We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Our Jungle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Sok National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Jungle House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great place to enjoy the wonders and scenery of Kao Sok. The Jungle House provides or can provide about anything one needs in the way of services, guides, etc. to get the most our of your stay in Kao Sok. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check out allthe rooms on the website as there is quite a varity and some may have a lot more appeal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 682 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my husband in Nov 2012. We had a cottage near the clubhouse - accommodation was lovely and clean despite its basic nature. You are 'at one' with the wildlife here and we had various animals join us in the night (lizards, creepy crawlies etc.....) so not always the best night's sleep - next time we'd pay more and stay in the accommodation that has windows which you can close! Staff were very helpful and helped us rearrage our transport at the last minute. The location was breathtaking, and worth a visit just for that. We were also impressed by the eco-friendly nature of the resort and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. Sorry to hear about the unwanted guests in the night; these things are hard to avoid given our location, but it's all part of the unique jungle experience. Regarding the windows, every room has windows that can be opened and closed, and all but our two oldest rooms have glass windows. It is certainly advisable to check our website before visiting to see which room you'd like. We appreciate your helpful advice and we are so glad you got to enjoy the jungle with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I loved it loved it loved it. We spent 5 nights in the jungle and it is worth it. We stayed 3 nights first took the canoe trip which was fantastic and just swam in the clean fresh water in front of the tree house. The tree house itself was clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff more than helpful with any query. We also took the overnight lake trip which was spectacular even if the raft bungalows were basic . The scenery is amazing. I have been to Halong Bay in Vietnam and this lake and limestone outcrops were far better than halong which astounded me. It is a must. All the treehouses and bungalows looked great so it would be hard to choose any one more than another

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 5 nights. The accommodation is simple but beautiful and everything is immaculate. Lovely river beach perfect for a quick dip after a hot day. The clubhouse bar/restaurant is really cosy and we had some of the best curries here in 6 weeks in south-east Asia. The staff are really friendly and helpful, most are local young people who are trained up and given accommodation on site. The managers Bodie and Tu are great and are involved in other philanthropic projects locally, such as a school for Burmese children.
Our Jungle House is one of the further resorts from the Khao Sok "strip", but it is easily walkable. It is also I think one of the more expensive but totally, totally worth it. My favourite part - lying in bed at night surrounded by the jungle noises. Wish we could have stayed longer. Truly my favourite place to have stayed, ever.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauradds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location of Our Jungle House is nice and ourselves and our friends had adjoining tree houses near the river. All looked good when we arrived and the restaurant seemed good too.
After 3 days (2 nights) during which our rooms were raided by monkeys and completely trashed 3 times the place started to lose its appeal.
We reported the 1st incident to the manager who sent 2 employees to clear the mess and repair broken curtain poles but despite requests for a thorough clean all they did was sweep the floor and re-make the bed with the same sheets that monkeys had been jumping all over.
At 1st we put the problem down to just one of those things but talking to the manager later it transpired these weren't isolated incidents at all, they had become a regular occurence.
When I asked if the same rooms were booked out in the weeks to come (thinking that they needed to be closed for a day or 2 so extra wood could be used to block up the points of entry) I was informed they were booked solid for 3 weeks. I pity the poor people who were going to be staying there!
Despite this there was no warning and no attempt made to make the rooms more monkey-proof. Indeed it was all treated in rather a jokey fashion which I found unacceptable.
Thinking that our problems may prompt some sort of discount from our bill or an offer of a drink as a gesture of goodwill I was sadly mistaken. Indeed we found the place to be over-priced and with a menu that fell well short of many others we'd enjoyed in our 3 weeks in Thailand. We resorted to walking into the village to eat.
In summary - Khao Sok is lovely but if I visit again it wont involve at stay at Our Jungle House. Mainly due to the attitude of the management who couldn't even muster a goodbye when we left despite being sat a few yards away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleTreehouse, Manager at Our Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We appreciate all feedback from our visitors and depend on their honesty to help improve the experience for future travelers.
Because of this incident the reception staff now advises each of our guests as to the tendencies of our simian friends. We now offer to keep their food in our pantry, as well as having done our best to "monkey-proof" the rooms in question with wooden slats and netting.
The Our Jungle House experience is unique because of it's proximity to nature, but we continue to do our best to make sure that our guests can enjoy the experience comfortably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay was excellent and we did not miss anything (maybe excepr a little more temperature of the shower, but anyway). We are impressed of how the staff cares. The tours we had were alle very nice. Food was one of the best we had in Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Ulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

"Perfect" is word which describes this resort the best. The owners really know how to run this business and put a lot of hart in it. It was probably the best part of our stay in Thailand and probably one of the best resorts we have ever visited (although it is not luxury type of resort). Everything is just as it should be in this resort. Starting from the webpage which is worth to visit before arrival and helps to plan the trip. There is a lot of information about transfers, arrivals, accommodation, additional activities. There is full list of the prices so we could plan your budget in advance.
When we arrived to the resort, friendly staff was waiting for us and helped to check-in. In the room we found brochure with informations about Khao Sok, living there animals and available trips, which could be booked at the resort. I strongly recommend those trips, especially full day hiking in the jungle. If you book this activity, ask if your guide is Kiem (I do not know the right spelling). He is really fantastic, he will help you really experience the jungle in a safe way. I think that that was the best guide in entire Khao Sok.
Our Jungle House is located really in the forest so we could really feel the magic of Khao Sok every day. Our cottage was close to the river and it had beautiful view. I expected very basic accommodation, but it turned out that the bungalow was quite big and very nice, with comfortable bed and comfortable and clean bathroom. The only missing thing was probably warm water. All the area of the resort was very nicely maintained. The staff was doing everything to provide safe and comfortable stay. They were making also a lot of efforts to protect guest from mosquitoes. There was good restaurant in the resort. Prices were quite reasonable.
To summarize, I strongly recommend stay in Khao Sok National Park and Our Jungle House. We were couple with 5 years old child and entire our family equally enjoyed the stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: I liked the most the tree houses and bungalows along the river. We had riverside bungalow. It was mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halina_GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 11 in Phanom
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
#5 of 20 in Khao Sok National Park
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Jungle House

Address: 183 Moo 6 | Khlongsok, Phanom, Khao Sok National Park, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $24 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For best deals book direct with Our Jungle House! A pioneer of ecotourism in Khao Sok for over 20 years, Our Jungle House is a place apart. Situated in 25 acres of privately owned rainforest, three species of monkey and other fascinating wildlife are frequent visitors. The jungle here is a nature lovers paradise where you can go trekking, ride an elephant, adventure down the river, go on a night safari, and escape to the fairy-tale scenery of Cheow Larn lake. Our tree houses and bungalows blend into the surroundings, so you can enjoy the luxury of these charming houses while living at one with nature. We offer open aired, fan cooled room in keeping with our eco ethos as well as comfortable beds, western toilets and hot water showers. From your open deck, your room will look out over a clear stream to majestic limestone cliffs or jungle setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Jungle House Hotel Phanom
Our Jungle Hotel
Our Jungle Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing