We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, very comfortable and with a lot of privacy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very comfortable and with a lot of privacy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I went to Fasano hotel in Punta del Este this summer (January 2012) a couple of nights and I must say I was surprised.
The place is awesome. The hotel is in a farm located 20 minutes away from "La Barra" beach, and it has 20 luxurios and spacious boungalous.
The pool is wrapped with big rocks wich makes it out of the standard.
Prices are high, so I recommend the hotel just if you are willing to pay more for a stay at Punta.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capitanblusero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo_Fasano, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

it was a great pleasure to have you with us at Hotel Fasano Las Piedras. On behalf of our team we would like to thank you immensely for your helpulf comments. It is always a satisfaction receiving feed back from our guests.

It will be an honor to receive you again during your next visit to Punta del Este.

Best regards,
Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    21
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
94
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Having just arrived from the very well run Park Hyatt in Buenos Aires the Fasano in Punta del Este sadly seemed very amateurish in comparison. This was by far our most mixed hotel experience ever. Especially when you take into account the steep prices of this facility. The hotel and its surroundings are physically beautiful and impressive. Great interior design and architecture located in a lovely landscape just outside Punta del Este. We stayed in a well appointed two room bungalow (nr. 15) with a fantastic view of the grounds. Even though the pool was somewhat smaller than what we expected from photos it was beautiful and pleasantly warm. We absolutely loved the amount of wildlife we encountered, numerous colourful birds, hares and one cute (non smelly) skunk. The bed and linen was perfect. Super fast Wi-Fi, Very good A/C, nice water pressure in bathroom and to us the absolutely best part of the experience was the Fasano Restaurant which had stellar service, food and wine.

If the rest of the hotel had been run like the Fasano Restaurant, five stars would not have been enough. Sadly we experienced too many problems. The biggest being cleaning the second being service. When we arrived a flower vase with half rotten water but no flowers was standing by the wash basins in the bathroom and the room was simply not clean. Neither was the Las Piedras restaurant, which is where the breakfast is served. It was dusty and had filthy floors. The carpet in our living room contained pebbles and olive pips and we found half a can of olive oil half hidden behind the sofa. The shower room had a mouldy smell. In the outside areas we saw too much trash lying around and nobody seemed to care. Which just seemed plain weird and in stark contrast to the beautiful landscape and what we expected of a Fasano Hotel.

In the pool area we saw a member of staff passing a plastic cup lying on the ground about ten times without ever picking it up. We were the only guests in the pool area and the guy had absolutely nothing to do. He just did not seem to care. In fact the service in the pool area was a big let down. They did very little to make people feel welcome. On one occasion we had a drink in the pool bar and observed how the staff completely ignored a family, in fact the only people to use the pool at the time, neither offering them towels nor mattresses for their sun loungers. Weirdly enough the mattresses had not been distributed even though it was a sunny afternoon. We had the same experience the day before. It seemed that the hotel wasted the opportunity to earn money as the staff were so little welcoming that we could hardly be bothered to get in contact with them in order to purchase the drinks, coffees and snacks that we would normally have ordered being poolside. On these occasions we wondered about what seemed like a complete lack of hotel management.

In fact we never saw a member of staff who even resembled management. It seemed that the hotel (excluding the fantastic Fasano Restaurant) was run by a big crowd of young people with little or absolutely no experience. Please forgive the prejudges but we got the feeling that most of the staff we encountered were (probably) privileged kids on a summer job. They were well mannered, handsome, friendly and seemed quite aware that they were working at a very cool resort, sadly for us however they were more or less clueless about how to provide the service that one would normally expect at a hotel of this price level.

Food at the Fasano resort ranged from okay to fabulous. Foodwise the breakfast was okay but service was slightly wobbly. We ate (sadly as the only guests) one evening at the Las Piedras restaurant and the food and wine we had was excellent and the waiter was charming. The rest of the dinners we had at the Fasano Restaurant which in every respect was a perfect experience. It seemed that quite a few locals came there to dine and no wonder.

All in all the Fasano Las Piedras was a mixed experience and the overall impression was form over function. The place had tons of potential but poor execution. Would we go there again? - probably if we felt sure that they took cleanliness a little more seriously. However knowing full and well about the strength of the Fasano Brand in South America we cannot help wonder what went wrong in Punta del Este.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CombeMagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo_Fasano, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I should first thank you for choosing the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras for your last trip to Punta del Este in January 2012 and also for taking the time and let us know your positive comments as well as your recommendations based in your own experience.

We are sorry that your expectations have not been fully covered during your stay at our Hotel. Please rest assured that we, the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras, greatly appreciate our customers and all their comments are analyzed and taken into consideration.

Our employees are trained to avoid fail and to always offer the best service to our customers and our main goal is to promote the best possible experience for them. I sincerely apologize if at any time during your stay with us, our team did not show the courtesy and attitude that we always offer to our customers. We conduct regular courses to update the service standards for our employees and we will certainly intensify the training emphasizing the issues highlighted by you.

We hope welcoming you to our hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow suite. The natural environment around the hotel is amazing, and conducive to taking contemplative long walks. There is no beach, but the cacti and gentle hills are great. It was truly relaxing and a totally different type of place than your average resort. Our bungalow was wonderful, with a mesmerizing view out the back porch. It was extremely comfortable with 2 large TVs and very comfortable furniture and nice amentities. There was a plush white fur rug in the living room area that was fantastic to walk on barefoot. So soft! The staff (with one exception written about below) were all very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had several treatments at the spa which were all nice, and the spa itself was in a beautifully designed building. The restaurants were also great with fantastic staffs and good food.

The reason I give 4 instead of 5 stars for this magical place are several. Even though the restaurants are both great, it is very difficult to get any light simple food at the resort, which is what we craved after a few days of heavier cuisine. The informal restaurant has basically a scaled down menu of the more formal restaurant so it does not really offer much of a difference from the formal restaurant. It would have been nice to have had the option to order empanadas, gormet pizza, etc... for lunch next to the pool or in the informal restaraunt. The treatments at the spa while relaxing were overpriced even in comparison to treatments at other international resorts at the the same price level. It would have also been nice if the hotel would volunteer a list of optional excursions that it could help you arrange as the resort is in a relatively secluded location.

Finally we went to the lounge our last full day and had horrendous service. The lounge was barely occupied and fully staffed. It took 5 minutes for a menu to be presented and then we sat around for 10 minutes waiting to order. Finally after seeing several people who arrived later than we did have their orders taken, we walked out. At this point a man in a jacket who had been fluffing pillows (who I assume was the lounge manager) followed us out and asked if we would like to order. I told him that frankly we no longer had time as we just wanted to stop in for a quick drink before dinner and that I found it was very rude that we were ignored. His response was to shrug his shoulders and walk back in. With the amount of money we were paying per night this was not an acceptable response especially when many of the people who were being waited on while we were being ignored did not even appear to be resort guests. In a place of this calibre, I would expect any staff member (not just a manager) to make an inquiry about if we were guests to see if at a minimum a written apology could be slipped under our door while we were at dinner to smooth things over. We did not complain to the general manager as this is not our style and we didn't want to spend the short amount of time we had left dwelling on an unpleasant experience.

Overall we really enoyed the Fasano and would stay again. In fact, we have agreed that if we are anywhere even vaguely close in South America we will try to go back to the resort for a whole week. Other than the single incident in the lounge, all of the other things I cite as things that I would change come out to be slight small suggested improvements rather than true complaints. The architecture is amazing, the staff outside of the lounge is great, and natural environment is unique and wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckblue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo_Fasano, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Fasano "Las Piedras". We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in full; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. On the other hand, we thank you for your positive feedback.

Please rest assured that we took the appropriate measures with our attendant team in order to improve the standards of service to prevent any future occurrences.

The Hotel Fasano Las Piedras, continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation therefore our guests recommendations are always taken into account. We are glad to inform you that we are making changes to the menu (effective April 2012) based on your feedback and hope that you can come back to enjoy it.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our wish that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the Fasano a week before Xmas to avoid the crowds. We enjoyed everything, the architecture, the views, the rooms, the food, the service and especially the peace and quiet. The spa is great, had one of the best massages ever - and I have had them all over the world. The beach is 9/10km away, you need a car to get to one. Both restaurants are superb. The personnel was very helpful, forthcoming and efficient - although a few of them were newcomers with no hotel experience.

Room Tip: All the suites have a good view, just different, depending on the hight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GranmaAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Fasano "Las Piedras". It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. A

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this hotel: Its physical beauty, the rooms, the staff.........
It is the perfect location if you are looking for a small intimate hideaway, but with the ability to drive a short distance to all the action (great restuarants, bars, shopping in neighboring towns). I was with teenagers who all loved it too!!!!
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

it was a great pleasure have you at Fasano Las Piedras. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you immensely for sharing your positive comments.
It will be an honor to welcome you again on next visit to Punta del Este, where I hope to have the pleasure of knowing you personally.

Sincerely,
Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The services was amazing and the staff was extremely helpful . The facilities were brand new. The spa and the pool are fantastic. The breakfast is excellente. I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in december and enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcelo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

In name of our team I would like to thank you immensely for your thoughtful comments. It will be an honor to pass along your observations to the entire team and I have no doubt that it will be a great incentive for all our staff.
It will be an honor to welcome you again on next visit to Punta del Este
Yours Sincerely,

Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

From the moment I arrived at the hotel, I thought I found Heaven. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it so much that I never left, I ate all my meals at the restaurant and just enjoyed the beauty of the grounds.

The grounds are very spacious and you can hike, bike ride, run, go to the spa or enjoy the amazing pool. They have a beach along the river that is quite gorgeous as well.

The restaurant is amazing and they really take care of the guests staying there. The food is reasonably priced and worth every penny. The wine list is also great and priced very well. I was coming from Brazil and couldn't believe how great the hotel was and how reasonable the cost...worth every penny. I sat outside and it was a bit chilly and they even brought me a blanket and then ordered a golf cart to drive me to my room!

The hotel staff is amazing...willing to answer all of your questions and get you anything you need. They will pick you up at your room and take you to the restaurant, the spa, anywhere you want and they are very quick!

I would recommend to anyone who wants to relax and breathe clean air and enjoy beautful scenery!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelmaniacNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
7.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
6.8 mi away
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
#10 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel L'Auberge
Hotel L'Auberge
#3 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Property: Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Address: Cno. Cerro Egusquiza y Paso del Barranco | La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado 20400, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Barra
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Punta del Este 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fasano group’s international expansion begins in Punta del Este, with the hotel Fasano Las Piedras in one of the most extraordinary locations in Uruguay. The Fasano family brings its century old tradition in fine cuisine and in the art of serving to its new development in Punta del Este, one of the most elegant coastal towns in South America. Located in La Barra, the hotel Fasano Las Piedras was projected on an area overlooking the Maldonado River, with breathtaking views and surrounded by exuberant nature where you can enjoy one of the most spectacular sunsets of the Uruguayan coast. Architecture and interiors designed by Isay Weinfeld, also responsible for the hotel Fasano São Paulo, the project rescues the elegance of this countryside property once owned by the traditional Braun family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fasano Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fasano Punta Del Este Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing