We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and great skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My family had a great family reunion here in December of 2010. The ski trails are marvelous and well-groomed - with lots of long gradual climbs, and exciting downhill runs. The powder was fantastic that December. It was my third visit to this location, and I've never been disappointed. Our children had a great time skiing and would love to go again. The owners are dog-mushers, so it was fun to see them leaving on their runs early in the morning. They would go in a huge circuit - 90 miles I believe they said - in training for the Iditarod. They are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The cabins we stayed in had showers and a small kitchen. Very Alaskan decor, and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 213 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

If you are traveling north along the Glenn Hwy this is THE place to stop for a meal or an overnight. Anjanette Steer and her husband Zack have owned the place for quite a few years and take pride in making this place one of the best little getaways in the state. In the winter the restaurant is not open for meals but they have cozy cabins for rent and have miles of groomed ski trails with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We have traveled to many AK get-aways and Sheep Mountain Lodge continues to impress us! The cabins are clean and cozy. The full kitchens make it easy to cook for our baby and we have plenty of room for her toys and ours. We ate in the restaurant a few times and had a hard time choosing (salmon special was delicious!!!!). The trails are well-marked and we saw moose and other wildlife within minutes of our cabin. We can't wait to visit in the winter and ski those same trails now that we know they groom them when it snows. The only disappointment was that we didn't get a chance to meet the famous Iditarod musher from Sheep Mountain. He must've been out feeding the dogs!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

What a big surprise waited for us at the Mountain Sheep Lodge. We stayed there previously but that was maybe 8-10 years ago? Since then I always recommended this place on TA and every time we drove by we stated we should stay there again one day. Well, we did. I have to admit this is not the same place it used to be. First, a young clerk who checked us in made inappropriate remarks to us about an older couple who she just checked in. I don’t know what she was referring to but we are not that young as well. Maybe because a woman asked if they can drive up to the cabin to unload their luggage instead of carrying it uphill? We never met the owner(s) but I don’t think this is the same person or persons who owned this business when we visited previously.

Our cabin (the same one) did not change much. It is still clean but got older and it shows. The linoleum floors are the same. Showers are the same. I cannot recall a heater during our previous visit but it is placed in a peculiar place against the wall in the corner which means it got hot on one side of the room but a bathroom was cold. There were small refrigerator and microwave in our cabin which we did not use because we decided to eat at the restaurant. What can I say? Once again, this is not the dining experience we remembered. What happened to delicious juicy hamburgers and satisfying specials? In our cabin there was also a coffee pot but it was so dirty we weren't brave enough to use it.

There was road construction right outside the lodge and we could hear sounds of the work until about 9 pm and then they started at 7 am. I realize the lodge cannot do anything about it.

The setting of the Sheep Mountain Lodge as always is spectacular but the lodge now has more buildings and very busy parking lot. If we stayed in one newer cabin (1-4) we probably we wouldn't be disappointed.

Anyway, this place used to be remarkably clean with nice sheets, towels, bedding. There is still a nice quilt on the bed but other small bed in our cabin had an old tattered blanket and probably the same sheets are there since the lodge opened. They are worn out and look like they should be replaced already. The lodge advertises free wireless in the main building but after 15 minutes trying to get connected I gave up. In conclusion, this is not a terrible place to stay in but comparing to other lodging (11) during our long annual visit the Sheep Mountain Lodge was the most disappointing and overpriced. Maybe because we had high expectations and were counting on the same experiences we had years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We chose Sheep Mountain Lodge as our stopover between Valdez and Anchorage because of the location. Wow! We stayed in one of the Premier Cabins and were very impressed with the cabin and the lodge. It is obvious that Zack and Anjanette have put there heart into this lodge with incredible results. We were more than comfortable. The area is beautiful - the mountains are a little different here. We were lucky enough to see some sheep! This is definitely a destination and not just a stopover. Hospitality was just great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jano-staugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The cabins were impeccably clean and incredibly well furnished. We planned to eat in the restaurant, since we didn't know how well the cabin was furnished, but we now know that we could cook almost anything when we come back for winter skiing.The view was spectacular, and we enjoyed the wood fired sauna.

Wildflowers galore were blooming when we were there, and we enjoyed a several mile walk. I grew up in Alaska, but this was some of the most spectacular wildflower viewing I've enjoyed in my lifetime.

We also went on the Nova class II/III rapids with our 5 year old, who had a spectacular time.

The food, including gargantuan cinnamon rolls and lattes, was great.

The drive to the lodge has always been one of my favorites...world class scenery, at all times of year. We will likely repeat versions of this trip many times in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squeek022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a find! Gorgeous views, good food, lots to see and do in the area. The drive from Anchorage was the most scenic we had during our two weeks in Alaska.

Room Tip: Book EARLY -- months ahead, for best luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iggytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheep Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Mountain Lodge

Address: 17701 W Glenn Hwy, Mile 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Price Range: $113 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheep Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheep Mountain Lodge. Located at the base of the Sheep Mountains at Mile 113 of the Glenn Hwy #1, Sheep Mountain Lodge has been serving Alaskans and travelers since 1946. On the road to Alaska's Interior region, the Lodge is noted for it's cleanliness, hospitality, good food and recreational opportunities. Dall sheep are frequently seen grazing on the mountainside just behind the Lodge. In the summer months, local trails provide ample opportunity for hiking, wildflower walks and wildlife viewing. In the winter months cross-country skiers, snowmobilers and dog mushers explore the areas many trails and recreational opportunities. We offer home-cooked meals made with the freshest ingredients possible, proudly supporting our Alaskan farmers and fishermen whenever possible. We hope to see you at Sheep Mountain Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sheep Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep Mountain Hotel Glacier View
Sheep Mountain Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing