We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful b&b, excellent value”
Review of Butterfly Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Butterfly Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Nirranda B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in room 1. We had a lovely suite all to ourselves including a bedroom with a large 4 poster bed and single bed, spacious bathroom and sitting room. Had TV, tea and coffee, orange juice in fridge. Breakfast was fantastic and the owners very welcoming. Will definitely stay here again and will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 104 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here one night during our trip along the GOR towards Aadelaide and we were very happily surprised by the beauty of the farm, a very tranquil spot, and the great suite/ apartment. Our suite had its own entrance, bathroom and lounge. We stayed here unfortunately only one night, we could have easily spent more time. Karen could us an amazing breakfast which we were happy to share with the other guests. It was nice to not only share food but also experiences regarding the trip. Karen also had some good tips where to eat and what to see around the B&B, what not to miss on our trip. John showed us their own private koala.
Very special stay, thanks Karen and John!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed one night whilst driving from Melbourne to Adelaide, a charming place in a lovely setting and Karen couldn't have been more welcoming. Very peaceful and pretty, fabulously comfortable four poster bed and a terrific breakfast to send us on our way. Karen is also a great source of local information which was most helpful, a great stop over and worth every cent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie-Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Butterfly Farm proved to be an ideal spot to break up our trip on the GOR. Karen put on a very substantial breakfast that really set us up for the 2 days. Her local knowledge also allowed us to see a couple of really good sights that we would have otherwise overlooked.
Comfy and peaceful accommodation. Great for Australian travelers but would be a real find for overseas guests. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A friend had recommended this B&B to us so earlier this year, when we were travelling with Canadian friends, we decided to stay here. The location was very peaceful with cows from the neighbouring farm wandering down to the fence at dawn and dusk. It added to the peaceful country feel of the place. The B&B was beautifully furnished, the breakfasts were first class and our hosts were very welcoming. We really appreciated the advice as to where to go for the best sight seeing and places to visit for our evening meals. We would recommend this B&B to all of our friends and most definitely stay at Butterfly Farm again if we are in the area. Christine & Vince from Queensland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

During our journey along the Great Ocean Road we stayed 3 nights on the Butterfly Farm. What a brilliant place this is: so peaceful, in a quiet location just off the GOR, gives you a "home from home" feeling. You have your own little place with all what you require for an enjoyable time and even the verandah, so typical in Australia. For just 100 dollars per night incl. a lovely cooked breakfast one can't grumble.

Thanks again Karen and John for your super hospitality and for letting us stay in your premises. Should we come again to this area, we definitely know where we will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's a good place to stop while visiting the Great Ocean Road (that is really beautiful) because in my opinion you need at least 2 days to visit the places along it.
The place is very nice inside and outside.
I was there during September so it was still cold outside. I really appreciated the electric heated cover on the matress. A heater would be good to have.
The whole house is very nicely furnished and the breakfast is very good.
The owners are nice and share with you what you have to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Farm B&B

Address: Great Ocean Road, Nirranda, Victoria 3268, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Nirranda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nirranda
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly Farm B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butterfly Farm is a restful haven for holidaymakers, or a cosy romantic retreat. Close to Shipwreck Coast and the Great Ocean Road attractions, including Childers Cove, the 12 Apostles, Bay of Islands, Peterborough, Port Campbell, Timboon Farmhouse Cheeses, the Otway Fly Tree Top Walk, Whale Watching and within easy driving distance to Port Fairy and Warrnambool. What began as a humble farmhouse is now a delightful homestead, full of character. Butterfly Farm has been a labour of love for us and you will enjoy your stay with us as much as we do at Butterfly Farm. Singles, couples, families and small groups are welcome. Verandahs surround Butterfly Farm and these are always a feature of Australian homes for just sitting, relaxing and watching the day go by. Delicious country style breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in a redgum kitchen looking across the garden from a bay window. Tea & coffee facilities together with orange juice and homemade cookies are provided. Butterfly Farm has 2 B&B areas and can sleep up to a total of 7 persons. B&B 1 offers privacy and a cosy retreat full of character. It has its own entrance, private lounge room, en-suite and the bedroom has a QS 4 poster bed and a single bed. There is also a leather fold out couch, the size of a double bed with an inner spring mattress, in the lounge room and there are large double doors that can separate the lounge room from the bedroom. This area can sleep up to 5 persons. B&B 2 offers space and the comforts of home. It has a QS bed and the bedroom has french doors onto a private veranda. It has a foyer, private bathroom and adjacent lounge room with an entertainment system. Can sleep up to 2 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Butterfly Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Farm B&B Australia/Nirranda - Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing