We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night as part of a longer honeymoon trip. It was definitely one of our a favorite places. The large tent that we stayed in was built up high and provided breathtaking views of the jungle surrounding the area. It was nice to just sit right outside of the tent to enjoy the peace, quiet, and beauty that Khao Sok had to offer.

Inside the tent was also a nice surprise. It was surprisingly spacious (for a tent) and very clean. I loved having ac and wifi access. The bathroom was nice because it felt like I was partly outdoors. Bamboo style walls were used for the shower and toilet part of the bathroom.

The loved the restaurant that was on the property. The food there was some of the best that I've eaten in Thailand. The scenery from the restaurant was also amazingly beautiful.

I would love to come back here and stay at these Boutique Camps again. What a memorable place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Tracy C
What a great to know you were enjoy during your stay with us. As I always said, we love to hear your though and all your feedback is meaningful to all of us at Khaosok Boutique Camps. BTW, congratulations and wish you a very happy couple. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    72
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed two nights at the beautiful Khao Sok Discovery Boutique Camp. Once you drive up the steep narrow driveway to the camp, you are rewarded with the most spectacular views from everywhere. The accommodation is large tents that are air-conditioned and very clean, with its own balcony. There is a bamboo style bathroom and separate toilet. The views from the tent are beautiful, especially early morning and sunset. It does not feel like a tent, more like an 'African-style' lodge. The kids really enjoyed the tent. The little restaurant is a short walk from the tents and perched up high on a terrace that provides more spectacular views. The food is great and the staff are friendly and accommodating. If you want an unique, beautiful, peaceful and nature experience, we highly recommend staying at the Khao Sok Discovery Boutique Camp.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Sak R
It is great to hear your though and a great feedback from you. Our staff would be very much happy to know your appriciation from thier effort. Thank you for chosen us for your holiday at Khaosok and expected to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights with a friend. We wanted something different, close to nature, relaxing and to do activities without driving 2+ hours each time.

They are located about 10 minutes from town and help book activities, drop you off, pick you up, get you a poncho(raincoat). All the staff are friendly, some have limited english but patience or explaining differently and we always got there and had a good laugh. Organised transfer and were punctual and clean!

The food was very good. We ate thai options and they were fresh, well sized, delicious. They have a real coffee maker now and was certainly better than instant. They are still learning in this but one girl made a great coffee.

Rooms were very good. Clean and spacious. Dont fool yourself they are tents, so sure you can get a little noise from others but we found other guests polite on this front. We used the air con twice just for short periods and only slept with the fan on but also left the heavy canvas open. Beds comfy, views amazing. Our hot water didnt work but its warm enough. They needed to replace it but again- not a big deal for us. No safe but I had no issues trusting anyone here.

They run electricity with generators. It went out once on our first afternoon but not for longer than 5 minutes. yes, they have wifi. It stopped working for me for a couple of days but it was not a big issue. Enjoyed being at nature and the peace of it all. They were clearly still developing areas and do a very good job of it.

Location is gorgeous! Guests were pleasant to talk with and I would absolutely stay again. One night is not enough to relax and enjoy it all. Lots of stairs to keep you fit too but to be expected on a hillside.

Activities- all were very very good. If you do the lake with trek to a cave I highly recommend waterproof sandals/ reef shoes. Regular thongs not suitable. Loved the nature walk and our guide.

We took a deck of cards too keep us amused as well.

Had so much fun and appreciate the staff and how attentive they were. I was sad to leave.

Thank you so much!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Celene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Celene Bell
Thank you very much for your time to give us a great feedback and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are currently using a public eletricity supply from Provincial Electricity Authority PEA but, back up generator will be used when it black out. As in Khaosok area is offen happening. We acknowledged of the Wifi was off for days due to the router was broken and it was replaced.

Futhermore, we would like to inform. Now we have installed the better electric system to aviod an effect to an electric appliance when the main supply was interupted.
Thank you and expect to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

On my trip to Khao Sok National Park. This is a hidden gem.

Everything was perfect during my stay. Air-con worked perfectly well. The nets kept the flies and mosquitoes out. Water kettle, fridge, coffee and tea, towels were in good supply. Hot water shower out in an extended but attached washroom was great too.

No TV was the best part of this camp stay. I was occupied by the nature, sounds and view anyway. Perfect view of the Khao Sok National Park right at your tent. A great place to relax and away from the city.

Might not be so suitable for children and old folks since there are no recreation or play area. The steps to the tents are steep.

Food was served at the reception. Can't complain since its the only place available. Although the price can be doubly compared to a decent restaurant in town.

What the camp lack-of probably is recreation. Maybe the management should do a little what Taiwanese do, some BBQ activities, social events for the guests during the stay in the evening when its pitch dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a close to the reception room. It has a great panoramic view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Png
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Angela_Png

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the resort. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to see you again.

Your recommend is great. We now prepare for an area for some acivity in the resort.

Thank you from Khaosok Boutique Camps's Team

Sonthaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed two nights to visit the dam (which is about another 1 1/2 hours away) If you have considerate neighbours, it is a very peaceful, laid back place. Lovely veiws from your terrace and the tent was comfortable enough. They class themselves as 'luxury' and yes, your tent has airconditioning (even though the electric cut out at 10.30 one night and didn't come on until 6.am the next morning - hot!)and you have a bathroom attached, but there is something missing for it to be luxury, which I can't quite put my finger on. Maybe the small touches, for example to provide a safe, real coffee; not instant and binoculars in the tent. We ate two breakfasts and two dinners at the camp which were ok. A limited Thai menu, but they did'nt have banana, mango, bacon, shrimp or prawn for dishes I asked for which made it even more limited. It's certainly different but needs improvement to catch that 'luxury' clientele.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly74_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Shelly74_21 Thank you for your feedback, and opologize for the inconvenience may have during your stay. Your feedback is valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stunning views and wildlife voices, clean and tidy hotel. The luxury tents are a superb experience. Great to watch sun drop behind the mountains. Staff members are very warm and welcoming.
As this place is very quiet and the tents are superthin, if someone is loud, everyone else in the camp will be disturbed. You'd have to consider that. I definately recommend this hotel for natural experience!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Trikikaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Trikikaru
Thank you for taking your time writing us with your detailed feedback, this is very much appreciated the review and all of our staff was happy to hear your though.

We are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great comments about our staff service.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sonthaya Amloi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here two nights but we booked an extra night because this place is excellent! From Surat Thani we took a direct taxi to Khaosok (1600 baht). Discovery Boutique Camps is built on a unique location on top of a hill, 10 minutes driving from Khaosok village and the entrance of the National Parc. It's build by a Thai architect (also the owner) with a great eye for detail and aesthetic. It feels like staying in an 'Africa-style' lodge, it's luxurious but it still has the feeling of a camp site. The tents are big and airconditioned. The bed is good and you also have your own bamboo style bathroom with a privat toilet! In the morning you wake up with a nice view and in the evening you can see the sunset and hear the sounds from the jungle on your own balcony. Breakfast is very good, a lot to choose from and the personnel is very friendly. The lunch and diner on the menu are good and the prices are okay. The Thai food we had was excellent and we also enjoyed the fruit shakes and club sandwich for lunch. The vegetation at Discovery Boutique Camps is realy nice. You can book several daytrips to Khaosok National Parc and it's no problem to travel to Khaosok if you want, the friendly people will bring you there any time... This is the place to be if you visit Khaosok and want to relax and have the best view in the area. Oh yeah, at the moment they are busy building a swimming pool so you can cool down after your jungle tour :-) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a bit more privacy and a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ADTR1PPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaosokdiscovery, Manager at Khaosok Boutique Camps, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear R0ADTR1PPER
Thank you for your stayed with us from Khaosok Boutique Camps team. We are glad to serve you during your holiday and expected to see you again in the future please come to enjoy the pool......Best wishes from Khaosok Discovery Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Sok National Park hotels
3.6 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.9 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.7 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
#5 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.6 mi away
Khao Sok Good View Resort
Khao Sok Good View Resort
#1 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Khao Sok & Spa
Hotel Khao Sok & Spa
#4 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosok Boutique Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosok Boutique Camps

Property: Khaosok Boutique Camps
Address: 47 Moo 5 | Khlong Sok Subdistrict, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaosok Boutique Camps 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide simply comfortable tents. You can spend time and find a new experience with nature. Wonderful mountain location. Watch the sun rise and set over the Mountains and enjoy a fresh and relaxing atmosphere every morning. Tourism is a part of life that we all can remember with a feeling of happiness inspired by nature. A beautiful terrain is important for good tourism. A forest should have several kinds of plants and animals and also picturesque mountain scenery. In the south of Thailand there is a large forest known as " Khao Sok". Khao Sok is a beautiful national park and is home to many kinds of plants and animals. The landscape is suitable for varioustourism activities. We can say that "It is a land of beautiful nature". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaosok Boutique Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing