We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was one of the toughest hotels to rate during my recent vacation in Thailand. We experienced extreme variation in the level of services, coupled with some unintended misfortunate events (which we sincerely believe would not have happened if the hotel had a documented standard procedures manual). I will first start with check-in which took us 2 hours (we arrived by 10:30am and checked in by 12:30pm), the delay was due to a sudden drop in the staff due to two resignations the day before. During those two hours we were not offered a welcome drink (which is unusual in Thailand). The deluxe tree house is really wonderful, new and clean, but lacked a safe box. The F&B was excellent and fairly priced. The location is great. During our 2 night stay our room was not made up (due to staff shortage), booking for our transportation to Krabi was overlooked (but an alternative private minivan was provided with no additional burden to us), and finally we had to leave without our passports due to Eric’s being out of town during our check out (he kindly and thoughtfully brought it to us in person on the same day at Koh Jum). This place has the potential of being one of Thailand’s best hotels if the staff had the same attitude and commitment expressed by Eric (owner), who actually went beyond the limits to satisfy his clientele, and his professional courtesy is quite remarkable. The Chiew Larn lake day tour was the highlight of our trip, a must do if you are Khao Sok. Forget about the night safari, just a waste of time and money, you will not get to see anything.
The four stars question, would we come back? Yes we will, hoping that we will be luckier next time!

Room Tip: The deluxe tree house was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, Managing Director at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Relaxism,

Greetings from Khao Sok and thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Indeed we had some challenges with our housekeepers last month 3 of them left in a sudden and we found ourselves short of staff.
As a result the rest of our staff had to help to make up the rooms and it affected our service quality.
I personally apologize for the inconvenience; things are back to normal now.
Please note that our check in time is time is one and check out time is noon, so in case you arrive in the early morning of a busy day, it might be that will you have to wait until 1 PM to check in if no other rooms are available as it is the case in any other Resort around the world.
We have now placed digital safe deposits in all our rooms as you recommended.
I do realized that this resort has more than a lot of potential, unfortunately I’m not always around to conduct training in order to improve the service, since I also manage other properties, this is why we have hired James last week.
James is a professional butler who will come twice a week in order to train our service staff and housekeepers.
I really love this place and wish to see it as Khao Sok finest Tree House Resort.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Limbos

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 443 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Khao Sok was a surprise package and the tree house even more. They picked us up at Phuket airport, the van was not too nice. But the place is really pretty and they dish out good food. Its a very home stay feel with only 3 ladies and a guy running the show. We really liked their hospitality and they went out of their way to help us with the tours and our future travels.

We were apprehensive earlier thinking the rooms were too cheap for a honeymoon but on the contrary we had a very beautiful time. The canoe ride and the restaurants nearby were the highlight.

If we go back to Thailand we will surely go there.

Room Tip: Jungle Deluxe tree house is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, M.D at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Sandnya,

Thank you so much on behalf of the Khao Sok Paradise Resort for this nice review and for sharing your feed back about the Resort staff and the food.
We are glad that you found the property so enjoyable and the staff friendly.
We would like to send your regard to all of them on your behalf and encourage them to keep the good work

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back at the Khao Sok Paradise Resort.

Best regards,

Eric Limbos

Managing Director
Khao Sok Paradise Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked three nights and stayed five in the end. We had one of the "deluxe" tree houses and found it very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were charming and very helpful.
Hint: if you take "the cave trip" wear some good walking shoes that you are happy to immerse in water!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob-Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, M.D at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear. Stephanie,

Greetings from the Khao Sok evergreen forest and thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to know you enjoyed the Khao Sok paradise Resort so much that you extended you stay.
The Deluxe Tree Houses are by far the most comfortable tree houses in Khao Sok, those Tree Houses have large balconies with sun beds, aircon, ceiling fans, latex mattresses for a great night sleep, design bathrooms with a rain shower, teak wood interiors ,free WiFi internet and a stunning view on the Khao Sok mountains.
Our staff is by far our most valuable asset and they contribute to the popularity of our Resort every day.
Indeed you are right; the Lake trip includes the exploration of the Nam Talu cave as well as a one and a half hour nature educational trek through the rain forest.
The Nam Talu cave is often flooded and the educational trail can be a bit slippery when it rains, therefore we always recommend our guests not to go on that trip with slippers.
Closed shoes that can get wet, a swimming suite, a flash light, a towel and some good sun block as well as mosquito repellent will be needed for that trip.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in Khao Sok.

Warm regards,

Eric Limbos

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a minor problem on our way to Khao Sok Paradise in that our pick up from the port in Phuket was late and we had neglected to write down the phone number of the resort. We waited an hour and then decided to find an internet cafe in order to contact them to find out the delay. It turned out the driver was stuck in traffic but he soon found us and got us on our way to Khao Sok with no further drama. A simple apology would've sufficed but the friendly staff ('Nut & Theeranuch') went above and beyond the call of duty and made us a superb complementary meal upon our arrival. They proceeded to look after us so well that we felt really at home in the few days we spent there.

We booked a full day trip though the hotel and it was outstanding. The trip was a full day lake trip which involved a speedboat ride on a stunning lake in order to get into the national park. A great lunch on a floating raft, followed by kayaking and then a trek into the jungle and into a cave. The whole day was exciting and fun, the guide was really friendly and helpful and we returned to the hotel at the end of the day thoroughly exhausted but totally buzzing from all that we'd seen and done.

Theeranuch is the cook and she is unbelievably good (best green curry I've ever had) and Nut is front of house and was so friendly and helpful that we were sad to say goodbye when we left.

The Tree houses were modest but very clean and comfortable and at a brilliant price for the level of service and standard. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. The only small issue was the strange grey concrete walls and floor in the bathroom. There was no problem with it at all and it was perfectly clean but it did make it feel a bit dark and dingy. Such a small point that it made no problem whatsoever. If you're thinking going then stop thinking and just do it.. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, M.D at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Ms. Lynch,

Greetings from sun shining Khao Sok and thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisosor.
I personally apologize for our driver being late; there were a lot of new year check pints on the high way to Phuket that day and M (our driver) got stacked in the traffic jam.
I ‘m also glad to hear that the Resort staff took action and that you enjoyed a nice complimentary dinner in our Jungle Restaurant.
The full day lake trip is certainly the tour to take, if you are visiting khao Sok and don’t have have much time to spend in the national park
The Chiew Larn emerald waters have a lot to offer, I personally always enjoy having a fresh beer on the raft houses while my sons are exploring the surrounding island by canoe.
It seems like more and more guests or going for our Green curry, the green curry, in Thai: “Geang Kiew Waan” is a southern dish, but my heart still beats for the Massamun curry “Geang massaman”, which is a curry served with potatoes and onions and if you like it sweet, you can even add some pineapples to it.
Cleanliness, comfort, excellent service and amazing food is our aim in order to give you the best possible tree house experience.
You stayed with us, in one of our standard tree houses, those comfortable tree houses have a stunning view on the khao Sok national park, but I do agree with you regarding the bathroom walls, this is why we are now planning to renovate all standard tree houses during this coming season.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you at the Khao Sok Paradise Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Limbos

Managing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the paradise resort at the start of our holiday in Thailand. We loved our stay here. Lovely friendly staff, great food (my husband said it was the best green curry of our trip) and the treehouses are fantastic. The owners helped us booked our trips and also our onward transfer. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsTearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, M.D at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Tearne,

On behalf of the Khao Sok Paradise Resort, I wish to thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read you LOVED IT )

Thanks for your husband tip, it seems like more and more people or going for our green curry, but my heart still goes for the Massaman curry.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in Our beautiful national park.

Best regards,

Eric Limbos

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I had a very enjoyable two night stay at Khao Sok Paradise Resort. We booked one of the standard tree houses, and found it to be charming, clean and offered exactly the experience we were looking for. We really loved our two days in the heart of nature. Botan, the manager, is so welcoming and helped us make the most of our two days in the area. She arranged the booking for the tour of the national park, and the taxi to the train station on the day we left. The food at the restaurant was absolutely superb, and our only regret is that we were unable to partake in Botan's Thai cookery course as we didn't have enough time. We would love to go back. Thanks so much to Botan and the staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, M.D at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Bearagirl,

Greetings from The Khao Sok National park and thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
I’m glad to know you were charmed by your Tree house Experience, as well as by the different expeditions and tours organized by the Paradise Resort.
Botan, our chef, gives you her regards, and hope she will be able to welcome you back soon, to teach you the secrets of the Thai Cuisine.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Limbos,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We only stayed a weekend but had a very relaxing time along with a bit of adventure. Very friendly staff helped us book a day trip to the lake and a jungle hike. The bungalows are quaint and ours had a nice view of the jungle and nearby foothills. Overall a great value for the money!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RyanD374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, Managing Director at Khao Sok Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Ryan,

On behalf of the Khao Sok Paradise Resort, I wish to thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to hear, you enjoyed your stay with us.
One of our goals, is try to keep our prices reasonable, to make the national park available to everybody and to offer the best value for money in Khao Sok.
We hope we will have the chance, to welcome you back at the Paradise Resort soon.

Warm regards,

Eric Limbos

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
1.8 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#7 of 11 in Phanom
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khaosok Rainforest Resort
Khaosok Rainforest Resort
#9 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Paradise Resort

Address: 119 Moo 6 | Klongsok, Khao Sok National Park, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $29 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-resort is situated in a privately owned area, quiet and peaceful. You will be welcomed by our friendly staff. We offer distinctive leisure activities such as the Chiew larn lake trip, jungle treks, elephant treks,canoeing, jungle survival trips and much more. Let us be part of your unforgettable experience in Thailand and make the journey of your lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Khao Sok Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Paradise Hotel Khao Sok National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing