We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter ski getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a nice little find for a quiet getaway in the winter. Many kilometers of groomed ski trails await, with cozy cabins ready for warming up. In the winter, you can rent a larger cabin with all amenities, or a smaller, "dry" cabin and use the shower house for toilets and shower. The hot tub is a great way to warm up, and a wood fired sauna is available, too. In the winter, restaurant service is available for parties of 12 or more as long as reservations are made; otherwise the restaurant is closed from late September until mid-May.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlaskaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

The log cabin in which we stayed was large, beautifully constructed, warm and inviting, with every modern convenience inside. The staff even arranged to do a large bag of laundry for us for $10. We also had an excellent meal in the restaurant of salad, salmon and wild rice and berry pie for only $24 plus wine and gratuity. The Lodge has ten miles of hiking trails and we walked on three of them- a total of about five miles-just enough exercise after a day of driving. The views of the mountains were marvelous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for a couple nights here and loved it. The rooms are simple but cozy and the views are breathtaking. There are lovely hiking trails around the cabins and the food is lovely in the restaurant. Perfect place to unwind!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKAPRANOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheepmtl, Owner at Sheep Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you as our guest again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the lodge – beautiful views, big clean room (actually a cabin) with fridge, microwave, sitting area inside and a veranda outside to sit and look at the views. On the down side the heater was a bit noisy, you have to take fast showers or you run out of hot water, and no wi-fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

One night stay in this lodge with killer views was fantastic except when it was time for me to shower the water turned cold right in the middle of the shower which was not cool. i had to get out of the shower dry myself and wait for 1 hour for the hotwater to return.
Nice grounds, Huge cozy cabin.
No wifi except if your are in the cafe. It goes dead anywhere else.
Staffs are kinda pushy for you to order food when you want to hang in the cafe for some internet time which is understandable but don't overdo it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PURPLEYAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheepmtl, Owner at Sheep Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Our classic cabins do have a limited hot water supply. We have put signs in the bathrooms alerting guests that hot water is limited and it can take up to 45 minutes to warm our cold mountain spring water up to shower temperature. Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

After our cruise, our four day land excursion ended with one night at the Sheep Mountain Lodge. We got there late after a long day and drive from Denali which included a little stop in Talkeetna. Our purpose for staying here was to do the Matanuska Glacier Trek the next morning, on our last day before our flight out of ANC at 5pm. Everything worked out great, but I do wish we had more time at the Lodge and at the Glacier. This place was so remote, I have no idea where else we would have stayed if not here. Also, we almost ran out of gas on our way in, so make sure you have a full tank before you make your way here. There was an inconspicous place (The Long Rifel Lodge) to get gas 10 miles away (near the Glacier) but we would have never known it unless we asked the locals. The drive from Denali to the Sheep Mountain Lodge was gorgeous. The lodge/cabin itself was cute, quaint, clean and comfortable. They had free wi-fi and great food options for breakfast and dinner (not sure about lunch). The owners are also Iditaroders and you can see their sled dogs on property. If we had stayed longer, we could have enjoyed some of the hiking trails and maybe seen some wildlife.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fantastic location, rooms and people!!! The location is beutiful facing majestic mountians. The staff is very frienkly. The waiter in the cafeteria seemed overworked buI suppose she was. The food though was very good.

Room Tip: Premier cabins are purely beutiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsingh95070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheep Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Mountain Lodge

Address: 17701 W Glenn Hwy, Mile 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Price Range: $113 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheep Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheep Mountain Lodge. Located at the base of the Sheep Mountains at Mile 113 of the Glenn Hwy #1, Sheep Mountain Lodge has been serving Alaskans and travelers since 1946. On the road to Alaska's Interior region, the Lodge is noted for it's cleanliness, hospitality, good food and recreational opportunities. Dall sheep are frequently seen grazing on the mountainside just behind the Lodge. In the summer months, local trails provide ample opportunity for hiking, wildflower walks and wildlife viewing. In the winter months cross-country skiers, snowmobilers and dog mushers explore the areas many trails and recreational opportunities. We offer home-cooked meals made with the freshest ingredients possible, proudly supporting our Alaskan farmers and fishermen whenever possible. We hope to see you at Sheep Mountain Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sheep Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep Mountain Hotel Glacier View
Sheep Mountain Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing