We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome after a dreadful drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A warm welcome after a dreadful drive”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

On a wet and windy evening it was a pleasure to walk into this cosy inn, with a smell of a log fire in the hearth.

We had a friendly welcome on arrival. Our room was at the back of the Inn overlooking the guests car park. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom well appointed.

Our meal that evening was excellent and breakfast set us up well for the next day.

We would be happy to stay at the Carpenters Arms again (not for too long as the food would blow our diets!!)

Could recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 and 12 will hear the extractor systems from the kitchen - but only when the kitchen is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    75
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
70
114
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I had a lovely 2 night stay here and would highly recommend this establishment.
Our room was superb, the food was great and the staff were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the best room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

party of four 60ish, eat out fair amount all over the place. Eaten here several times over the years. Wanted relaxed evening without need for driving so booked in. Well appointed clean rooms. Despite very busy service staff were lovely helpful. Because there were no profit driven multiple sittings you felt relaxed. Good Food came promptly and well done considering numbers.. But you weren't rushed. nice family atmosphere all ages. disco music perhaps a little modern for children of the 70s but hell it's New Year.
Staff helpful and attentive with minor medical misadventure. We're planning on going next year

Room Tip: Despite the fact we were in the "worst room" for noise according to some staff, a faint ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sternsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Carps really is a wonderful rural pub/restaurant with rooms. Unpretentious, generous-sized and well prepared food, a lovely cosy bar with log fire, and very welcoming staff. Perfectly positioned between Bath and Bristol for easy travel to either (and handy for the aiport), yet in a very pretty rural area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MattP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend as we were attending a wedding in the area.
The room was lovely and finished to a high standard.
The food is such a high standard - plus the service was brilliant - nothing was too much trouble and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times, when visiting elderly parents who live close by, and have always been very happy during our stay. The pub itself is charming, traditionally furnished and extremely welcoming. The dining room has a great menu, with good choice, and the food is always well presented and cooked. The accommodation has obviously been recently refurbished as the upstairs section and bedrooms are furnished in contemporary style, and it is extremely comfortable. We have stayed in Room 12 on 3 occasions, and it is a reasonably spacious room, with a sofa, very comfortable bed and the lovely addition of fresh milk and a cafetiere and fresh coffee making facilities. Room service available from the bar for drinks and sandwiches &c. The carparking is good and secure. Prices are reasonable, for an overnight stay which is reliably good quality, which is the reason why we will return in the future. One tip to visitors who have commented on the route up the long winding lane - take the trouble to look at the map, and don't take the turn out of the village centre up the lane - go straight up the main road to the roundabout and the hotel is then easily found about a quarter of a mile down an easier road!!

Room Tip: Room 12 is spacious and has a lovely comfortable sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbit69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with several friend over the weekend. Everything about our stay was superb. First the staff are all helpful, polite and friendly. The food is first class and doesn't try to be anything other than very good country pub food with quality produce and good cooking, thank goodness no gimmicky gastropub tricks. The breakfast staff had 9 different requests for various types of English breakfast and on both mornings every dish was correct and no one had to wait. A rare thing in hotels. Rooms are very good and clean and above all the prices are fantastic for what you get. W are already planning our next visit

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton Wick
5.4 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
455 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
663 reviews
10.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Property: The Carpenters Arms
Address: Stanton Wick BS39 4BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stanton Wick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel Stanton Wick
The Carpenters Arms Stanton Wick, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing