We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
170
88
21
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
170
88
21
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the river national park free shuttle to the town additional night jungle hikes thai family lake tour restaurant food was delicious tree snakes inner tubes jungle experience khao soi floating bungalows thai massage floating restaurant jungle feel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 293 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2019

What a restful stay we had at the cottages! And yet, we managed to engage in many activities thanks to the staff there.
But first, the cottages: they are beautiful examples of simple, and clean living. We lounged on the balcony facing the jungle, one of us in a hammock, the other on the comfortable wooden sofa. For breakfast and dinner, the restaurant affords well-priced and varied dishes that are scrumptious. Try their banana pancakes in the morning...
We spent all day off the hotel grounds, either going for a bike ride, a lake tour in the national park, or a day-long hike. The various outfitters connected to the hotel were great.
Although we enjoyed all our experiences, the highlight was probably a dinner in the jungle. Well, it’s not really in the jungle, but on an organic farm nearby. The family was extremely sweet and informative. We elected the option of cooking with them. It was an amazing experience filled with flavours and incredible vibes.
Oh, and try the Thai massage at the Cottages. Both masseuses are amazing.
Overall, 5 days there were made perfect by the very helpful and friendly staff who paid attention to details in the most efficient way. We were able to recharge our batteries and move on to another part of our trip.
We were very grateful for this wonderful experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsciousTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hi Marie-Claire S,

It is lovely to hear from you, and truly wonderful to learn that you had such a great time at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages! We're so pleased that we could provide you with such a memorable experience!
It is great to hear that you were able to devote some serious time to exploring Khao Sok. Not many visitors stay for five days, so a more seasoned perspective is always useful :) We're glad that you were able to take part in so many activities, and it is always nice to receive positive feedback - we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to our masseuses and the family that runs 'Dinner in the Jungle' (This is one of our favourites as well!).
Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience with us! We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

We loved our 1 night stay at these cottages! My teenage kids were next door in their own cottage and we felt very safe having them in a separate cottage than us. They loved sleeping under the mosquito netting and my daughter especially will remember a small gecko in the bathroom in the middle of the night (haha!!) We liked doing the river float-it wasn't a major activity but just mellow relaxing float down the river to unwind from our flight to Surat Thani. The beds were comfortable and the ambiance was wonderful. My only complaint was the food-we ate breakfast and dinner both at the cottages and were disappointed with the amount of time it took for the food to come out, and when it did, it was cold and not delicious. It was too bad because the restaurant ambiance was terrific. The food is the only reason I'm not giving this location a 5 star review.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lakeharrietgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Hello lakeharrietgirl,

It is lovely to hear from you, and wonderful to hear that you had such a great time during your stay! It is always great to be able to play such a positive role in a family's vacation, and we're really happy that we were able to do so for you. We hear you on the tubing, and couldn't agree more. This is one of our favourite things to do following a long day, and we find that it puts us in a wonderfully mellow state of mind!
We're sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant was unsatisfactory. As you can see from many other reviews on this site, your experience is uncommon, but we know that this doesn't change things, and apologise for our lack of consistency. We'll be sure to address this matter with our kitchen staff, and stress the importance doing things right, every time.
Wishing you plenty of sunshine and safe travels, and hoping to see your family again in Khao Sok! All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018

After being drained by the overly touristy places in southern Thailand, arriving at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages was literally a breath of fresh air. Peace and calm settled over us as we walked through the jungle garden on raised walkways to the reception/ restaurant area and eventually to our riverside bungalow. The cold flower ice tea we received upon checking in was the perfect welcome. Within an hour of checking in, the 3 of us were floating in inner tubes down the river, giddy at our newfound, nature-inspired tranquility.

The bungalows are simple and clean with a huge private bathroom, 2 fans, ample outlets, mosquito nets and good wifi. We loved our little frog and gecko visitors and the sounds of the gibbons, and were pleasantly surprised how few bugs/mosquitoes there were.

This place is also conscious about sustainable and responsible tourism and we appreciated that they offer free drinking water in glasses or your own bottle and lots of vegetarian and vegan choices on the menus, and that they work with tour operators committed to animal welfare (elephants) and empowered community development.

The staff were very friendly and communication in English was easy. If you're a bit weary from the hustle and bustle of the more lively tourist destinations in Thailand, this place will feel like a rejuvenating retreat!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenstate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Hi goldenstate3,

It's awesome to hear that you had such a great time staying with us! We're especially pleased that you were able to really get into the laid-back, nature-focused vibe that we have worked so hard to build here on the Riverside. It is great to know that we are attracting guests such as yourselves, who seem like a perfect fit for our resort!
Thanks for your shoutout to our philosophy of sustainable and responsible community-based tourism! This is not the easy way to run a resort in Thailand, but we certainly think it is the right way, and are happy that you noticed. Thanks for your support!
We hope you've enjoyed safe travels since leaving us, and that you'll be back again some day - we'd love to have you back!
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018 via mobile

The whole hotel is organised as huts and bungalows in a beautiful jungle garden connected via footbridges. The management really cared about aesthetics and atmosphere. During our stay the staff was gardening to maintain this view.

Bungalows are very comfortable with spacious rooms, terraces with hammocks, tables, banks etc. Everything very clean and in good condition.

The restaurant is in fact a little bit pricey, probably due to the location (remote area, NOT in the village). But it is delicious.

Staff is very polite and helpful, provide good information and very friendly.

Things to consider:

It is a RAINFOREST...that means it is hot and humid and it will probably rain. YES this is also possible during dry season (this is nature!!!)
If you can't handle it without A/C you should consider, wether this touristic experience is something for you.
Also you are surrounded by forest, that means you probably encounter some animals (bugs, geckos etc.) And they make noises and don't follow rules...if you have a light sleep you should take oropax with you.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Hi Marta P,

Thanks for taking the time to review Khao Sok Riverside Cottage, and especially for the 'Things to consider' section :) We always appreciate guests giving feedback directly to potential guests, and are grateful to you for sharing.
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found everything to your liking, especially our jungle garden - this is a favourite of ours as well, and really sets us apart from other Khao Sok resorts. Thanks for noticing the hard work and effort that goes into maintaining such a project!
Regarding our restaurant prices, you are correct to say that our higher prices are due to a remote location. However, the entire village of Khao Sok is in a remote location, and every resort and restaurant must travel 200km round trip to pick up the essential ingredients. As a result, all restaurants in Khao Sok are expensive compared to the rest of mainland Thailand. We are in fact very competitive with other resorts in the area!
Thanks again for your feedback, it is great to hear from you! We hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

We had the opportunity to stay in Riverside cottages for 3 nights and we couldn't be happier with the service they offer!
First of all, they have a wonderful restaurant on sight, where we tasted the most delicious Thai curry of our lives! They have so many options, specially for us Vegan.
You can book some activities and day tours there, we recommend the full day lake tour, where you hop on a long tail boat ride through the national park and will see some beautiful limestone cliffs.
We also did some canoeing through the river and had the most amazing elephant experience, on a place where they are really looked for and with an ethical policy.
Thank you so much Riverside, we hope to come back some day.

Room tip: The riverside bungalows are the best
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Freeoversea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Sok R, Public Relations Manager at Khao Sok Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Hi Freeoversea,

It's great to hear from you, and even better to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We're pleased to have been such a positive part of your Khao Sok experience :) Thanks for mentioning our restaurant! We are so proud of the laid-back, friendly ambiance we have managed to create there along the river, and of the excellent, talented kitchen staff we have managed to build. We will definitely let them know they made the best Thai curry you've ever had!!
Wishing you safe travels, and hoping to see you again in the future. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews