We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
49
17
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
17
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews book your tours elephant tour jungle camp close to nature tree house air conditioning the river cheow lan lake hot water one night mosquito net national park day trip two nights khao soi treehouse fan
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 72 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

We stayed for 4 nights in April. We had come from a big resort at Khao Lak to here and it was perfect. We stayed in the two storey treehouse (Monkey Treehouse) with our three small children (2,4,7) The treehouse itself was awesome. You sleep under mozzi nets and there is basically paper thin bamboo walls, so there is no aircon BUT you are in the jungle for a jungle experience so you soon get used to the heat. The sheets and towels are clean and the huts clean. Coming from a big resort, we felt that this was a 'real' Thai experience for the kids... the big resorts could be in any major western city, but this little resort offered the perfect balance - western comforts (clean white towels and comfy beds) but in a treehouse, sleeping under mozi nets that is surrounded by monkeys, noisy frogs and fire flies! Amazing!
We booked activities each day - as there is not much to do at the actual resort. There is no pool, but a river which runs right by. We spent each free moment swimming in there. The food is great and well priced and I think we eat them out of mangoes! Make sure you pack card games... each night was spent playing Uno before dinner.
We did the caneoing trip and the full day lake tour, which was offered by the resort. Both great and worth while - be warned with the lake tour. The 'hike' actually ends with canyoning.... def a experience to remember with small kids!

We did find our own elephant experience - which we thoroughly recommend; Sonchana Farm & Elephant Sanctuary. Amazing experience and if you book direct you get the elephant, Sonboon all to yourself.. you prepare his food, feed him then give him a bath. We also did a cooking class here.... REALLY good. Beautiful family.

Travelling with children, heading to a big resort to get used to the changes in culture, then coming here was the right thing for us. Meant that the kids were open to new things and were confident as things were a little rougher. Might have been a bit of a culture shock if we came here first.
The resort being only 12 months old was set up and is currently managed by an Australian guy and his family. Being Australian, the little things that matter to Westerners when you are in a different country are spot on.
No wifi in the rooms, but free wifi in the restaurant. If you have trouble with noise, take ear plugs as the frogs are noisy at night - gorgeous but noisy. Will only bother you first night, as just like a noisy plane, you get used to it.
Also about 10 min walk into Khoa Sok and the National Park entry. Lots of bush walks and swimming holes to explore - be warned, the distance given for some walks are wrong! We did a "2km" walk to a particular waterfall, but it was more like 8km return. #dying
if you are heading to Khao Sok, this is the only place to stay!!

Room Tip: Our room was the river facing treehouse. Right under the tree where the monkeys lived, so we had daily visitors.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank amberware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

We recently visited with our 3 year old and staying in the single story tree house. It's was nice. It's really hot at night and you need to use the mosquito net while you sleep..the only problem with that is the fan can't get through the net...So it's uncomfortable. We had a great time seeing all of the monkeys in the morning, we also did the elephant tour and the canoe tour, which were great. The hotel charge you 7% VAT on everything - room, food and tours. Be careful. We didn't realise and our bill was huge. Also they only take cash there (We didn't know)...which made it difficult. Thankfully the manager there offered for us to pay via PayPal - we had to add 5% to the total bill though to do this.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed my time at Koh Sok, and staying at our jungle camp made the jungle experience a lot more enjoyable. We stayed in a single story treehouse...the foxtail house (looks so cool), couldn’t fault the bed, bathroom or anything to do with accommodation (apart from the loud animals all night but that’s all part of it!!). I am 100% sure either one of the maids pinched my honey facemask (about £2 from U.K in a little packet lol) which I was hoping to use at some point on my travels...unless it was a monkey lol (they do warn you about monkeys pinching food...not facemasks though). Anyway, good experience & always amazing food with lots of choice at the hotel restaurant. Waitresses ALWAYS bring out mains before starters...even when we specified...maybe order opposite way around?! Also, they add a 7% service charge onto everything you book / pay for through the hotel. So like room, food, trips. They don’t make this clear on arrival or when booking but apparently (when we queried it) it IS outlined in the hotels policy...who even reads small print?! So we had a service charge bill of about 900 baht at the end of our 3 night stay as we ate there most nights and also booked 2 trips (for 2 people) too through the hotel. Boyfriend wasn’t too happy but what can you do... I do think it’s a bit cheeky, most hotels include it in their charge from outset so you get no nasty surprises. I can imagine if your not aware and a big family this can result in a pretty big service charge. So my advice... don’t trip anyone... they get it!!

Hope this helps.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

The place is very nice, the bungalows and treehouses are scattered around in a big garden. We stayed in the Hornbill treehouse. It was nice and spacious, though I did not like the creaking of the floor. We did not book any activity in advance, and they were barely able to find us a slot to trek to the Rafflesia - this was quite upsetting, they should have contacted us about the tours if they have such a shortage of guides.
The food was good. Overall I can recommend this place, but do not forget to book your tours well in advance!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

We had a two night stay here in a riverside bungalow/lodge and we had a great time. The scenery and surrounding jungle is stunning, quiet and close to nature. The accommodation itself is basic (no A/C, only fan) but we found this to be no problem and the rustic simplicity of it all made it better. You can either just chill with nature or go on the many walks and treks. The local village of Khao Sok is very close and has some good bars and restaurants. Staff were friendly and the restaurant was good. If you want to get close to nature, unwind and relax this is the place. One thing you should know.........BEWARE THE MONKEYS..............they are practiced thieves and raiders!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatGingerNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews