We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
485
213
54
18
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
213
54
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake tripthe rivermango househalf moonnational parkhalf day hikethe cliffmosquito netnight safarikhao soiovernight tripelephant bathinghot springsnature trailopen airtwo nightsraft houses
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 792 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed in November 2011 with our 2 kids (6 and 3) at the Half Moon Treehouse, all our accommodation arrangements were made on the move via email with no fuss as we were driving down from Bangkok direct to the resort.

It is an amazing place with an amazing setting and really helps you realise how much of the luxury stuff we normally encounter at resort hotels is so over the top and unnecessary.

Khao Sok is a location of stunning natural beauty and Jungle House being situated right on the Sok River does not disappoint. It's probably not for everyone as this is a real back to nature place with no aircon, no water heaters, no bright lights, no tv. Instead you have a series of incredible tree houses next to a shallow river where you sleep under mosquito nets with the windows open amidst the sounds of the jungle.

Daytimes you can swim or tube in the river, go on jungle treks or just chill out; the kids loved it and adapted instantly to the environment where they could explore all the jungle had to offer, perfect!

We will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: Half Moon Tree house was very good with a great view of the river and sound from the jungle.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JBFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We organised all our accommodation and transfers to Our Jungle House by email, all efficiently handled.
Our transfer from Phuket in an air conditioned minivan was punctual and a pleasant 3.5 hour drive to Khao Sok. The village of Khao Sok is small and services the tourist trade with restaurants, accommodation, laundry, ATM, etc. Our Jungle House is 15 mins from the village, perfect for those preferring a quiet time in spectacular surroundings. There is a mix of treehouses and bungalows, in a lovely eco friendly environment. Huge limestone cliffs, jungle, the Sok river, it's really amazing. Our treehouse had bunks and a queen bed, lovely bathroom, balcony. Super clean. Mosquito nets for nighttime. Fantastic to hear noises of the jungle, lizard in room, but still had the mod cons. Open air restaurant on premises is great, cheap and huge variety of food available eg crepes or muesli or Thai for breakfast, beautiful fresh fruit, even great coffee!! We ate there every meal, you pay at the end of your stay and it was unbelievably cheap for the quality. Staff are really friendly, they can organise day trips or excursions for you, we did the elephant trek which was great. Also lake cruises, tubing on river, jungle treks. This place deserves 3 days stay at least, to explore the area and do some organised trips ( If you enjoy nature, rather than shopping and bars). It does get warm here so sleep quality is a bit affected, but you do get used to it.

Room Tip: half moon treehouse sleeps 4, and is right by the enormous cliff and the river, so you hear gurgling water at night, very soothing. Wonderful balcony views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozzie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is the end of the world! The resort is the most far from all resorts along the street and behind. It’s located on the river right in front of a huge rock mountain. It’s widely spread in a park-alike area with a wonderful walkway through the jungle; actually, you don’t have to enter the costly National Park anymore, just walk through the resort.

Accommodation is very clean and everything is working and maintained. Decoration and condition is amazingly in an order. The host from the US and his wife are personally caring about the guests, absolutely friendly and helpful.

Many different houses, bungalows, tree houses etc. are offered, some far away from the main building, some right across. Choose whatever you like – they are all wonderful, romantic, nature-oriented. The restaurant offers good food for normal prices, a sunset bar offers great views to river and forest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Arriving to stay in a jungle we had no idea what we were in for and it ended up being the highlight of our trip. We were welcomed by the friendliest staff with a great sense of humour. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Such a great place to stay in an incredible environment. Make sure you tube down the river with 2 of the locals. They are sure to make the journey a funfilled one. This place is a must stay especially if you are travelling from Phuket to Koh Phangan. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms were great but maybe opt for the high risen ones up in the trees to really experience the jungle at its best
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeccaAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed in Half Moon tree house with our 2 children and really enjoyed it. The accommodation was simple but clean and comfortable - we felt 'safe' under our mosquito nets. Plenty big enough for 4 of us with huge verranda overlokking the river and cliff face with lots of wild monkeys visible. Bathroom also fine for a (cold) shower. The tree house was very secluded and quiet, Restaurant was very nice with tasty food; could be a little slow on occasions, but hey we're in the jungle! Friendly staff. Slightly pricey activities but very good - we did a half day guided hike in the NP, tubing down the river (great fun) and a full day tour of the lake which was superb (great scenery, lovely place to swim and let the kids let off steam, plus really good trek into the cave (you get VERY wet!). All in all very good, thankyou.

Room Tip: Half Moon was ideal for a family = double bed plus a pair of bunks for the kids.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews