We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tundra Rose Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so beautiful!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It was so beautiful and affordable. It was a shame that we didn't have more time to stay in the cabin to enjoy it. Probably the loveliest place we stayed at in all of Alaska!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed in the 2 bedroom unit, the bedrooms were small but adequate for a one night stay. We were able to take a walk in the tundra in front of the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girllovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were in Alaska 12 nights and this was one of our top two places. The cabins were beautiful, comfortable and had great amenities. The hosts Colleen and Dwight were really warm and friendly people and run a great business including the restaurant just next door. There are also laundry facilities next door which was helpful to have half way through our trip. We really wished that we could have stayed here more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Berries & Blossoms Suite, a two-bedroom apartment above a garage/workshop(?). It was clean and comfortable. The sloping ceilings might cause you a problem if you are really tall, but my 5'11" husband was fine! The kids were delighted with their little twin room, and we slept very well in our cosy double. There is a small kitchen (coffee provided), table and two stools and two comfy chairs, plus a tiny but more than adequate shower room. All very clean. And with an iPod dock for those who cannot cope with the peace and quiet!

But the main draw is the view - a sweeping vista of mountains, valleys and the Matanuska glacier (which even seemed to glow in the dark). We were lucky with clear weather - we even had sunshine in the morning, which made it all the better. There is a short and easy trail opposite the cabin, which takes you through tundra vegetation to an even better view.

This is not a traditional B&B, but a collection of three cabins (the others are smaller I think), but there is a great cafe next door, a very easy walk - the Grand View - where you check in and pay upon arrival. They serve good food - we ate supper (huge pizzas) and breakfast there. Excellent coffee too.

We would highly recommend a stay here - it's a bit off the main tourist trail and hence a bot different to Anchorage, Talkeetna and Denali. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

At the last minute we called and were fortunate enough to be able to get a place for the night. We didn't realize just how lucky we were, as this was a great place. We stayed in the "Berries and Blossoms" cabin which had 2 bedrooms and a small sitting room with frig, sink, TV, and chairs. It was close to the Matanuska Glacier, had a good restaurant, the staff were friendly, the place was clean...what more could you want!! We'd stay again and will recommend to anyone we know visiting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Unfortunately we had to cancel our first night due to the ferry being cancelled. Our loss as we would have preferred staying here than in Cordova another night! Nice setting, the Tundra Rose was a comfortable cabin and great pizza at the cafe! Owners were very understanding regarding the first night cancellation and worked with us to make it right. Didn't see any goats, but we also didn't see any moose on the trip as well! Microwave and fridge in the room as well as a gas fireplace..

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aazonemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the Tundra Rose Cottage June 2011 and could not have been more pleased. The web site pictures didn't really prepare me for how well built and appointed the cabin was. The attached deck is a nice extra to relax and enjoy the beautiful view. It is very obvious that the owners take great pride in their facilities. In my opinion you can't go wrong here if you are trying to decide where to stay in that area. Oh and the adjacent Grand View Cafe was a great place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tundra Rose Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tundra Rose Guest Cottages

Property: Tundra Rose Guest Cottages
Address: 22518 W Glenn Hwy, Milepost 109.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality log cottages located on the scenic Glenn Highway between the cities of Palmer and Glennallen. 2 hours from Anchorage. Matanuska Glacier and mountain views from every cottage. Observe Dall Sheep and other wildlife. Gas Fireplaces, kitchenettes, private baths, cable TV, private decks and patios. Internet is often unstable due to the rural location. Complimentary morning coffee & tea in your cottage. Perfect setting to unwind or have a romantic get a way! Guests repeatedly state they wish they had booked more than one night. Come see why! If you enjoy nature, you will enjoy Tundra Rose Guest Cottages. Grand View Cafe is 1/8 mile away and easily walked to for meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tundra Rose Guest Cottages Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing