. It is especially great that you were able to see so much wildlife!
It is a shame that your stay was marred by the actions of inconsiderate individuals. We can certainly relate - it is always annoying to have a great evening in the jungle interrupted by loud chatting. We have been pondering for a while now the best way to encourage respectfulness and mindfulness in our guests...we'll let you know if we ever figure it out!
Wishing you well, and a safe trip onwards. Come back and visit us again soon!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019 via mobile

Positive :
- very nice lodge setup, with river and forest bungalows
- good restaurant on site
- large activity range. Very impressed by cooking class, in a Thai family house, food from their organic garden.
- swimming in the river is just gorgious

To be improved :
- spring mattresses not very comfortable
- strong smell of skeptic tank in bathroom (forest 6&7)

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank sauvagea2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hello sauvagea2017,

Thanks for your feedback! We always appreciate hearing back from guests, and learning more about the areas in which we can improve.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us! We were especially glad to read your compliments to our restaurant, and jungle cooking activity.
Regarding your areas of improvement, we'll be sure to look into the rooms you mentioned and ensure that everything is as it should be, from the septic system up to the roof!
Thanks again for reaching out and sharing your experience! We hope to see you again some day soon!

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

The Riverside Cottages, owned and managed by American expat Bodhi G., is a delight.

Situated along the banks of a slow (at least in January) jungle river in which elephants occasionally bathe in full view of the al fresco dining area, Riverside Cottages are the perfect retreat from which to venture out into the fabulous nearby Khao Sok National Park, one of Thailand's best kept travel secrets.

The park and environs offer wonderful jungle hikes, river floats and tubing, trips to an otherworldly lake full of amazing karst formations, butterflies, spiders, even tigers although one would be lucky (or not) to spot one of those.

The Cottages themselves, each with attached bathrooms, shady verandas and open to the night and daytime sounds of the jungle, are perfectly roomy and comfy.

But we think the best thing about the place is its unfailingly pleasant and helpful staff and fabulous Thai food. Each day we were there they arranged a fun activity for us, ranging from jungle hikes to tasty Thai cooking classes with local families.

A must for any adventurous travelers who seek more from Thailand than beaches and Bangkok!!

Room tip: Choose one of the Riverside rooms.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hi Michael G,

It is a real pleasure to read your review and all the wonderful compliments it contains! We're thrilled that you had such a great time during your stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Our staff always appreciates a shoutout, and will be happy to receive your compliments during the next staff meeting. Thanks for drawing attention to what we also consider our best feature!
We hope that we'll see you again sometime soon! You're always welcome on the Riverside :)

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

What a restful stay we had at the cottages! And yet, we managed to engage in many activities thanks to the staff there.
But first, the cottages: they are beautiful examples of simple, and clean living. We lounged on the balcony facing the jungle, one of us in a hammock, the other on the comfortable wooden sofa. For breakfast and dinner, the restaurant affords well-priced and varied dishes that are scrumptious. Try their banana pancakes in the morning...
We spent all day off the hotel grounds, either going for a bike ride, a lake tour in the national park, or a day-long hike. The various outfitters connected to the hotel were great.
Although we enjoyed all our experiences, the highlight was probably a dinner in the jungle. Well, it’s not really in the jungle, but on an organic farm nearby. The family was extremely sweet and informative. We elected the option of cooking with them. It was an amazing experience filled with flavours and incredible vibes.
Oh, and try the Thai massage at the Cottages. Both masseuses are amazing.
Overall, 5 days there were made perfect by the very helpful and friendly staff who paid attention to details in the most efficient way. We were able to recharge our batteries and move on to another part of our trip.
We were very grateful for this wonderful experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11surfinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hi Marie-Claire S,

It is lovely to hear from you, and truly wonderful to learn that you had such a great time at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages! We're so pleased that we could provide you with such a memorable experience!
It is great to hear that you were able to devote some serious time to exploring Khao Sok. Not many visitors stay for five days, so a more seasoned perspective is always useful :) We're glad that you were able to take part in so many activities, and it is always nice to receive positive feedback - we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to our masseuses and the family that runs 'Dinner in the Jungle' (This is one of our favourites as well!).
Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience with us! We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews