We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location right next to the best beach in Punta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Kryon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Kryon
Ranked #5 of 17 La Barra B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic location right next to the best beach in Punta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Posada Kyron is right across the street fro Playa Montoya just outside of La Barra, Punta del Este's exclusive, eclectic neighbor. I saw an article in a travel magazine a few years ago that rated this beach as one of the best in the world. We stayed 10 nights in March 2014 and loved it. The owners are wonderful, always willing to help out with suggestions but not in your face like so many B and B operators. I would classify it as a small Inn, not a bed and breakfast (although a nice breakfast is included). Try to get an upstairs room, they are large and both have nice private balconies. Our time here was not in peak season, so we got a super deal. Posada Kyron is very affordable. I have looked at the other posadas in La Barra, and believe me, this is the best option.

Punta del Este is one of the world's great beach resorts. La Barra is THE place to be. Recently Jose Ignacio has gotten a lot of press, but I think it is undeserved - it's not that cool any more, it's too far from Punta, and there are way too many stuck up Argentinians there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100-50-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked here only because at the end of December everything else is full. The b&b has 4 rooms. 2 of the rooms are basically in the "lobby" and the back of the rooms are beside the pool so the result is that you have no privacy. Anyone that comes in late and makes any noise is right outside your door.

The room can basically fit a bed and that's it. Not sure about those other reviews. There are 2 rooms upstairs which maybe bigger but not the 2 rooms downstairs.

Worse yet there were ants in our room. Can you imagine paying nearly 300 US - night for a dingy room with ants? See attached picture.

The pool was small, cold and a little dirty. The place is across from the beach but a 20 minute walk in each direction to any store or restaurant. You do not want to walk 2 kilometres for a bag of chips or a coffee.

The staff was nice but absolutely zero English.

A better choice is available elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in February during Carnival. We were not planning to stay in this area but I am very glad we did. First of all, it is located in a pleasant part of Punta del Este, half way from the peninsula and on the way to Jose Ignacio. We did not like the Peninsula at all for staying during this busy period. Further, the Peninsula is full of turist traps. La barra has plenty of good restaurants and a different vibe: not only tourists desperate to shop!
We did not go to beach in front of the Posada but I assume it is very popular due to the number of cars parked on a sunny day.
The Posada itself is very pleasant, very clean, nice staff, parking, good breakfast and it is a quiet place. We had a room in front of the lobby and we were not bothered at all by any noise.
All in all, I would definetely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel was in a perfect location between downtown Punta del Este and Jose Ignacio. Right across from the beach. The staff spoke some English and were very helpful prior to our arrival making different types of reservations and recommending activities for us. The hotel was comfortable the pool was a little chilly but right across the street from one restaurant and a two minute drive in between La Barra town and Mantianales town with lots to do. Great Value!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamarylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We booked a two week northern Argentina trip through Isabel at Buenos Aires tours. In the early stages of our planning she suggested we add a few more days and go to Punta del Este, Uruguay for 3 nights because we were in the "sweet spot" of early December when weather would be nice but the craziness of people and high prices would not start until mid-December.
She suggested Kryon Posada de Mar in La Barra.
We arrived at the posada after 10pm after a long day of travel from Iguazu Falls and were greeted by the most friendly woman at the reception desk. They only have 5 rooms but they have someone available 24 hours a day.
We were so surprised to open the door to our room #3 - it was HUGE and overlooked the beach across the street. There were lots of shelves for unpacking, the bathroom was lovely, and the bed so comfortable. Everything was immaculate.
The posada is located in-between La Barra and Manatiales - each about a 20 minute walk away and the Kryon also has bikes to borrow.
The included breakfast was served outside, weather permitting in their beautiful pool area and we enjoyed the best coffee of our trip, a delicious fresh fruit platter, bread basket, yogurt, cereal.
The free WiFi worked great.
And the BEST part of our stay was meeting the owners, Jover and Olga. They are a wonderful couple and we truly felt they welcomed us into their "home."
It was a wonderful 3 nights that we will always remember.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I loved it, that is why I returned for 2 more nights. I never met such's à Nice couple in my life. THE beach is 5 min away and if you like to jog their is a trek to run safe.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltrotter_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

No English spoken here - so get out your phrase book. But no problem, since you could not find a more helpful, welcoming couple in the owners Olga and Jover. Nothing was too much trouble for them, including giving us lifts to and from restaurants as we had no car, and taxis were few. Its only 15 minutes walk to town anyway, and the location of the Posada is perfect, just across the main road is the lovely wide beach with soft sand and a handy restaurant. But bring your own parasol! The rooms are lovely, and made up twice a day with fresh towels. Luxury! There's free internet and a nice clean (unheated) pool to lounge around in the small garden. The air conditioning in the room was thankfully silent. The bathroom large and luxuriously fitted. At night, the road nearby is not noisy, as there's little traffic at night. They do prefer payment of the bill in cash - there are a couple of ATMs in town. Don't trust the Google map for the location, its incorrect! The location is just outside town. We had a most enjoyable 3 night stay in this small Posada and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truth-revealed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posta Del Cangrejo
La Posta Del Cangrejo
#6 of 11 in La Barra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
4.7 mi away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#7 of 11 in La Barra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Kryon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Kryon

Property: Posada Kryon
Address: Ruta 10 Parada 49 | Montoya, La Barra, Maldonado 200001, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Kryon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Posada Kryon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Kryon Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing