We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cabin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cabin”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night in the small cabin and it was fantastic. The cabin is very cute and beautiful! You are in a small wooden cabin in the wood except that you have all the amenities (shower,small kitchen...). We even saw a moose and her calf!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kali281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dan and Sandy were fabulous hosts during our stay in Cabin #2. The comfortable accommodations and hospitality were second-to-none. We cannot say enough great things about the cozy cabin and the wonderful, quiet setting which surrounded us. We can't wait to return this winter for another visit. There was plenty to do within the area from 4-wheeling to a wonderful hike in the mountains; what a view! Certainly a must see when visiting Glacier View, Alaska! Simply fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay – were supposed to stay only one night, but just couldn't resist staying longer! The cabins are cosy and very well decorated, with as much thought and attention to detail as if it was a home to the hosts. It seems like the hosts thought of everything you might want to have at hand during the stay – the kitchen is fully equipped up to the smallest detail, the barbecue is waiting for you behind the cabin, the list of nice restaurants is on the table as well as maps of some hikes in the area, and some books and DVDs are there in case of a rainy day. Sandy is extremely friendly and helpful - we spent quite some time chatting with her. And to top this all, the prices are very reasonable!
In short, the best accommodation we had during our trip in Alaska, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alona_domnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

we stayed one night at Homestead cabin. We had the smallest cabin. It was extremely comfortable and the hosts were wonderful. It's a good location, close to the Matanuska glacier. What a find! We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful cabins with all luxuries in Glacier View. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for one night to go for a early morning glacier hike and wished that we had stayed longer. It was comfortable and the decor was very cute. The kitchen is well equipped. We did not cook but anybody who wants to cook will have all the tools.Do buy groceries breakfast etc if you will be staying at these cabins. There are no grocery stores nearby. Loved the stay. It is Glamping at its best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Web site: http://www.homesteadcabinsak.com/about-the-cabins.html

Our friends (4) and us (3) booked cabins 2 and 3 for one night. I just wish we had time to stay longer in this beautiful part of Alaska and in these lovely cabins. If I ever move to Alaska I would love to have similar cabin somewhere in the area. Gorgeous views everywhere you look.

Both cabins offer comfortable accommodations and nicely equipped kitchens. Cabin #3 has a spacious bathroom with washer and dryer; the owners even supplied the detergent. The bathroom in cabin #2 was a bit small however.

I loved the way owners decorated the cabins, they paid attention to the smallest details; the towels in the bathrooms were cleverly coordinated; all three sets from the same collection, but each had its own pattern or color. Great idea! Same was done in the larger cabin #3.
Each cabin has a charcoal grill and a fire pit. Both the charcoal and the firewood were generously supplied by the owners. On Sandy's advice when we booked, we purchased Alaskan salmon, shrimp, and salads at a supermarket in Palmer on the way to the cabins and had a great grilled dinner at night.

Dan and Sandy have a nice hiking trail just steps from the cabins. We saw a mama moose with a baby there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The cabins were immaculate, and very clean. They had everything we needed for a great stay. Dan and Sandy were so friendly and wonderful to talk to. Dan showed us places to hike and Sandy was a perfect hostess. The cabins were equipped with everything we needed to cook and we even did laundry. The views are unbelievable from where we stayed, with mountains peaking in the distance. You absolutely cannot go wrong staying here. The cabins are homey and hospitable. It's quiet and clean and beautiful. The cabins are nicely spaced apart and you have complete privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Guest Cabins

Property: Homestead Guest Cabins
Address: 31200 W Lee Dr, Glacier View, AK 99674-8225
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three cozy hand crafted log cabins available year round in a quiet peaceful setting 1 hour from Palmer/ 2 hours from Anchorage - 5 miles from the Matanuska Glacier. Cabins are fully furnished with bedding, linens, dishes, stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, complete kitchen, private bathroom with shower. Free wireless internet in each cabin. Cabins sleep 2-6, rate based on double occupancy. Hiking trails, recreational activities abundant in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestead Guest Cabins Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing