We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treasured moment....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada de los Pajaros
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treasured moment....”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The owner and staff of this inn truly understand every aspect of comfort and service. From the moment you enter, your soul is transformed by the hand painted parrot murals throughout the lobby; walls of windows that frame the brightly blooming tropical gardens and vista views to the ocean.

"I have never felt so special" as the owner personally served his prepared fresh fish dinner on short notice. His genuine desire is to make your stay a treasured moment to remember. The staff is equally as eager to please....

Having traveled many countries, this little inn is by far my most memorible....and my most favorite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwalkerfla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wow did we uncover a gem. We just got lucky on this one because many of the search engines did not bring this hotel up. This is a Swiss owned hotel and that means everything is done right, the first time. Whether it is cleanliness (perfect), the wi-fi, or the location, which is looking right at the water, relaxing here is easy. The beach is across the street, the pool is right in front, and the area, which is called La Barra is the place to be in the summer (late December through mid-March). You should probably have a car, although there is bus service and you can walk to various restaurants/shops. This is a great couples or friends get away place. They do not take children under 12 - - and frankly, I thought that was great. And if your spanish is not so good, the owner, who is there every day, speaks perfect English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

very nice small hotel with friendly staff. i made the mistake of taking cab from airport which cost me 60$ US. did rent a car after that as driving here doesnt seem to be a problem. posada is in 'la barra' so it is a 15min ride to punta del este. wi-fi worked great and reception was cool with me checking out late. would definitely stay here again... but might not come to punta region again as it is all in all very pricey !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasmarkerttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just came back from a weekend at the Posada. I had a great time. Staff are very friendly and attentive, rooms are very nice and the Posada is really small and intimate, very quiet and relaxing. I really recommend it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tquinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After a couple of nights in Montevideo, at what is supposedly one of the cities best hotels according to ratings here - we were ready to move on. Luckily, landed at Posada de los Pajaros. The minute we saw the room we audibly gasped. Very modern, Zen like vibe - fabulous bed, everything clean, great view of the pool and the ocean across the highway. The location could not be better. Just outside of La Barra, and minutes from Manantiales, you can be at great restaurants in either direction in minutes. The staff is great, Christian, one of the owners, speaks fluent English, if that is a concern for you. Internet, W-Fi, small but delicious continental breakfast, fresh every day. Price is beyond reasonable, may be more in the high season. We went in late October, a perfect time to visit Uruguay. Lovely Posada with nice art, very spacious - cannot recommend higher.,

Room Tip: A little more for ocean view, but well worth it. I'm sure garden rooms are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This little hotel is such a beautiful space. Located in what looks like a Spanish villa just off the coastal highway in la barra, Uruguay, it feels like you are staying in a very exclusive beach house owned by a celebrity. The theme of the hotel is birds, and there are beautiful little decorative items and paintings all over that reinforce that theme. Outside there is a little garden where many birds make their home. Our room had stone floors, fresh white linens, and a little fridge tucked into a corner. It received lots of light and the bed was very firm and comfortable.

If you have a car, i would highly recommend staying here at any time of year. It is quite far from the punta del este bus station and the local bus that stops on the highway in front of the hotel only comes once an hour, and stops running at 930pm. We took a few $25 cab rides because of this, since puntas restaurants barely start serving until 9, and la barras restaurants were closed in the shoulder season when we were there. In the high season, la barra is apparently much more happening, with casual bars and restaurants abt a 20 min walk from the hotel. However for any of puntas fancier dining options, you'd need to make arrangements by cab. In the low season, it was a little awkward to use public transit, but we made it work.

This hotel had the most wonderful service, and so despite the relative inconvenience of staying so far out I am very glad we made the trip. We were the only guests that night, and still the staff pulled out all the stops for us, serving us drinks on the gorgeous terrace at sunset, and preparing a lavish breakfast the next morning, which we ate staring at a breathtaking view of the Atlantic. I felt like we were in the hamptons! The beach that is just down from the hotel is also extraordinary, white sand, big waves, and a long, uninterrupted view if the coast. I would have loved to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My family was priviledged to visit posada de los pajaros the last week in November 2011. The hotel is not located in Punta Del Este proper, but rather in La Barra. During off season the town is quiet with little nightlife. This was a plus for us although there might not be enough activity for some. I understand that during high season the nature of La Barra changes radically. We loved the beach and the pool as well as the "can do" freindly staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms are a bit spartan, however are clean and more than adequate for a seaside accommodation. Tax is included in the room rate for tourists- a great plus. The La Barra area is expensive so the cost was in line for other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natal152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
10.4 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#3 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
4.8 mi away
La Posta Del Cangrejo
La Posta Del Cangrejo
#7 of 11 in La Barra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
9.9 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Pajaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Pajaros

Property: Posada de los Pajaros
Address: Calle 10 esq. 5 | Route 10 Bus 48, La Barra, Maldonado 20001, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Barra
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de los Pajaros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 50 metres from Montoya Beach in La Barra, Posada de los Pajaros Hotel Design is a fascinating place to enjoy and experience an unforgettable stay. It accommodates 16 cheerful & finely decorated rooms which invite you to rest and relax together with the fresh breeze of the sea. Buffet breakfast is served daily with outstanding home-made marmelades, healthy recipes, fresh fruit and natural juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Posada de los Pajaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Pajaros Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing