We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
485
213
54
18
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
213
54
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake tripthe rivermango househalf moonnational parkhalf day hikethe cliffmosquito netnight safarikhao soiovernight tripelephant bathinghot springsnature trailopen airtwo nightsraft houses
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 792 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our Jungle House is in a nice location, don't get me wrong. Its a beautiful site to walk out on to your balcony and see the river and forest right on your front door step. Khao Sak is truly a beautiful place. This hotel however was a little below what I was expecting, given that I was staying in one of the more expensive rooms. The bed was rock hard, and very uncomfortable, and there was no hot water. That usually isn't a big issue, but given I'd stayed in cheaper places with hot water, I thought that wasn't so great. The food is delicious. The staff were helpful enough, although they weren't too familiar with transport info. The info they gave us was wrong and we ended up waiting for a bus for over 2 hours. We also noticed that the hotel puts a pretty significant mark-up on prices for activities. Its cheaper to simply walk 30 mins into the town and organise your trips from there. Overall, it was an alright stay, but given the price, I expected better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

this place is not as good as it looks or sounds. expensive compared to othere places in the area and in need of some serious maintenance. If you do stay here, be warned, Monkeys visit room, so be sure to lock away your valubles before u venture out!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sega1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Contrary to some other reviews on this site, the location is not so great. Our Jungle House is actually pretty far from the national park entrance. Most other resorts on the area have a much better location.

The girl in the reception is awesome. She as very friendly and helpful and gave us the best service of our whole trip to Thailand. Service at the restaurant on the other hand was less great. Seems like they don't have the tables numbered, which led to many orders getting. We saw that happen multiple times, either to us or someone else, during those few days. Food quality was slightly above average.

Our Jungle House is basically located in the middle of a jungle, which is why you will encounter all kinds of nasty bugs. We had ants, geckos, cockroaches, flying cockroaches etc. Worst part was when we, in the middle of the night, found a big insect crawling on top of our mosquito net. At first I thought it was a spider, but when I had a closer look, it was actually a scorpion! Neither of us had ever encountered a scorpion, so we thought it was best not to be Indiana Jones and contact the staff. By the time the staff representatives came, the scorpion had disappeared and was nowhere to be found. They of course didn't believe us, and said we had seen a gecko or something, which was pretty annoying because we do know the difference between a gecko and a scorpion. Luckily we eventually found the scorpion hiding under the bed. Apparently there are two kinds of scorpions in the area, and this particular one was the more dangerous type. Our scorpion was relatively small, but had it been larger, it could have been really dangerous.

One one hand it's nice to sleep in the middle of a jungle, but on the other hand it's not that great to have to deal with all kinds of different bugs every time you need to use the toilet. If bugs are not your thing, stay out of this hotel. If you don't mind poisonous scorpions running around where you sleep, I guess you could give this place a try.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NordicPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and it was the best hotel we stayed at in Thailand. Although there is no hot water, no glass in the windows or air conditioning (which we knew at the time of booking) it was a very good location, service we recieved and good food more than made up for this.

We stayed in a tree house which was literally among the forest, unlike other hotels we saw which had made a clearing for their hotel. One morning monkeys travelled through the tree which our tree house was located on which was amazing.

It is very dark - make sure you bring a torch. There is not very much to do in the evening as you expect in the jungle - but after a long days walking it is quite nice to sit in the bar and read a book.

There is free internet access - which is useful and unexpected in the middle of the jungle.

The hotel organised an elephant trech - which was brilliant, a night safari which was also worth doing and a minibus to take us to Surat Thani airport.

You have to pay to enter the national park (200b per person for 24 hours), which is about 15 minute walk from the hotel.

We made our own way here from Phuket bus station. We got a bus heading for Surat Thani which stopped at the entrance to the Kho Sok National Park. It took about 4 hours and cost 350 b per person. There are locals waiting at the bus stop to take you to your hotel - should cost no more than 50b.

We gave a score of 2 for sleep, only because the jungle is very loud, lots of interesting noises. This is no fault of the hotel - rather what is to be expected in the jungle and adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Good points:

- Rooms are as good / clean as you could hope for in the jungle
- Decent food at the restaurant

Bad points:

- Tree houses are much more expensive than cliff houses, but cliff houses are bigger and have better bathrooms. The only downside to them is they aren't raised off the ground, so with a treehouse you're paying more to have less insects / lizards.
- Staff can often seem unhappy to help
- Long walk (30 - 45 mins) to the park entrance
- They arrange taxi's for you but charge over 30% more than the going rate. You're better off arranging them elsewhere.
- Staff at reception give information on tours that conflicts with the big posters next to them, so you're never sure what is correct.
- No hot water

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcobbold123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews