We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveler rating
494
215
55
18
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
215
55
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake trip the river mango house half moon national park half day hike the cliff mosquito net khao soi night safari overnight trip elephant bathing hot springs nature trail open air two nights raft houses
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 804 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Romance tree house for three nights. It had a big bathroom, nice balcony with the amazing view of the river and a big mosquito net for the bed. I am no hardcore camper and I was able to enjoy the treehouse. There were ants on the floor, Mosquitos and moths everywhere. We didn't see any lizards or monkeys. I felt safe sleeping under the mosquito net. We did the elephant trekking, canoe trip, lake day tour which include a cave tour. That was amazing!!! We also did the six hr hike at the national park. The food was amazing. You must try the pad Thai! And the main lobby/ restaurant/ bar had free wifi. You pay for everything at the end of your stay. All the meals, drinks, and tours. We privately arranged transportation with our jungle house. It was a bit pricey but we wanted a hassle free journey. I heard the public buses were unreliable and we didn't want to miss our flights.

Tip: if you want to get a massage, do it in the village. It costs 250 thaibaht. It's double the price at the jungle house.

Otherwise, I recommend this place and would stay here again.

Thank you Our Jungle House!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Our Jungle House in the beginning of February and it was wonderful. The staff is very friendly, the food was great, and you can't beat the cost. The actual tree house was very nice and exceeded my expectations. The only negative thing about the tree house was no hot water but it was really not that big of a deal. One of the best things about our time there was listening to all of the different jungle sounds while going to sleep.

We also did the Lake Tour excursion while we were there. This tour was very fun but beware that the lake tour involves an optional cave tour. The cave tour was fun but they do not mention any of the details of what the cave visit actually involves. We thought we were just going to walk into a cave and walk out. What we did was hike, swim, and climb in the cave. It was a great time but they instruct you to bring towels, extra clothes, etc. but keep in mind you have to haul all of that stuff through the cave! Also, have a water proof bag for the tour to prevent damage to your camera. Another good thing to have is a headlamp instead of a hand held flashlight. I am happy I went on the cave portion of the lake tour but I wished I was better prepared for it.

I would highly recommend Our Jungle House if you come anywhere near southern Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blitz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in middle o January and really enjoyed it! The accomodation was some of the best we stayed in during our holidays and it was fairly cheap.

In the end, the things we loved the most were the things we've seen other people complain about on here - things like animals coming to visit in your room (we had monkeys on our balcony and lizards on the ceiling), the noise of the animals and the open air bathroom / ceilings, the lack of fly screens (big beautiful windows with a full view ofthe cliffs and river), the relaxed attitude of bodhi and his staff and the location away from everything.

We stayed in the mango house (were upgraded from the Thai house we had booked) and did the elephant trek, hot springs and massages. All were great, but dissapponte we couldn't do the river tubing as the river was a little low but thankfully the reception lady let us know it wasn't really worth it at that time.

Thanks for a great visit and some brilliant chats bodhi and staff!

Just be aware that the buses from khao sok to the east (as woth most on thailand) aren't hugely reliable, we waited on a Sunday for 2.5 hours for a bus to Phuket.

Def recommend for anyone wanting a relaxing stay in beautiful surrounds - it took us about 3 days to adjust back after we left!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while doing excursions in the area. The little houses are excellent. Basic, but in very good condition and spotless. It is off the main road in Khao Sok, next to the river and so is a much quieter location than most of the others.

Food was good and very well priced. Staff all very friendly and helpful. The tour guides they used were all excellent - informative, talkative, etc.

Only points to note are that the beds are VERY hard and that there is not hot water. Although a cold water shower is very refreshing after a sweaty day.

Room Tip: There are a range of houses available - have a good look at the website and consider the size of your group and distance to the main facilities from the house.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tristan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

When first enquiring and booking our stay via email with Our Jungle House all emails were very quick, professional and friendly and it was easy to book our stay.

We arrived in Khao Sok from Surat Thani by Public Bus and then got a taxi from the bus drop off point to Our Jungle House.
We got a warm welcome from the American owner and our bags were carried up to our tree house. We had initially booked the Honeymoon Treehouse but I think the Hideaway and Honeymoon Treehouses are very simillar so we didn't mind.
We couldn't believe the view and location of the treehouse, from the balcony was the view of a huge cliff and the treehouse was situated next to a river. We were so excited!
All you can hear in the Jungle constantly is the loud sound of Cicadas and at night it sends you off to sleep nicely.
The treehouse was very large and had a big bathroom and small balcony. It was very clean and had a fan, electricity sockets and a large mosquito net.
The only thing that could have improved our stay was hot water in the shower but understandably it might be hard to have hot water in the jungle.
In the room a brochure of optional trips and activities were provided that could be booked at reception.
The restaurant food was very nice and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
The owner and other staff would often come over to chat whilst we had dinner.

We opted to do an elephant trek and it was our favourite trek whilst we were in Thailand. A car picks you up at your chosen time and takes you to the trek which is about 15minutes away. Although it cost a bit more than most elephant treks do in Thailand it was well worth it. My partner and I rode an elephant each for around 2hours through the forest and rivers, the scenery was incredible. It was an amazing experience, we even saw snakes on the trip! We had never ridden an elephant before and were a bit dubious as to whether the elephants would be treated well but you could tell the company cared for the animals properly.
Afterwards we fed them bannanas which was fun.

On our second night in the tree house a bat flew into our room but exited quite soon after. If staying at the treehouse it is a good idea to take some monsquito spray to use on yourself just in case and insects and animals may come into your room as you are staying in the wild after all.
Also I would recommend bringing a torch as it gets very dark at night, especially when walking back to your treehouse from the restaurant.
About 6am on the day we departed my partner and I were looking out of the window of our treehouse and saw monkeys playing on the cliff opposite. Slowly they gradually travelled over to the trees near to us and we ended up about 2 metres away from them. This was a once in a lifetime experience that we will never forget, seeing wild monkeys playing in the trees so close!

When leaving we needed to get to Khao Lak - about an hour away by car, we asked the owner if any taxis would be able to take us there directly as we had been messed aound with bus companies when getting to Khao Sok so wanted a hassle free journey. He soon arranged a taxi to take us there for a good price so we were very thankful!
Another good thing was that there was a laptop free to use by guests which came in handy for searching the internet.

We would definately stay at Our Jungle House again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hideaway Treehouse
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews