We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Mangaweka Adventure Company
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Mangaweka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mangaweka Adventure Co, New Zealand offers you a great family experience in New Zealand. Raft or Kayak on the Rangitikei River with your whole family, ages 3yrs and up - it is the best 1hr trip in the North Island with fun splashy rapids, friendly guides and a yummy snack at the finish. Have more time? Take a real New Zealand adventure and camp overnight on the river with our rafting experts. Enjoy the open fire in a far away place, hear the native birds as well as the fun professional guides' stories far away river tales. We gear up your group up and cook the yummy food, including the fresh fire brewed coffee in the morning- its stunning and fun and more comfortable than you think... Have your own camper van? Park up overnight at Awastone, our riverside base. The powered sites have riverside views. Book the hot tub to soak your Tongariro Crossing aches away.
Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've done several trips with MAC over the last year. They have been very prompt at responding to queries, confirming bookings and give great advice about local conditions, including advising at times that the river conditions have been beyond my ability - much appreciated.
With different family and friends that I have brought through they have tailored the trips, the boats and the advice perfectly to the age and skill-level of the participants. Friendly and safe, but not officious, guides. Great service and clean hot showers for afterwards.
A great little family-run business.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning River”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Absolutely beautiful spot. Don't drive through Mangaweka like I have all my life, wondering what the river is like! STOP!!! For at least a night, (we had to stay another) because it truly is one of NZ's little Gems. We didn't raft, but it looks like a great river if you were into it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great camping and rafting”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights , with some friends and thier kids, at Awastone camp ground-on the campervan site. The facilites are excellent- good hot showers, good clean and well presented kitchen area. The views of the river and the location are unbeatable. The owners are very friendly and helpful. ts obvious that a lot of work has gone into making this site so special.
We took our daughter rafting, as organised through the camp ground, with our friends and all the kids loved- as did the adults.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome awastone!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have been travelling through new zealand during october 2013, and have made a ranking on the campings that we have stayed in. Awastone scored 1st place! We were driving from tongariro national park to wellington, and since we were feelling very tired we decided to stop at mangaweka since we found very good reviews about awastone camping ground in camping new zealand app. The place was absolutely beautiful with stunning views of the cliffs and rangitikei river flowing just meters away from our campervan. Well kept, clean and new facilities, free wifi, free laundry (no drying machine thouh), and extremely friendly and helpful owner tricia , made our stay here a wonderful dream although it was just one night. We washed our clothes in the washing machine and then hanged them on the lines to dry overnight. It rained that night and when we woke up, thinking that our clothes would we all wet, we found that tricia (or somebody) had hanged them bettee than we had done, so that they were dry when we were ready to leave the camping. Very nice of them! Absolutely wonderful place, wich we will recommend to our friends ande would stay again in, when we come back to NZ. Ah! And cheaper than other camping grounds! A dream!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grisogato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Family Adventure”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Keeping three teenagers entertained on a holiday is difficult to say the least. Mangaweka Adventure Co took care of that when we booked a Family River Rafting adventure. Our guide kitted us up in warm & waterproof gear (it was June after all!) and after a short road trip to our river entry point, we were then given a safety briefing and then off on our adventure. The Rangitikei river was crystal clear and the scenery stunning. We were given excellent running commentary by our guide and our family of 5 all had a job to do in the boat to ensure the adventure went to plan. The twists, turns and ups and downs the white water threw at us were fantastic and to see the look of pure enjoyment on our kid's faces was sensational. After our white water adventure, we arrived back at Awastone to hot showers, hot soup, tea, coffee & hot chocolates provided by the lovely Tricia. I look forward to coming back (in warmer weather) and camping at Awastone. Fabulous facilities, superbly run and lots of adventures to be had. Look forward to seeing you again Tricia! Cheers Kylie

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangaweka Adventure Company also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Rangitikei District, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Mangaweka Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing