We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kala Hotel Boutique
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Bluette(La Barra)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$440
$396
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Club Posada(La Barra)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
93
19
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
19
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool area ispunta del estebikescarbeachuruguay
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 114 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a very relaxing time at Kala hoel. It was very clean, had such a comfy bed. It was a peaceful place and staff were friendly. Shops, restaurants (though a small town) and beach were a close walk but far enough that you felt like you were somewhere tucked away.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyjetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We arrived at the Kala Hotel after a 5 hr wait at the domestic airport in BA. There were huge thunderstorms, and by the time we got to the hotel, we were quite crabby and in need of caffeine, food and everything else!

The owner/proprietor, Paolo, made me coffee, sorted us out, and recommended the most fantastic restaurants nearby (Pura Vida in La Barra, Narbona in La Barra and El Mercado in Punta del Este). He arranged taxis for us and any other thing we could possibly need.

The hotel rooms are super comfortable, impeccably clean and organized. Great (free) wifi, a lovely pool and a very great setting. That part of Uruguay can be party central at this time of the year, so the very best situation is to be near the main street and activity, yet just a bit removed from the scene in a lovely quiet setting.

I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Leaving today after 2 nights stay. Wish we came here sooner! Kala hotel is the brainchild of Paolo, the owner, out of his love for the Greek Islands. He worked with an architect friend to build his dream Greek retreat. His sister decorated the hotel with blue, white and neutral tones. It is so beautiful!
You instantly feel at home as soon as you walk in the door. The staff here are like a big family. Always smiling and very gentle and sweet. Most of them speak a little English. But do not fear, even if they cannot understand your requests, they really go through great lengths to make sure you get what you need. Paolo is always around to assist in translations.
This place is a paradise. This is how a boutique hotel should be. Bravo!!
I wish all boutique hotels get the memo on how Kala does it the right way.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We found the place on internet and did book well in advance. Arrived there to spend a first night with very noisy Brazilian next to our room. The next day the manager fixed the problem and the rest of the stay was perfect and calm. Very nice rooms, superb pool, good food and excellent service, a place to be considered because of its style, rooms and location. Good management taking care of its clients. Will go back.

Room Tip: No need for the jacuzzi, room are good enough w/o it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredhugins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the best Hotel i have ever stay. Plane simple and clean. Supeeeer sweet staff. Rooms are large. Rooms are very big and the scenery is great. Especially the bathrooms very large and clean. Central location. the hotel pool is very nice. Breakfast is fresh fruit juice and cheese cakes, especially super. Best in Punta.. Next time i will be here with my family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sultan_Mehmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews