We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a very different place now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adirondack, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“It is a very different place now”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

What a big surprise waited for us at the Mountain Sheep Lodge. We stayed there previously but that was maybe 8-10 years ago? Since then I always recommended this place on TA and every time we drove by we stated we should stay there again one day. Well, we did. I have to admit this is not the same place it used to be. First, a young clerk who checked us in made inappropriate remarks to us about an older couple who she just checked in. I don’t know what she was referring to but we are not that young as well. Maybe because a woman asked if they can drive up to the cabin to unload their luggage instead of carrying it uphill? We never met the owner(s) but I don’t think this is the same person or persons who owned this business when we visited previously.

Our cabin (the same one) did not change much. It is still clean but got older and it shows. The linoleum floors are the same. Showers are the same. I cannot recall a heater during our previous visit but it is placed in a peculiar place against the wall in the corner which means it got hot on one side of the room but a bathroom was cold. There were small refrigerator and microwave in our cabin which we did not use because we decided to eat at the restaurant. What can I say? Once again, this is not the dining experience we remembered. What happened to delicious juicy hamburgers and satisfying specials? In our cabin there was also a coffee pot but it was so dirty we weren't brave enough to use it.

There was road construction right outside the lodge and we could hear sounds of the work until about 9 pm and then they started at 7 am. I realize the lodge cannot do anything about it.

The setting of the Sheep Mountain Lodge as always is spectacular but the lodge now has more buildings and very busy parking lot. If we stayed in one newer cabin (1-4) we probably we wouldn't be disappointed.

Anyway, this place used to be remarkably clean with nice sheets, towels, bedding. There is still a nice quilt on the bed but other small bed in our cabin had an old tattered blanket and probably the same sheets are there since the lodge opened. They are worn out and look like they should be replaced already. The lodge advertises free wireless in the main building but after 15 minutes trying to get connected I gave up. In conclusion, this is not a terrible place to stay in but comparing to other lodging (11) during our long annual visit the Sheep Mountain Lodge was the most disappointing and overpriced. Maybe because we had high expectations and were counting on the same experiences we had years ago.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    60
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
96
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine, FL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We chose Sheep Mountain Lodge as our stopover between Valdez and Anchorage because of the location. Wow! We stayed in one of the Premier Cabins and were very impressed with the cabin and the lodge. It is obvious that Zack and Anjanette have put there heart into this lodge with incredible results. We were more than comfortable. The area is beautiful - the mountains are a little different here. We were lucky enough to see some sheep! This is definitely a destination and not just a stopover. Hospitality was just great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jano-staugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The cabins were impeccably clean and incredibly well furnished. We planned to eat in the restaurant, since we didn't know how well the cabin was furnished, but we now know that we could cook almost anything when we come back for winter skiing.The view was spectacular, and we enjoyed the wood fired sauna.

Wildflowers galore were blooming when we were there, and we enjoyed a several mile walk. I grew up in Alaska, but this was some of the most spectacular wildflower viewing I've enjoyed in my lifetime.

We also went on the Nova class II/III rapids with our 5 year old, who had a spectacular time.

The food, including gargantuan cinnamon rolls and lattes, was great.

The drive to the lodge has always been one of my favorites...world class scenery, at all times of year. We will likely repeat versions of this trip many times in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeek022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a find! Gorgeous views, good food, lots to see and do in the area. The drive from Anchorage was the most scenic we had during our two weeks in Alaska.

Room Tip: Book EARLY -- months ahead, for best luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iggytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I found Sheep Mountain Lodge a perfect midpoint stop when driving between Anchorage and Valdez on the Glenn Hwy. Our clean, quiet cabin #11 was furthest from the highway and at a trail head. The front porch offered a side view of Sheep Mountain. Unfortunately, rains prevented our exploring Independence Mine and Matanuska Glacier en route from Anchorage so we arrived early and appreciated our cozy cabin. On a sunny day, we could have hiked their trails near Sheep Mountain and visited their Iditarod kennel as well. Even with ugly weather, we recommend this comfortable, convenient stop at Mile 113.5 of the Glenn Hwy. And, if you are there for breakfast, we recommend the sourdough French bread. It's superb!

Room Tip: Cabin #11 is furthest from the Glenn Highway and at a trail head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed one night (July 16, 2011) in one of their newer fully equipped cabins. These cabins are No 1 through No 4 and are very beautiful, spotlessly clean with a fully equipped kitchen and built in kitchen / dining table. The log cabin had a nice bathroom with shower. There is a pedestal sink in the sleeping area with two comfortable queen beds. There is also a state of the art heater and a couch. There is a front porch with a great view of the mountains. The inside of these cabins are just gorgeous and I spent a bit of time just looking around and admiring the design and craftsmanship.

We stayed in cabin No 1 on our last night in Alaska (a three week adventure including an Inside Passage Cruise). The grounds and all the facilities are all maintained in tip top shape. The Owners and folks running this Lodge are very friendly and accommodating. We did not use the restaurant but the menu and prices looked great. Several people told us the food was great with very generous portions. We cooked our last meal in Alaska in our lovely unit. It had every thing we needed and we felt very much at home….a fantastic way to end our Alaskan Adventure.

A very nice surprise was to learn there was a kennel approximately 100 yards away with 18 or so husky sled dogs. The owners are Iditarod competitors and their dogs were here after a long winter of training. It was impressive to see these fine animals including a female that had 4 beautiful pups just three weeks old. There are some hiking trails in the local area but unfortunately we did not have time to explore them.

I was so impressed with the Sheep Mountain Lodge that I was a bit sad we only spent one night here. I would highly recommend the large new cabins No 1 through No 4 if you are traveling through this part of Alaska. As a matter of fact I would suggest planning your itinerary so you have the opportunity to stay at the Sheep Mountain Lodge during your journey around Alaska

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here on our way from Glennallen to Anchorage for one night.

This lodge is located in a beautiful setting against some gorgeous mountains.

The cottage we got looked very pretty from outside. Inside the room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

In the morning we had breakfast here which was awesome and good quantity too.

We din't spend much time here but it did serve it's purpose for us and we got a good night's sleep

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IamVagabondDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheep Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Mountain Lodge

Property: Sheep Mountain Lodge
Address: 17701 W Glenn Hwy, Mile 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheep Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheep Mountain Lodge. Located at the base of the Sheep Mountains at Mile 113 of the Glenn Hwy #1, Sheep Mountain Lodge has been serving Alaskans and travelers since 1946. On the road to Alaska's Interior region, the Lodge is noted for it's cleanliness, hospitality, good food and recreational opportunities. Dall sheep are frequently seen grazing on the mountainside just behind the Lodge. In the summer months, local trails provide ample opportunity for hiking, wildflower walks and wildlife viewing. In the winter months cross-country skiers, snowmobilers and dog mushers explore the areas many trails and recreational opportunities. We offer home-cooked meals made with the freshest ingredients possible, proudly supporting our Alaskan farmers and fishermen whenever possible. We hope to see you at Sheep Mountain Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sheep Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep Mountain Hotel Glacier View
Sheep Mountain Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing