We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience near the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here for several nights and really enjoyed the location. Francisco and his wife were gracious hosts who were willing to arrange for us any of the tours that we desired within the rainforest. We did a night hike and hired a boat and guide for the day on the lake. It was fabulous - we even saw a wild Asian elephant along the shore. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance of the resort, so even though it borders the Khao Sok rainforest, there are a multitude of options for eating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meadow357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 480 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were slightly disappointed with Las Orquideas - only because of the fantastic reviews we had seen on Trip Advisor.

First of all there were plenty of positives. Sisco and Nee were fantastic hosts - very helpful and friendly and did everything they could to make us welcome. The hotel had lovely grounds which were well kept and a good location. Breakfasts were good.

On the downside, the room was expensive for this location compared to others we saw. It felt damp from the humidity (and this was in the dry season!) and it was small with only enough room for the bed. There was nowhere to hang or keep clothes so we had to live out of our bags. There is no air con, only a fan. All the facilities (bar, breakfast, pool) are at Siscos new hotel about 1-2km away which means that everything focuses around there. Whilst someone was always on hand to provide a shuttle between the two this wasn't idea.

Overall, perfectly pleasant stay and no major gripes but don't understand the overwhelmingly positive reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olive1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francisco t, Owner at Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Olive,

On behalf of the Khao Sok Paradise Resort, I wish to thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I’m myself surprised about your review, knowing that all our villas have air conditioners.
I offer all my guest to use the swimming pool at the Hotel Khao Sok, free of charge since we don’t have a swimming pool at the las orquideas Resort, this is an additional service provided to our guests, don’t take me wrong we certainly don’t try to concentrate on the Hotel Khao Sok.
Khao Sok is the most humid place in Thailand, no surprise, we are located at the top of a mountain in the middle of the rainforest, and yes it’s also humid in the dry season, and it’s the same in all other hotels in Khao Sok.
We don’t believe we are expensive, we have won a best bargain award from Trip Advisor, but we do believe that quality has a price.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back at the Las Orquideas Resort.

Best regards,

Sisco and Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Greeted by our host, Francisco. He knew our name and anticipated our arrival. He escorted us to our Chalet atop the steep hill and gave excellent advice about the area, and tour activities. Despite having his own delightful restaurant, he suggested Restaurant Pawn as an alternative. Excellent advice, we alternated meals!

Despite our desires to see certain things, Francisco advised us which attractions were less desirable and made suggestions to maximize our vacation experience!

The room was clean and well maintained, (despite not having a latch on the bathroom door). A small detail that barely deserves mention....

The pool at our resort was damaged and un-usable, so Francicso shuttled us to his other resort to enjoy that pool facility! A delightful and gracious touch. He also arranged every tour and activity and ensured they were exactly on time to pick us up!

Located very close to restaurants and the Mini-Mart, a brilliant place to stay....

Room Tip: Clever travel tip. Always keep your resort number handy, drivers may not know your destination but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

After our trip of 28 hours by train and bus from Chiang Mai and a scam by minibus 'The Phantip Company' and driving like crazy, we arrived late at las orquideas.
Francisco (the owner) gave us a warm welcome and directly showed some nice restaurants to go to.
During our visit, he and his wife helped us finding some nice activities.

They are there when you need them, but you can at the same time have your own, individual, stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart_Zuidgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived too early which was our fault completely. It was too early in the morning. We met Cisco who suggested he take us to his new resort 2 minutes away and have a swim in the pool and perhaps lunch in his restaurant. We were so hot and this was a wonderful surprise. We enjoyed ourselves so much in his spotless pool that he asked whether we would like to stay at this resort instead of the Orchideas that we originally had booked into. It was called Khao Sok Hotel and Spa. We took one look and say no more. Yes please. Cisco and his beautiful wife Nee have done a wonderful job with this new resort. Lovely decor, each bungalow set in a garden atmosphere. The breakfast was more than adequate. Fruit, juice, eggs, pancakes .... you name it, its there. Rooms were beautifully quiet and the beds really comfortable. We decided on using their massage facilities. My husband is very fussy about a "strong" massage as most are not strong enough. We left very happy. The masseurs were excellent. Niko was a little bit sick one day and Nee made him a special rice soup a few times. How thoughtful! What a wonderfully sweet person she is. It was also Loi Krathong (full moon), so Nee arrived with a most beautiful traditional basket with flowers and candles so that we could join in the festivities and float it down the river. I felt overwhelmed at such kindness. I know that this second resort is still very new but the only thing I could recommend as an improvement is the airconditioning in the room. We felt that it could have been cooler. But I'm sure that this will be fixed soon enough. Cisco hadnt organised WiFi yet as the resort was just opening. However he suggested I use his computer whenever I liked. Which I did.

Room Tip: All beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. Nee and Sisco's hospitality is such that you feel part of the family. We arrived quite late in the evening and Sisco very kindly gave us a quick tour around the village then dropped us off in time to catch last orders in one of the local restaurants.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the village. And a further few minutes walk to the entrance of the national park.

We travelled with two kids and had a family room, double downstairs and twin upstairs. The rooms, each of which are stand alone buildings, are very tastefully done, extremely comfortable, and set amongst beautiful gardens. Bathrooms are modern and very clean.

We lingered a bit too long the next morning so we missed out on having a wide choice of trips to do. Nee arranged for us to go tubing on the river . This is an hour and a half of leisurely floating down the river starting from the village. We were accompanied by a great chap who acted as our guide and was brilliant with the kids. This was great value. We floated under trees where monkeys played not five foot above us. Plenty of Kingfishers to be seen too.

After that Sisco kindly took us to their new hotel which will open soon. It is set in beautiful grounds with a fantastic view of mountain peaks and has a great pool. Rooms look to be of a high standard and there will be a restaurant and bar. We're looking forward to visiting, I can see myself after a long days trekking cooling down in the pool with an ice cold Singha!

Next day Nee organised a day long trip to Cheow Larn lake. This was a great day out, sightseeing around the lake with its amazing recent history and mountain peaks jutting out from the water. Good swimming, lunch and a forest trek to caves in higher lakes. I was stunned by the absence of bird life around the lake.

Nee's breakfasts are a great chance to catch up and plan the day's activities. I'd certainly recommend the banana pancakes!

As for food locally? Well there is a reasonable choice. However we found Pawn's and for the 2 dinners and one lunch we had we ate there. Great value, lovely friendly service and the food was delicious.

Two days is not enough in Khao Sok. Cheow Larn lake, tubing, forest trekking, elephant trekking, just hanging out in the village, plenty to do. We have been to southern Thailand quite a number of times wih the kids. We normally do a four centre tour. Next time we'll be reducing the number of centres and spending some more time away from the beaches and closer to nature. I can't wait.

We need to be a bit fussy when we travel with kids. Nee and Sisco's hotel was perfect for us and the ratings are well deserved. I wish them well with their new venture.







Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a good little resort in Khao Sok with hosts who do go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. They booked all our activities and transport on to Koh Surat Thani (and when we were late on the day we were leaving even got the minubus to come back for us!). The only things stopping me giving it a 5 were that the swimming pool was not in use and we weren't aware of this, it was one of the reasons for booking and I would've loved a dip after getting back from our lake trip. Also there were alot of places to stay in Khao Sok and I got the impression this was alot more expensive. We did the tubing down the river, overnight lake tour and canoeing trip - all recommended and all booked with Nee at the resort. Great detour from the beached and islands and a nice place to stay. Nice clean rooms and lovely gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
1.9 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 9 in Khao Sok National Park
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 9 in Khao Sok National Park
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Phanom
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#6 of 9 in Khao Sok National Park
16 reviews
3.9 mi away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 20 in Khao Sok National Park
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khaosok Rainforest Resort
Khaosok Rainforest Resort
#8 of 9 in Khao Sok National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort

Address: 343 Moo 6, Khao Sok National Park, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $42 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be surprised by our Thai style bungalows...of Thai aesthetics, but with European comfort inside. They are on the edge of the jungle, and the panoramic windows allow you to feel it and live it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Hotel Khao Sok National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing