We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in the 'wilderness'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khao Sok Cabana Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Cabana Resort is still new in business (opened in 2014) but will have a great future, if they keep up with the warm, friendly service. I can recommend it very much, it was in fact the most pleasant stay during our trip (around 3 weeks).

We arrived via minibus from Suratthani, had previously phoned to ensure availability of rooms.
The minibus dropped all passengers off at the Treehouse (whatever) resort, which is most prominent there. Maybe the driver gets some benefit for additional customers there, but we were far off the track, some 15min away from the bus stop.

After fending off some suspiciously eager 'taxi' drivers who just incidentally were waiting there, we phoned to Cabana Resort again.
The owner had been waiting for us at the bus stop for some time (Minubus was late) and arrived shortly thereafter. He picked us up (for free) and took us to the Cabana.

Cabana Resort is 'family business', so very uncomplicated, friendly atmosphere.
Especially Danny, the owner's son, is always up to some jokes, will help you with anything and was even our guide for a day trip to the djungle and caves.

Food and shakes are very tasty, prices are good, the Bungalows are nice and clean. Laundry is possible at the neighbour's. You can book day trips, elephants etc., very flexible. They organize the rest.

After our stay Danny took us to the Bus stop (Bigbus), so we did not need a taxi. He also made sure the tickets were all right.

Oh, if you stay there and Danny is still racing the young kittens with a laser pointer...thats my fault. :-)

Room Tip: Don't get drunk and fall off the walkway. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

I travelled here with a friend in early January when the resort had only been open a few weeks (and thus we had no trip advisor reviews to go on!) - we were not disappointed. The lodges are beautiful and although the rooms are basic it is excellent value for money and they have everything you need. The lodges are located down a track just off the main road, so the location is perfect. We booked two trips and a transfer through the hotel which all ran on time with no problems. When we arrived they still hadn't got their WiFi up and running yet but kindly let us use their personal (hotspot) internet.

The staff were very very helpful and friendly which is certainly one of the things which made our stay so wonderful. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njh207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Brand new bungalows built along a stilt walkway in a triangle formation, the rooms therefore look into a green 'pond' - looks very cool and stylish (although I dread to think what a major drop it will be for the drunk person who keels over and falls 6ft to the floor, there aren't any handrails). The room we stayed in for 500 baht was fairly small, had two single beds and no mossy net. Putting the beds together to make a double was no sweat and net wasn't needed as the room was what I believe is known in the trade as weather tight. The owner put great effort into ensuring that the room designs make use of Thai motifs and materials which is nice as many places just build a room, fill it and make their money (there was even a fixed clothes hangar in the shape of a ladder made of bamboo against the wall). Cleanest and whitest bedding I've seen on my travels; the towels were soft and fluffy. Let's see if these standards are maintained over time. The only minuses were: no wifi and not a great cook in the kitchen. The owner is a delightfully cheery chap who is only too happy to help. When we told him that the coffee that his staff made wasn't too great, he asked us to make one for him after my girlfriend told him that 7 years ago for a short time she was a barista. He carefully watched three cups of coffee being made and instructed the staff to watch too, I think now that should you ask for a cappuccino, you'll get a great one (but don't blame me if you don't.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Lindavanderputten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank EseRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lillou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Masche73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#1 of 1 in Phanom
284 reviews
0 mi away
Khao Sok Jungle Resort
Khao Sok Jungle Resort
#7 of 23 in Khao Sok National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Cabana Resort

Address: 397-397/1 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $17 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khao Sok Cabana Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Khao Sok Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing