We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Jungle Experience!”
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Jungle House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Khao Sok was really beautiful. It's a very small town, but there is a lot to do like jungle safari's, tubing, massage, elephant riding, ... We stayed in a tree house and it was very lovely to be so close to nature - exept for the ants in our room and the monkey's who stole some of my stuff from the bathroom ;-) But also that made it even more wonderful.

The place was very beautiful, the staff was really friendly, great food, nice bar,...

We went in raining season and it was nice to experience the real rainforest that way, but for me it was a bit too cold to enjoy water attractions like the tubing or swimming. I think that would be nicer in summer, but there is still enough other things to enjoy in raining season. Also a nice place to go with kids! We would love to go there with our two boys someday! We would suggest to go there for about 3-5 days. Greetings!

Room Tip: The Romance Tree House is very lovely, but more expencive. We stayed there one night and then moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya_82B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 691 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

. Caught the 12:00 bus from Naiyang beach near the Phuket Airport
. The bus to Suratthani via Takua Pa is the best option. This drops one off at the roadside drop- off on the main road from tAkua to Suratthani.
. The lodge is established as one of the leading, and most professional operators in the area, and one really feels at home from the time you arrive. A fantastic, enthusiastic and helpful staff who endeavor to Help with all travel arrangements with
Great efficiency.
. The lodge is some distance off the main road in a pristine patch of rainforest. Listen out for the Gibbons calling in the early hours of the morning!
. From the main road catch a private taxi or arrange pickup. Taxi no more than 50 Baht per person.
. The lake tour is a must.
. If its not raining, the National Park entrance is 20 minutes walk from the lodge, and a walk to 'waterfall no. 4' is well worth it. Don't forget your leach spray!
.this is the wettest part of Thailand so if you visit during the rainy season come prepared! Even if it rains though, the magnificent limestone mountains are far more atmospheric all misted up.
. The nature trail around the lodge is great, and one of the best ways to see some of the smaller animals is to do a night walk.
. Khao Sok hosts some of the rarest large mammals in the world and one of the best ads to see these is to do their 'wildlife specialist' tours which is a 2 to3 day tour for a minimum of 3 people deep into the jungle by waterway! I will definitely do this next time and try to see some Gaur, Banteng, Asian Elephant, Sun Bear, Malayan Tapir amd possible even an Indo- Chinese Tiger.
. Great place- the only place to stay if you are visiting the park as far as I'm concerned

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great location - very relaxed, apart from amusing monkeys, but if you do not leave anything out for these guys - i can only recommend this place. Best location next to the river and a huge cliff formation.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 210PerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of the most wonderful experiences of my life but a bat did somehow manage to get into the mosquito net at night and left me with a nice bite mark...good dinner party story as everything was fine. Would love to go back some day

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssentialFeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived at Our Jungle House quite late in the afternoon after being met at Don Sak Pier by one of the drivers. It was a long drive, but our driver ( can't remember his name sorry) was great and stopped for us along the way when we needed. ( We had the same driver take us to Rawai when we left) Once we arrived our son was keen to get straight into activities so we took the tubes down the river. Was lots of fun with some monkey and snake spotting, not to mention rope swinging. The tree house was basic and clean with cold water facilities. It was quite a novelty after staying in beautiful hotels. I agree with another review that the fans don't do much with such thick (needed) mosquito nets blocking the air whilst sleeping, but the night had cooled somewhat and was not really needed. The staff were wonderful and most of them English speaking. The food was good and so was the service. The next day we took the Lake tour and had a wonderful time. I wouldn't stay in the floating huts at our destination; very rough with dirty showers and toilets half way up a hill. But that's just me. The more adventurous would love it. We swam and canoed until lunch was ready (Thai food which my son was not keen on, so it would be good if offered something for fussy kids so they don't go too hungry. We loved the food) then we headed out for a jungle trek which included going through rivers and streams, so wear shoes that can get wet. We reached the cave where I didn't go in, but my son and his dad did. The water in the cave was rushing quite fast and it was over my son's head ( he is 13) nonetheless, he had a ball. He also had a wonderful time with our guide who was making bamboo horns and leaf hats for the kids, (and not so kids) on the trek back. My only complaint about our jungle stay was we were unlucky enough to have a 'one off' karaoke party pumping (not a usual event for Our Jungle House I was told) on the night after our long day on the lake, etc, when we were wishing to return to a quiet relaxing dinner and drink enjoying the peace of the jungle. Instead we hurriedly ate and went back to our tree house where the music and singing could still be heard. Being very tired and with the help of earplugs I was fine and went off to sleep quite early. The next morning (with apologies for the noise from the staff) before we left we did the elephant ride. What a ride it was in the jungle. Much better than the ones that just go around a simple track elsewhere. This one went through the jungle climbing up a steep path. The elephants are amazing. My son's highlight was sitting near the elephants head during the ride. The mahouts seemed to genuinely care for their elephants which is why (I'm told) Our Jungle House deals with this company. All in all we had a great time. Spent lots of baht during our two night stay so be prepared, but would recommend this to anyone looking for something a little different whilst in Thailand for at least 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at our jungle house as usual it was amazing,, but this review is about a new community based activity, which we had the pleasure of doing from Our jungle house.! There are a range of activitys you can do, all of them with local families, shadow puppet making, pandanus weaving, cooking classes, canoeing, just to name a few... we did a cooking class, & canoeing...We were picked up from Our jungle house by Lek and his wife noi, we arrived at their home after a short stop to pick up fresh ingrediants form local shop. After lek & Noi welcomed us into there home Lek went 2 get fresh coconut from tree, he cut the top off one gave it to us to drink then showed us how to dehusk & grate the flesh. We were making thai sweets & spicy dip (nahm prik) Lek & noi took us thru every step of cooking with us helping with English & them with thai we then sat and ate together. we had the most enjoyable time with Lek & noi after this we did canoeing down sok river with Lek as our captain we even stopped for coffee made on camp fire.. we highly recommend both these activities.!!!!! All in all we had a most enjoyable day..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Our party stayed in a couple of different bungalows, all of which were really comfortable, well designed and had personality. The property is quite large so the bugalows are well spread out. The setting is beautiful and convenient for trips to the lake. We did an overnight trip to the lake to stay on the floating bungalows, which was one of the highlights of our trip to Thailand. The staff at OJH organised the floating bungalows for us and it all went very smoothly. The staff were also very friendly and helpful throughout our stay at OJH, and we arranged transfers both to and from OJH with them which worked out very well (although not necesarily the cheapest option). I would highly recomend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chief_thunder_hawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 11 in Phanom
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $23 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For best deals book direct with Our Jungle House! A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake. Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these charming houses while living at one with nature. We offer open aired, fan cooled room in keeping with our eco ethos as well as comfortable beds, western toilets and hot water showers. From your open deck, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs or jungle setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing