We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveler rating
542
233
59
21
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
233
59
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake trip the river mango house half moon national park the cliff mosquito net eco lodge upstairs bar khao soi night safari half day hike overnight trip no hot water cheow lan lake elephant bathing raft houses
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 877 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Let’s start from the bottom line: it was one of the most beautiful places we’ve stayed at in Thailand, and it is highly recommended.

Now, from the top: the guesthouse is located a bit far from the main road. Add to this our late arrival and the fact it rained heavily and you’ll understand that our first impression was a little bit like “the end of the world”.

The treehouse we stayed in at first (hideaway suite) was a bit basic (although quite charming), but we didn’t have the chance to enjoy it since the roof began to leak on the bed about 30 minutes after we got in.
The manager (and owner), a cool guy named Austin, moved us to another room for the night, and the day after we got upgraded to a bigger, better treehouse with a great view (free of charge). The view from the terrace was awesome: a river beneath us and a huge cliff above us. The food in the guesthouse restaurant was very nice (try the unique banana blossom salad) but if you wish to go to other places near the park entrance bear in mind that it’s a long walk.
We also took a 2 day trip (booked from the guesthouse) to the lake – an amazing experience, highly recommended!! Finally, the staff had arranged a ride to Ko Samui via Surat Thani for us (through Samui tours) and we were picked up directly from the guesthouse.

All and all, I can say that despite a few minor ‘glitches’ along the way, the 4 days we spent here were great. The staff was very helpful and attentive, the rooms are simple and beautiful, and it is noticed that everything here was built in an ecological agenda in mind.
So, if you’re looking for a peaceful and pastoral place to sit back and relax, and don’t mind shower in cold water for a few days, this is the place for you. We loved it!

Room tip: Tree houses are highly recommended.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannysZ3189LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After driving for way longer than planned (as always in Thailand) we finally arrived at Our Jungle House. A series of high huts by a river. We were welcomed by the small staff present. The GM of the hotel is american and it was really comforting to be in the middle of the jungle and still being able to communicate in your language. This was our main concern at first. Queen bee, the cook, made us THE best Thai dishes of our holidays. It is not a luxury accommodation but all four of us had an amazing time while there. We went tubing down the river with the staff, went to the hot spring in that area and in the morning there were monkeys practically in our porch. I would definitely recommend this experience to families and friends who want to have a great time outdoors. The hotel concierge arranged our next stop which was sleeping on a floating lake house on the Khao Sok river. Also a very unforgettable time.
I would recommend to bring bug spray and your own flashlight. Because the hotel is on the very last end of the power line, sometimes the electricity falls out for a few minutes.

Room tip: There is no swimming pool. If I would go again, I would ask for a room closer to the restaurant and staff house. We were four girls and at night it was really scary walking to our hut because it gets really dark and lonely
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindseyidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We live on Koh Samui and decided on an weekend in the rainforest of Khao Sok. Great location on a small river/stream which is beside the cliff of the towering lime stone formation of southern Thailand.
There was a mix up with accommodation and we had required 2 tree houses on the waters edge but alas I ended up in a "cliff house" which I promptly nicked named the garden shed. The rooms are basic with cold showers and firm beds. Not sure why previous reviewers complain about bugs, which I didn't see any and they need to remember it is the rainforest.

Like other reviewers the bill at the end was a bit of a shock and we had to drive to the village to the only ATM which at the time only dispensed 100 baht notes and wouldn't allow a withdrawal of 10,000 baht so I had to drive 40 Klm (1 hour round trip) to the only other ATM in the area, so make sure you take plenty of money.

The weekend was meet with rain showers and my traveling companion decided to take her 3 year old on a canoe trip. The sun was shining but by the time they had traveled the 5 mins down the road it started to pour down and she, as a responsible mother canceled and they had the hide to charge her 500 of the 800 baht fee. Two other couples waited 1 1/2 hours to the storm to pass and then cancelled at no charge.

The staff and service was very good and was lovely chatting the Kim, Austin's Aunty.

Overall it was pleasant weekend away.

PS don't drink more than 3 very yummy frozen margaritas.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank TezzaTivakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It really is in the middle of the jungle. On arrival staff were really helpful and friendly and continued to be so the whole time. They were helpful with booking trips and these were all good. The food was nice and a reasonable price.

After our first night in the jungle, we had a problem with ants within the bed. After noting this to Bodi (the manager) he was quick to offer us a free upgrade to another type of accommodation. There are of course bugs everywhere in the jungle, so I would not recommend this if creepy crawlies are not your thing.

The bedding could do with an upgrade as there were many holes and stains on the bedsheets and the mattresses were incredibly hard. The mosquito nets also need replacing as these are very holey.

Our big disappointment with the jungle was our onwards transfer. Although it is not their fault they recommended this transfer and booked it on our behalf, assuring there were no problems previously. However, our transfer to Surat Thani town was fine, but after here we had to swap buses with no clear instruction of where we were going. On arrival of Koh Samui (our next destination) the coach proceeded to drive off the ferry and drop our luggage off in the middle of the road and continued to drive off, meaning we had to run after our luggage before it was stolen. We had paid for a transfer to the other side of the island and then to our hotel! We also believe that whilst our luggage was on the coach it was tampered with by the drivers, having clothes etc missing after this.

DO NOT USE SAMUI TOUR OR RAJA FERRY!!

Over all Our Jungle House was a wonderful experience and the staff were incredibly helpful and we really enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannonbarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed only 2 nights, but am definitely going to come back, once I get over my aversion to cold water showers. The cliff house I stayed in was great, and is comparable to mid range huts in the Fiji islands. I slept fine on the beds, and the mosquito net was definitely needed, with moths and frogs and all sorts in the room at night, which added to the experience. The staff were helpful and genuine, the lake trip was great, and we were served a fantastic lunch that we couldn't finish! Definitely got our money's worth there.

Regarding the other reviews about credit card payments, it clearly states on their website that they only accept cash, and if you use their internet on the laptops you can see why- they are literally in the jungle, far more in than all the other guesthouses, which are in the village. The toilets are fitted with a spray hose to be used before you wipe, as is the norm in Thailand to throw paper in the bins, not the toilet. The bathrooms are clean and open air, which is nice, and the seats on the porch gave a nice view to the limestone karsts on the opposite side of the river. Definitely recommend a flashlight for walking back from the village at night.The food at the restaurant was much better than that located in the village, but everywhere in Khao Sok is pricier than the Thailand average.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krazypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews