We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to wind down your trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tundra Rose Guest Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tundra Rose Guest Cottages
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to wind down your trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Glacier Overlook cabin at the end of our one month travel on Alaska. What a spectacular place to end a spectacular trip! Coleen was a gracious host.
We just hung out in the front room and on the deck enjoying the view of the glacier. The cabin is very cute. The front room is lovely with a view of the glacier. I didn't really like the bedroom, though because it's rather dark and cramp so I spent as little time in it.
Without the traffic noise from the road, this place would top my list to stay in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
519 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the Glacier Overlook cabin, which had a super view to the Matanuska Glacier that we had just been walking on. A lovely peaceful spot.

The cabin was a bit on the small side but was fine for a night's stay.

The main RV park has a cafe where you can get a decent evening meal which is handy as there isn't much else around it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Glacier view cottage 12 to 14 June. Colleen and Dwight are warm friendly hard working people and you could see they cared for their guests comfort and the quality of their stay. The standard of everything in the cabin was top notch. To be expected of such a remote location the Wi-Fi was on the edge and TV snowy. Not that we wanted to spend time indoors with such a beautiful location. Understandably the cabin is not a self catering facility beyond basics with a microwave and some crockery but no stove. The coffee and tea making facility was good with real coffee beans and grinder. The authentic looking automated gas log stove with for heating worked well. Sitting out on the veranda overlooking the glazier in the distance was a quiet treat. The paved road leads right up to the cabin with parking near the front door. Many thanks for making our stay one to remember. Eben and Susan Pringle bay South Africa.

Room Tip: Glazier View cabin has a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VillaMarineCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom cottage. It was cozy (definitely not big but plenty large enough for two people). My favorite part of our cottage was the small patio. We sat outside and ate one evening, and it was so relaxing. If you get the chance, get the proper footwear and equipment and tromp around Matanuska Glacier, which is nearby. That was probably my very favorite part of our whole trip (with Denali National Park being a very close second).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveTexasTravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town south africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked for 1 night and stayed for 2 and could have stayed for a month.we were 2 couples and stayed in the Glacier Overlook and the Tundra Rose cottages. These cabins are not only cute but also clean, comfortable and peaceful.The restaurant serves simple but good food together with very friendly staff which all adds to a great stay . So all in all if we ever find ourselves back in Alaska these cotttages will definately be on our list for a longer stay.

Dave, Jenni Jason and Elaine
Cape Town
South Africa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped here as a half way point (actually a little over) between Seward and the Copper River Princess Lodge.

We booked the two bedroom cabin as we were travelling with another couple, they had the queen bed and we utilised the single beds. The cabin was clean well laid out and the beds were comfortable. The downside to the two bedroom, it is upstairs, it does not have a deck just a landing at the top of the stairs, this means that the views are not so good.

There are walking tracks down from the cottages which take you along a ridge, with outstanding views down the valley to the glacier.

The Cafe/Restaurant which services the cabins is wonderful, very nice, well priced meals for both Dinner and Breakfast.

Altogether a great stay.

Room Tip: Glacier Overlook. has a large deck to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am joining in on the 5 star rating. We did not expect such inviting and comfortable lodging out here in the wilds. We stayed in the Glacier Overlook cottage for three nights in August while trekking on the glacier with Mica Guides (nearby), and zip lining and riding a jet boat on the river. The cafe gives a great breakfast with a discount for lodgers. You have a fridge, microwave and assorted teas, chocolate and juices. Also, coffee beans and a grinder. The double bed was very comfortable, and our granddaughter loved the futon bed in the front room. Everything was clean and neat. The view of the mountains and the Chugach range is stunning, and it is neat to sit out on the deck and have coffee in the am or cocktails/wine at night (sun sets after 10pm). Recommend this place most highly for those passing through, or as a base for enjoying the Matanuska glacier area.

Room Tip: Bring food items. You are a long way from any store, but the adjacent restaurant is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacier View
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tundra Rose Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tundra Rose Guest Cottages

Property: Tundra Rose Guest Cottages
Address: 22518 W Glenn Hwy, Milepost 109.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality log cottages located on the scenic Glenn Highway between the cities of Palmer and Glennallen. 2 hours from Anchorage. Matanuska Glacier and mountain views from every cottage. Observe Dall Sheep and other wildlife. Gas Fireplaces, kitchenettes, private baths, cable TV, private decks and patios. Internet is often unstable due to the rural location. Complimentary morning coffee & tea in your cottage. Perfect setting to unwind or have a romantic get a way! Guests repeatedly state they wish they had booked more than one night. Come see why! If you enjoy nature, you will enjoy Tundra Rose Guest Cottages. Grand View Cafe is 1/8 mile away and easily walked to for meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tundra Rose Guest Cottages Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing