We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a gem”
Review of Casa Zinc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Zinc
Ranked #1 of 18 La Barra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a gem”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a gem in a humble residential neighborhood just 20 minutes east of bustling Punta del Este. A wooden door leads to the courtyard of this interesting brick building. The breakfast room/office has huge windows and collection of old things: globes, maps, bottles, books and more. The architecture books on the center table hint at the owner's talents, and that this place is special.

Our room was on the second floor with a large window facing the courtyard. Everything is either old or made to look old (distressed metal table lamp, rough wood paneling) but is spotless and lends a feeling of comfort.

Breakfast at the large table was delicious: special cornflakes, slices of ham and cheese, fresh orange juice and breads. The location was a short drive from the center shops and restaurants and beaches of La Barra and other nearby towns.

This is a very special place. Stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a very small hotel renovated with exquisite, refined taste. Every detail is well thought out and carries from the moment you open the Zinc metal doors and peek inside. We'd had a long drive and were welcomed, offered a nice coffee, and given an opportunity to relax before even being shown our room. We immediately felt at home.

When we entered our room, the music was playing softly and our eyes were drawn to the design, simplicity, and comfort before us. Everything is well positioned from the minute you enter be it the antiques, toiletries, wine - you have everything you need. We quickly realized it was all about us, our stay, our relaxation. Upon awakening, we drew the shades, spanning the full wall, to let in the morning sun. We quickly realized, Casa Zinc had "best room and most comfortable bed" right then and there. I did not want to leave that moment...

The hospitality is refined and not in your face. Breakfast is offered near all day and overlooks the courtyard and offers the best cortados (coffee) we had in SA. An easy space to relax and soak in the quiet sunny courtyard. There is a library full of books and little items of interest, bikes available to use, and a beach within walking distance.You can easily walk, bike or drive to explore a handful of restaurants and shops in La Barra. WiFi available and works well.

Casa Zinc is located in La Barra just outside of Punta del Este proper. A car is recommended to move around. This is a great launching spot for other hot spots on the coast and you'll still have access to PDE if you find you even need to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending a few nights at Casa Zinc while touring the coast of Uruguay and absolutely loved the place and the staff. The aesthetic is funky and charming, in a comfortable, low-key, upscale sort of way. Our room had a huge window facing the inner courtyard (which we loved) and was well appointed (e.g., great reading lamps, comfy robes, nice towels, fast wifi, in-room fridge, etc.).

The common areas are equally charming, including the courtyard, the breakfast room and the other area which doubles as a reception area, office and alternative place for breakfast. We borrowed their bikes to tour the various beaches within easy reach, and then enjoyed a bottle of wine while reading and writing in the courtyard one evening before dinner. It's not just a great place for a perfect night's rest; it's also a lovely place to hang out. The staff was marvelously warm and helpful, and even made last minute arrangements for us to rent a car and had the car brought to the hotel for us.

We’ve traveled the world extensively and always look for interesting boutique hotels that evoke a sense of place. Casa Zinc is exactly the sort of hotel we love, and it’s one of the best boutique hotels in Uruguay: simply stated, it’s not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was it real? Was I really there? Was I in some foreign movie? Possibly the movie "The Motorcycle Diaries" based on Che Guerara's epic motorcycle ride through South America in the 1950's?(The design of Casa Zinc could be something right out of that movie.)

No, just a delightful stay at an amazing place and an amazing experience at Casa Zinc.

All the reviews on TripAdisor are all spot on....I do not see a bad one! My experience was the same.

Arron, the owner, had a vision when he build this special place. Knowing something about construction,I know how hard it is to build something new to look old and then to pull it off. The building its self is very solidly built. He has integrated old building materials, objects, plumbing fixtures all with the perfect ,old patina into the posada.....The old plumbing fixtures especially are very special and all worked great with high pressure and plenty of hot water.

He also put a lot of thought into his staff and the over all experience that he wants his clients to have during their stay. Estefany and her sister were both very personable and there for all of our needs. Aaron was there often drinking great coffee, Illy Coffee, with us and giving us local history and restaurant recommendations......I dream of the day that I can go back to Casa Zinc!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Casa Zinc for 2 nights in early October as part of 3 day trip to Uruguay. It is genuinely one of most unique and memorable places we've ever stayed in. As other reviewers have noted the architecture and interior design are based on salvaged and recycled antiques and materials which gives the place an old world and historic feel but it's luxurious at the same time. It was a pleasure to spend time in our room and in the breakfast area taking it all in. Estefany who dealt with all logistics and day to day matters was fantastic and Aaron the owner was so hospitable, kind and intersesting to chat to about all sorts of things. Even though it was off season we found La Barra a lovely place - very little going on but a perfect escape from city life and a beautiful stretch of coast line. Casa Zinc added to the tranquility and we were sad to leave. In short a truly memorable experience - my wife is even inspired to replicate some of the interior design ideas when we buy a house! Jonny & Laura (UK), October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnymc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Casa Zinc, the last weekend in May, an Argentine public holiday, so things were much busier than normal for the time of year. So busy indeed, that the only seats available were on the Buqebus midnight, slow ferry, via Colonia.The First Class part does not apply to the bus, which is the bulk of the route & I only took it because there was nothing else. In the event, it was a good idea. Buquebus are very efficent; we slept for at least 5 hrs & we had a whole day in PDE. The downside is that you arrive at 7:30-8:00 & nothing is open- not even the cash machine. US$ are perfectly acceptable & when operating, the cash machines offer a choice of currency, but we were coming from Argentina, so that was no help. The hotel recommended hiring a car, but the agencies don't open until 9am, so we asked them to send a taxi (about $20) & whilst we waited, trotted across from the bus station to the "Hand" for a photo op. When we arrived at the hotel, we were the only guests; we were given a cup of coffee & told that Aaron thought, that as mother & son, we would be more comfortable in 2 rooms instead of 1, at no extra charge! Our entire stay continued in this vein- helpfulness, generosity & hospitality are Aaron's middle names & the same goes for his staff. As for the rooms: I took the Mirador- I like light & I slept so well in that room- and my son the Biblioteca. We then hopped on two of the bikes that the hotel kindly provides & went touring: shopping, OJ & medialunas at Aaron's Trading Post, lunch at El Chancho (the hotel has no restaurant but can provide something light in high season) & up & down the beach.
The weather, by local standards, is bad, but no worse than a Scottish summer & the advantage is not only that prices are lower (much lower) but that those places that are open (a lot is closed & boarded up) are really pleased to see you, have time to chat & may even treat you as a local: walking through Jose Ignacios on Saturday ($50 each way, by taxi from the hotel) people said hello to us as we passed their gardens or crossed them in the street!
La Barra seems very secure, and after Argentina, everyone was surprisingly lax about guarding their bags & businesses- the hotel gate is never locked.
Casa Zinc is a modern constuction with salvaged windows & doors & antique or flea market furnishings. Even the bathroom fittings are recycled, which may be a problem for some, but it all makes it "special" , and I mean that in a good way.
The breakfast- available until 4pm, are you beginning to get a feel for the place- is excellent: orange juice, squeezed as you wait, fine coffee, muesli, yogurt, toast, cheese, ham & wonderfully buttery medialunas.
If you want a hotel with a pool, Zinc doesn't even have a fountain & whilst it is very close to the sea, the nearest nice bit of beach is a good 5-10 mins on foot. But you probably won't even notice, it is just that sort of hotel.
If you would normally head for Skye or British Columbia in June, next year, head to Casa Zinc instead. I was sorry to leave, you will be too.

Room Tip: Mirador for light & the view, Biblioteca for space & seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

In order to explore the immediate surrounding areas of PDE we decided to stay in La Barra rather than in PDE itself. Based on reviews and travel guides we decided to stay at Casa Zinc. We did not regret. From the moment we arrived at the property we felt it was the right choice. The Posada is designed in a very special bohemian way using old materials both for construction of the buildings itself (the house is apparently just five or so years old) and its interior and as such gives it a great vintage feel.

Our room - The Architect´s room / studio - was a delight: a lot of space, lots of day / sunlight, very nice vintage bathroom with a huge sink which is particularly practical since no water can spill over its borders since it is so deep and wide.

Check in was smooth and while doing the basic housekeeping stuff we were offered a coffee which we happily accepted.

Aron, the owner, was not at home when we arrived, so we missed him but all our questions about restaurants and useful information were answered to our full satisfaction by a young lady (sorry for not remembering the name) who welcomed us when checking in.

Since we had to leave early in the morning the next day we were not in the position to have regular breakfast but we were offered a basket of fresh fruit , bread, ham and cheese which were placed in our room and which we happily enjoyed early in the morning before departing.

All in all: a great place with great architecture in a very good location in La Barra, everything can be reached within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
1.0 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#3 of 11 in La Barra
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
148 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
De La Plaza Hotel
De La Plaza Hotel
#9 of 23 in Maldonado
49 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Auberge
Hotel L'Auberge
#3 of 65 in Punta del Este
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zinc

Property: Casa Zinc
Address: Esquina Carlos Gardel | Barrio El Tesoro, La Barra, Maldonado 20001, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Zinc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Zinc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zinc Hotel La Barra
Casa Zinc Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing