We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely MUST visit place!!!”
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Jungle House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I have no words! This is a real jungle house where you do feel you're close to nature but comfortable and safe at the same. The views from the restaurant in the morning, the sounds of wilderness in the night...wow!
We spent 2 nights there and one on the like.
The like trip including jungle trekking, morning canoe safari and bathing in a natural swimming pool surrounded by the greanest hills ever is something you CAN'T MISS. The people there are so nice and the way they cook...unforgettable!
We also used transport provided by Our Jungle House to & from there. Everything went smooth, comfortable cars, everything on time-we recommend (with a growing number of people, price per person declines significantly).
The only drawback which I maybe shouldn't even be mentioning - it's jungle anyway - was damp bed linen which didn't seem perfect clean (I don't say it was not, it just didn't seem). However, what I really wish to underline, the overall cleanliness and facilities (e.g. private toilets in each house on the like!!!,) amazed us!
Still hesitating? ;)




  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monika_lovingLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you felt comfortable and connected to nature. That's exactly how we want our guests to feel :) I'm sorry to hear about your linens, it can sometimes be difficult keeping them dry during the rainy season out here, but it sounds like it wasn't too much of a problem. Glad you enjoyed all of your activities while you were here and that your transfers went smoothly. Thanks and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 689 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you want to feel the wild nature, enjoy elephant rides, trekking around Khao Sok natural Park and still feel as home, Our Jungle House is defenitely your place. We were a group of 9 people and we stayed 2 nights, and everything was perfect. Beside that, the crew was so nice. We forgot our camera there and they kindly sent it to our next destination at Bangkok in 24h! Thank you son much!!
Highly recommended to live a once in a lifetime experience , it worths lot!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peibolmalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Our Jungle House for four days, each day sampling a different room, as there were so many different unique rooms we requested to move each night to experience each! The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food from the restaurant is above standard. The owners have really gone out of their way to make this place special with their personal notes written up into an in room guide. We can't wait to visit OJH again next year as we will be once again travelling through the area! Be sure to book the overnight lake trip- this was our favourite thing to do in Khao Sok :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Our Jungle House. All of the bungalows and tree houses are different. It was busy when we were there and the only accommodation that fitted our family of 3 was Thai House. This was located quite close to the reception and restaurant and bar, so was handy for going back and forth. It was comfortable to stay in - but was rather tired compared with some of the other accommodation. Our friends stayed in Liana Tree house - the furthest away from reception - and this was much nicer (although it was more expensive). Thai House is one of the bungalows without any windows downstairs- there are wooden shutters instead - this made the room very dark and each time we wanted light we had to open up all of the shutters (and then remember to close them all every time we left - or else the monkeys will get in). Our Jungle House is well located - and away from the other local accommodation - and this makes it feel a special place to be. Although as others have mentioned, it does mean that you need to take most of your meals here as the village is a dark muddy walk away. The food in the restaurant was generally good - although the meal on our last night was poor (not sure why this was). Also the restaurant closes at 8.30 p.m. so you need to have finished ordering desert and coffee by this time (which I think is a bit early). The restaurant and bar area are lovely - but most of the guest seem to disappear after an early dinner, so it was not particularly sociable (maybe we were just unlucky). Altogether it was a lovely place to stay and the staff were friendly and helpful - but it wasn't quite as 'wild' as I had imagined it would be. We did a number of trips while we were there and this is what we thought. Elephant trek - good fun and the elephants appeared to be well treated. Tubing - enjoyable - but quite expensive and over quickly if the river is flowing well. Lake trip - beautiful but a bit boring - a long drive to get there and then a long trip by boat to get to the more interesting parts of the lake. All day hike - really enjoyed this - our guide Deng was excellent and really passionate about the local environment - by far the best bit of our stay. We were lucky with the weather - a big downpour before we arrived and then no rain for the next 3 days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_jewkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at our jungle house.as it was our 6th visit to Thailand,we found a different paradise.rooms basic but comfortable,food very very tasty and great service from the head waitress that will easily decide for you if in doubt as what to order.We had some good day trips and did the overnight stay at the lake where I must admit it needs a bit of jacking up!the lake and all is beautiful,but the accomodation is reallyshocking and in my opinion dangerous in the condition its in...we will highly reccomend your resort and its location...but skip the lake stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coenie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Thailand, & after having a friend work in a animal sanctuary i decided to escape the beaches for a jungle experience.

I chose Khao Sok, & Our Jungle House in particular, based solely on the nearby landscape & the novelty of a basic treehouse. Even though the 'tree houses' better resembled pole homes. I had booked Hideway in particular as it was elevated, simple in design & basic (it lacked glass windows instead using timber shutters) close to the water's edge.

On arrival, i was told that hideaway wasn't available due to recent storm damage & i was given other accommodation to substitute. This was both the Liana & Mango house. They are larger than hideaway, & more expensive. However i wasn't charged extra. To be honest, i think the rooms are slightly overpriced for what the offer in comparison to elsewhere.

From my previous visits to Thailand, i've found thai people to be very friendly, welcoming & hospitable. Sadly this was not the same for Our Jungle House. I found during my stay, there was a lack of hosiptality shown by the thai women working there. Conversations were short & to the point, they didn't seem to associate with guests unless necessary. There were problems experienced by myself & other guests in trying to book activities with contradicting prices, nor were answers ever straight forward. The american owner/manager Bhodi was very social & accomodating.

During my visit there were mainly family groups staying there. As a solo traveller, i found the guests chose not to interact as freely with each other whereas i am used to people sitting together for a meal/drink or sharing travel stories.

I booked a tube ride, i understood for 2 hrs. In the end it was finished & returned to the bungalows within 45mins. I can understand the flow of the river changes, but don't advertise 2 hrs if it isn't 2 hrs.

I managed to book the day lake tour & had the guide named Gai. He is a very knowledgeable man of the local area, history, wildlife & flora. The tour is highly recommended, even during severe rain like we experienced.

We were late returning to Our Jungle House at 8:15pm. The restaurant was full some of us having to wait for a free table. Or eat upstairs in the bar, with is partly uncovered & not suitable for dinner when it's raining. Also the waitresses won't serve upstairs. I ordered dinner, & a few moments later tried to order desert. I was told kitchen closed 830pm. Surely when a tour is late returning, & the dining area is above capacity the kitchen should stay open longer.

After the 3rd day of asking to book the night safari i gave up, they again seemed uninterested. It is also a concern there is no information how to contact someone in an emergency after hours.

I wish Our Jungle House every success & thank them for the experience. I think however there's only so much you can do in the area & don't see myself returning anytime soon.

And what's with all the comments about monkeys..... the only one i saw was clinging to the side of a coconut farmers ute :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights in march 2013, in 'forest' treehouse, & had the time of our lives. Went trekking in khao sok, swam in the river, met fantastic friendly people. The treehouse was AMAZING. There's a river running through their grounds where you can cool off. The resaurant has a chill out area upstairs where you can play games, listen to music & have a drink. The food, wow! So delicious, im drooling just remembering it! We went on night trek too which was very exciting. Our guide was very knowledgable & had true passion & respect for nature, as did lots of people we were lucky enough to meet!The staff were so kind and happy & lovely especially with our children. We would love to go back, & highly recomend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippiesFlipFlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#7 of 11 in Phanom
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $24 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For best deals book direct with Our Jungle House! A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake. Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these charming houses while living at one with nature. We offer open aired, fan cooled room in keeping with our eco ethos as well as comfortable beds, western toilets and hot water showers. From your open deck, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs or jungle setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing