We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
485
213
54
18
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
213
54
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake tripthe rivermango househalf moonnational parkhalf day hikethe cliffmosquito netnight safarikhao soiovernight tripelephant bathinghot springsnature trailopen airtwo nightsraft houses
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 792 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2017

We had a great time at Our Jungle House and would definitely come back.

The rooms up in the treetops provide a unique view. They provide drinking water (about 10 to 20 Litres or so), are fitted with mosquito nets above the beds and have a large balcony looking out into the trees. We saw a family of monkeys, lizards and countless other little critters.

While there is no wifi in the rooms the wifi at the reception is very good with 40 MBit up / 40 MBit down. The laundry service is practical and laundry charged per Kilogram. Rooms are cleaned on request so no-one is disturbing unasked.

While the transfer service at the village makes the impression of being cheaper than the one offered by the hotel, they also put you on a minibus with 13 other people, so maybe stick to the hotel's since that was a private one.

The overnight lake trip to Cheow Lan Lake has to be mentioned as it should not be offered by Our Jungle House in it's current state: the toilets are very dirty and broken, no soap in the dispensers and the bedlinen and mattresses have stains and should be renewed. Once all that is done it can be recommended but currently it is not. While the view of the general area and the boatride there are simply amazing for the accommodation chosen can best be recommended as day trip.
Also for rain season: bring a poncho - just a rain jacket won't do.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutOfBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurJungleHouse, General Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear friends,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at Our Jungle House. We appreciate all feedback and take all comments on board to help us improve the experience for future guests.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Our Jungle House and the unique experience in nature it has to offer. I will pass your kind comments to our staff also.

In regards to the lake, the join-in overnight trip is indeed very basic for accommodation, with bamboo rafts floating on the lake, thin mattresses on the floor and basic shared washroom facilities. We choose this raft house as it is in the furthermost reaches of the lake with the best wildlife spotting opportunities. We agree, it is very basic!

For people who prefer a better standard of comfort, we also offer private trips to other raft houses. Guests can choose between Comfort or Deluxe raft houses with better facilities.

Thank you again for your review and we sincerely hope to see you again here in this beautiful part of the world.

Kind Regards,

Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the jungle house for two nights as part of a trip to Cheow lake. We did the tubing excursion as well as the excursion to the Hot Springs. The tubing was an absolute blast and our children 10 & 13 loved it. The excursion to the Hot Springs was nice but we found them to be so hot that it was almost impossible to get in. We stayed in one of the family tree houses which was really lovely. There was the sound of the jungle and animals all around. We did have monkeys on our roof. It's totally fine as long as you keep the doors and the windows closed and don't keep food in your room. In retrospect we could have stayed at least 1 to 2 days longer to participate in more of the excursions as well as enjoy the swimming beach and rope swing at the river at the jungle house. The staff and the restaurant were fantastic some of the best food we've had in Thailand. I highly recommend a few days at the jungle house especially if you have older children.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank jms72SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Our Jungle House in January and thought it was absolutely amazing.
The bungalows are beautiful and even though we stayed in the 'budget' room, it was great.
We took part in the Cheow lan lake over night trip. This was fantastic. The guide was amazing and we such a good time.
We were hoping to do a few more excursions through the hotel. However, within an hour of arriving back from our over night trip we both had the worst sickness we've ever experienced. Luckily there was lots of drinking water provided in the room as we were so violently ill we couldn't even get to reception. However, if I was going to be sick anywhere in Thailand I'd much rather it was here than a lot of other places ...
anyway - Great place, it's just a shame we couldn't enjoy it to the fullest!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurJungleHouse, General Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear friends,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our Trip Advisor readers. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Our Jungle House and Cheowlan lake and remember us so many month s after your time here. That's wonderful!
We are sorry to read that you got really sick after returning from the lake and trust our staff took good care of you.

We hope you will come and stay with us next time you are in Thailand and have the chance to do those extra excursions you were hoping for!

We trust your journey back hope has been a happy and peaceful one. Thanks again for your review!

Kind Regards,

Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

Dear review reader,

As you probably already noticed there are plenty of well-rated places to stay in Khao Sok. We spend 4 nights at Our Jungle House. Would we recommend you to stay here? Yes! These are the reasons why:

- It is really IN the jungle (which are almost others not)
- Its at the end of the road, so no neighbors or other disturbing noises. Only jungle sounds.
- Beautiful finished Bungalows and tree houses (we stayed in cliff house 1)
- Great staff (the American influences of the owner are definitely visible in the professionally and service of the staff)
- Good food!
- Nice bar with jungle views
- Most of all, an incredible atmosphere due to all the jungle flora and fauna.

Definitely suitable for couples and families!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the Cliff One Bungalow and it was nothing short of amazing. It had its own private bathroom and had two twin beds that could be pushed together or kept apart depending on your preference. The location was amazing, it was deeper into Khao Sok and was right along the river, which had huge limestone cliffs next to it. They also included a mosquito net for you. Because this is in the jungle and has open windows and slits, many bugs and lizards will be in your room, so the mosquito net is very helpful at night. The room itself was so clean and lively. They had a safe in the room to use for your convenience as well.

The staff was so lovely and friendly. They had a restaurant with excellent food and a bar upstairs that was quaint and very lovely, especially if you were there with a significant other. The resort was pretty big and spread out, so it was cool to walk along the river and check out the other bungalows.

They offered many tours and from what I heard, they were all amazing. I highly recommend staying here during your visit to Khao Sok.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank Kstymiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews