We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of Hotel La Bluette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Bluette
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We loved our stay at La Bluette. The owners were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, toast and jam, and either an omelet or sandwich. It was served on their patio-wonderful!
Our room was a little small, but very comfortable with air conditioning. As other reviewers indicated, the rooms cannot be considered "posh". However we spent very little time in the room, and really enjoyed the breakfast, and the beauty of the great room and gardens The hotel is right across from the beach, chairs and umbrellas are provided for free. They also have a small outdoor pool. The owner recommended some nice restaurants nearby. He even gave us a lift into town! We took a taxi back. Overall it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chjada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Right on beach for great location. Would need a car to make it into La Barra or downtown Punta Del Este. Best breakfast of our whole trip..fresh fruit like kiwi & watermelon for breakfast, crusty french bread sandwiches..all served in a "great hall" main room that is very gran.d. The rooms need some work/updating..a bit musty (but maybe that's hard due to across from the water)...sheet quality/mattress wasn't the best and it looked about 10 years outdated. The owner, Hugo, was very very kind and generous. Not an stupendous "value" for the money..but then again nothing is cheap in Punta Del Este so all prices are higher. For sleep quality and rooms I would say "below average" but not "poor"..pluses for more unique rooms, demerits for bed quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

directly opposite a nice beach (big waves) lovely big bright communal areas, free umbrellas and chairs for the beach. On the Manantiales edge of La Barra so 10 mins walk to the main strip - realistically you want to have a car. Lovely helpful owners. We had a very large suite - for Punta peak time thought $250 wasn't bad value. Pool looked nice but we were only there for one night and didn't end up using it. Left $300 in my room - returned the next day and they had it for me. Totally trustworthy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighburyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I too am blown away by all the positive feedback about this hotel....it seems really questionable actually.
We had read all the great reviews on this site, & given the premium price we paid to stay here - on our honeymoon - we had reasonably high expectations for this 'hotel'.... We were very disappointed.
It is a nice (albeit a bit rundown) old European looking villa, but our room was old, outdated & had nothing in the way of modern conveniences you would expect for the price we paid - (ie - tv, air con, nice towels or sheets or bathroom products). The 'hotel' (read: bed & breakfast) also lacked facilities & atmosphere.
We quickly realised a car was mandatory - you will definitely need transport if you stay here. Yes, the owners were nice enough, but nothing out of the ordinary..

Really like La Barra, though (however this hotel is not in La Barra, it's further down the highway).

Also - this is the first bad review I've written on a hotel - we are not generally whingers!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephine-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My husband, nine month old son and I stayed at Hotel La Bluette at the end of March. We traveled there from Buenos Aires and it was so nice to trade the hustle and bustle of the city for the space and serenity of Hotel La Bluette. The location in La Barra is perfect, away from the high rises of downtown Punta. We had a beach view from the balcony of our spacious room in the front of the house and were able to walk across the street and have the whole beach to ourselves on several occasions. There is also a lovely little pool that gets great sun in the courtyard area of the hotel. On one occasion they even brought us a glass of blush wine to enjoy poolside. On that note, the staff was fantastic and the owners, Hugo and Alicia, were kind and gracious hosts. They were very sweet to our baby and even offered a crib for him to use in our room though we chose to use our own travel crib instead. Our room had plent of space and the white walls and linens made it feel very open and airy. We did have some unwelcome mosquitos visit us at night but we attributed that to the time of year and keeping the balcony door open during the daytime. It wouldn't keep us away in the future. Breakfast was lovely with toast and eggs on most days and the surprise of Hugo's recommended Italian sandwich one morning. Delicious!

Thank you, Hugo and Alicia, for sharing your home with us. We had such an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hmlconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hugo and Alicia, the owners and the crew did everithing to make us comfortable ( specially the lady that serves breakfast) , the hotel is really beautifull, and breakfast at the front lounge was one of the best we had. It was served until 12 :00 like a brunch, with fresh fruits, juice, and every day a different special, like omelets, grilled sandwiches and others..
The hotel is on the best location to be in Punta, best beach and nightlife. It's decorated beautifully, and just the way should be a beach hotel, for people that likes and goes to the beach. Our room was a two bedrooms suite with a terrace and side view to the beach across the street It really doesn't have a TV in the bedroom, but with such a beach after 11:00 when we wake up and clubs at night to dance and have fun 'till the morning, TV on the lobby is more than enough...
On my daughter's birthday they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne, it was really nice! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juarezmascarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

If you are looking for something very rustic, you might enjoy Hotel La Bluette. The staff is very nice, but our room was dark, dusty, and had a musty smell. With no telephone, no television, and insufficient light, our room was not worth the high price we paid for it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wordCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
0.5 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
38 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
4.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
2,031 reviews
11.8 mi away
Solanas Punta del Este
Solanas Punta del Este
#3 of 9 in Punta Ballena
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bluette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bluette

Address: Parada 49, La Barra, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Barra
Price Range: $161 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bluette 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Bluette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bluette Hotel
La Bluette Punta Del Este
Hotel La Bluette Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing