We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place right in the middle of nature”
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Jungle House
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful place right in the middle of nature”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were recommended to stay here and we don't regret it at all.

The place is super-well maintained, the accommodation (we stayed in a 950 Baht Jungle house) was awesome. Well build wooden/bamboo bungalows with a comfy bed, mosquito net, decent size bathroom, small balcony and everything is very clean. Although it is the end of monsoon, no moldy smell whatsoever. The orchestra sounds of nature at night are amazing.

It was dark as we arrived so the gigantic limestone cliff right outside our door was a very impressive view to wake up to, as was having the Sok river right outside our doorstep. A beautifully clean and fresh stream, ideal to swim in.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a little play area for kids too.

Only minor point I can think of is the food. We weren't impressed with the choice, the quality nor the prices of food. Breakfast is boring, toast tastes sweet, they serve instant coffee :-( We are used to this type of breakfast in Thailand but we expected this beautiful (not budget) place to serve a better food selection. Therefore we decided to eat elsewhere fro lunch and dinner. There are quite some choices within a 20 minute walk so don't feel trapped in this place.

Upon checking out I wasn't refunded for the key deposit but a quick email and everything was well sorted; key deposit was refunded onto my bank within 1 day. Great service!

Would definitely stay again.

By the way, do not miss out on a lake trip. The lake is just stunning with the most amazing views you can think of. Dense jungle, wild monkeys. Just breath-taking! Don't bother staying in one of the raft houses though. They are heavily overpriced. Better return to Our Jungle House for the night ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the river and the cliff. It is mystical
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rice_paddy7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    182
    47
    15
    21
See reviews for
144
324
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just came back from Thailand, where I spent 2 weeks with my parents and Khao Sok NP was one of the best places we visited. The major credit on this experience was thanks to Our Jungle House. We stayed in the Mango house and we really enjoyed every moment here. The accommodation was very spacious, clean and the mornings by the river with distant songs of Gibbons were just amazing. The stuff is super friendly and ready to help with every task. The food was delicious and for reasonable price. Also the location is a great advantage as it's situated quite far from the main busy street so the feeling of jungle experience is the best here from the whole Khao Sok NP accommodation I think. All the trips were without any problem, the stuff helped us with arranging transportation after our departure and the were also very helpful when I left my camera memory card in my room. Without any hesitation they let me know and uploaded all the photos on the internet for me. I would really like to thanks again to everyone for making our stay memorable. See you soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent cooking course in a local's farmhouse sponsored by Jungle House, while some maintenance was being done on our house. Very friendly couple showered us how to make three tasty dishes. Made green curry chicken, papaya salad, banana coconut desert.

Kai was our bird guide. Helped us find good birding spots and very knowledgeable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The perfect base from which to explore the jungle. We stayed in the Park View Tree House for 2 nights and loved it.

We did the half day jungle tour with our excellent and very funny guide 'Bo' who was extremely knowledgeable and had an amazing knack for spotting insects and animals that we invisible to us!

The Canoeing and Thai cooking course with Lek and his wife were superb, teaching us to cook a number of dishes from scratch.

The food and service at the Jungle House was excellent and we enjoyed the cold beers and cocktails in the chillout bar in the evenings whilst exchanging adventure stories and tips with fellow travelers.

Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hedgey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We are a family of 5, our three kids are aged 8, 6, and 3. We were looking for an adventurous holiday closer to nature than our usual holiday getaways. We chose Our Jungle House because it is located in the park, it's very eco-conscious, and got good reviews. We stayed in the Rambutan House, on the river and the closest (I think) hut to the restaurant. It is a 2 bedroom place connected by a bathroom. The kids stayed in one room (2 single beds and a mattress on the floor, all with mosquito nets) and we stayed in the other (queen size bed with mosquito net.) We had plenty of room, and a big balcony outside to sit. We liked being near the restaurant, it was easy for the kids, and we never heard any noise from it.
We went in mid October, so the tail end of low season. The mosquitos were not bad at all (I barely saw any) but we used the mosquito nets at night anyway. There is no a/c, but not a problem because we spent almost no time in our rooms in the day, and by night, after your refreshingly cold shower (no hot water in the rooms. The 3 year old didn't like it so much, but there's another option which I'll mention later) it's much cooler and quite comfortable with the fans provided. There was an outdoor shower nearby with hot water, but it's open, so you have to keep your swimsuit on. Maybe not so convenient for adults, but it was great to shower our 3 year old, who screamed through the cold showers every time.
There is a small beach where you can swim in the river, and even a rope swing. We didn't ever end up having time to swim here, though, so I can't comment on how easy it is with kids.
There are the usual things you must consider in the jungle and when you're staying in an eco lodge. For instance, you have to swipe off the gecko/lizard poop off your bed (not a lot, but it's there), you need to keep any and all food out of your room at all times because the monkeys get in. I spotted a tiny (rather cute) little mouse scuttling about in the rafters in the middle of the night one night. You need to bring your own shampoo/conditioner/toothpaste, and maybe even soap if you don't like using teeny tiny little bars-it gets a little tricky with a big family. All these things we were okay with. We saw this as a glorified camping trip with the kids. If you're not okay with this, then this isn't the place for you.
The food was great-the adults stuck with Thai food. The kids loved the breakfasts, and we were always able to find something for them to eat. The service can get slow when the restaurant is full because there seems to be only one server. But this wasn't too big a deal. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating.
The activities that you can coordinate through the front desk were just wonderful (except for the hot springs. Unimpressed.) We went on a day trip to Cheow Larn Lake, a half day hike in the Park, an afternoon elephant trek, a morning float down the river in inner tubes, and an afternoon trip to the hot springs. These were all booked at Our Jungle House. We really liked our guides for the Lake and Park trips. The elephant trek and hot springs we didn't have guides, just drivers.
We met the manager, who has been there for 10 years, and enjoyed talking to him and hearing how they are really trying to be eco conscious, support the local community, and give back by starting new projects. They have an incredibly detailed booklet in each room describing the history of the area and Our Jungle House. They have also made a lovely short film about the elephant camp where they send their guests on the elephant treks.
It is about a 15-20 min walk into the little town, and my husband was able to get a run or two in while we were there.
We had a big load of laundry done for us the day before we left since everything we had was wet from our excursions (either from rain or hiking through rivers!)
There is electricity in the rooms, so we were able to charge our iPad and Kindle. They have WiFi at the restaurant, though not 100% reliable. No big deal. We didn't mind.
We flew from Bangkok to Surat Thani and asked Our Jungle House to coordinate transportation from and to the airport. The driver was punctual, the drive took about 90 minutes, and was in a comfortable van.
We had a great time away from the city and the kids had a blast.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rambutan with 2 connecting rooms for our family of 5. It's close to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here on a holiday with friends. The staff are friendly and helpful at Our Jungle House and the accommodation is wonderful. I stayed in River 2 cottage which was right on the river. I felt right at home. Even though the water was only cold water, the weather is so warm that it is what I would have showered in anyway.

It was a 15-20 walk to the main town and we were offered a lift but decided to walk anyway. It isn't that far.

The wildlife around the accommodation is great. Staff pointed out a lizard and resident bat in the bar upstairs. It didn't feel like accommodation but also an experience. We organised a guided tour through the Jungle House and were picked up at the door - nothing for us to do. We had an english speaking local guide (Aof Sparrow) who took us on an adventure into the National Park. I love this place!

Room Tip: Both tree houses and the ground cottages are great. We stayed in a ground cottage which was further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elllli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I will firstly just say, i enjoyed every minute of staying at our jungle house, it really is the most beautiful place i have ever seen. The only issue I had was with one member of staff who ruined the last day of our trip and made us very uncomfortable. I will get to that later...

After a long day on the overnight train and then changing onto 3 different buses, we finally begin to enter the picturesque location of Khao Sok (we booked a transfer through a TAT in Bangkok, never again!). The scenery is just amazing and were in love with the place already. The bus stops at Khao Sok, and there are a few locals with pick up trucks, who are willing to drop us down to our accommodation for a few baht. Always remember the exact name of your accommodation, as there are lots of different company's with very similar names!

OUR ROOM
The staff are very friendly upon arrival and we are initially greeted by a young american guy who seems very friendly. He shows us our room (Romance Treehouse) which is amazing, even in the rain! The river is running high right beneath us and all the wildlife is out.We couldn't fault the room atall, good mozzi nets, overhead fan which was more than cool enough for us, and a nice balcony overlooking the river.

RESTAURANT
The restaurant was beautiful and all the food was amazing. The staff their were all wonderful and very helpful! lots of wildife around the restaurant too, there's firefly's floating past, humming birds and lots of geckos/lizards. The service was exquisite always

EXCURSIONS
We had met another couple on our journey to khao sok, so we decided to do some excursions together. River Tubing was AMAZING. At first, the staff were unsure whether we could go ahead with it as the river was running high/fast, but they decided we could do it. The relaxing river trip which should of took over an hour and a half, took under 20 mins! it was so much fun and the guides were great fun and really looked after everyone. I would really recommend doing this when the river is running high if your want to have a bit more fun!

We also did elephant trekking which we booked via our jungle house (10 minute drive away). The elephants seemed very happy and the mahout was caring towards the elephant. We were hoping to only ride the elephant around the neck as it's supposedly more comfortable for the elephant, but we took it in turns to sit in the saddle/on the neck. The scenery on the trek was amazing and once in a life time. I would definitely recommend doing the elephant trek.

THE BAD EXPERIENCE!!!
now we had done 2 successful excursions,we decided to try the 'hot springs' which was advertised in our booklet in our room.The photo showed a lovely clean bathing area where which looked like a really good excursion. So when we decide to book our excursion, we are met by the american guy again. He informs us that the springs have been flooded by the river and are unusable at the moment. He then said that we can go to another spring which was off the beaten track, and more beautiful. (he spoke as if he had been there before). He said he would come along to get some photos as they didn't have any photos of this 'beautiful' spring. when we got there, him and the driver where looking at each other saying is this it? looking very confused. They made a phone call to confirm and this was the spring they were looking for. as we pulled up, there was an overturned bin with dirty bandages and all sorts all over the floor, The spring had hundreds of empty bottles and was basically a dumping ground. There were about 5 locals who were enjoying the spring, but we had paid money expecting what was advertised. The american guy looking very apprehensive got in and asked us to join him. You could see he was very uncomfortable getting in himself. The four of us refused to get in the spring. The american guy then started questioning us, whats wrong with it? why won't you get in? etc. We said look at the mess, its dangerous, and look at the picture advertised, its very different. As we got back into the van he implied that we wouldn't go in because the locals were in the water. We were disgusted by this as we love the Thai people. This really upset everyone on the trip. on route home, we stopped off at the flooded springs and it was still very much flooded, so we all agreed that we weren't paying for this trip and weren't going into the flooded springs. Once we got back in the car, the american guy started talking about fuel costs and how much we have to pay! after all that! a day wasted with his lies and we still have to pay! Upon return, he emailed his boss who immediately told him not to charge us. Not once did we receive an apology from this man. He was so rude, we felt so uncomfortable we couldn't even sit in the restaurant. This guy had so many opportunities to turn it around but kept trying to sell it to us. He should have said at the start, the spring is flooded and we can't do the trip today.

It is a real shame as our jungle house is a wonderful place and this shouldn't put anyone off going! i'm hoping that he has learnt from this and may make some better decisions in the future! do not let this review put you off staying here, all the great stuff outweighed this problem

I would love to give this place 5 stars, but our trip truly was tainted by the nightmare trip.

Room Tip: romance treehouse was amazing, but im sure all the rooms are fantastic. Our friends managed to haggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rogan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are very sorry to hear about your experience at the hot springs. It is unfortunate that these hot springs did not meet your expectations. They are indeed very different from the hotsprings that are advertised on our website and at our resort, though we have taken guests before who had enjoyed them; it seems to be one of those places that some people enjoy and others don't.

About the cleanliness of the alternate hotsprings - it seemed in fine shape to us. For pictures taken on the day of the visit, please refer to our November 6 facebook post. We had never intended to make you feel endangered by visiting these hotsprings.

It is unfortunate that you were not given proper information by our staff and that this led to a negative experience. We appreciate your information; now that we know of this we will work to ensure that future guests are well-informed so that there will be no further miscommunications. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Sok National Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
#5 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Property: Our Jungle House
Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For best deals book direct with Our Jungle House! A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake. Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these charming houses while living at one with nature. We offer open aired, fan cooled room in keeping with our eco ethos as well as comfortable beds, western toilets and hot water showers. From your open deck, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs or jungle setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing