We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Inn”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived we had a good feeling about our chosen destination. The Carpenters Arms has a great atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent food and the bedrooms are so comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean. It's set in a quiet country location but convenient for visiting Bath and Bristol. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    72
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
112
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived here on a business stay over, greeted by a fairly pleasant male staff member who checked me in and reserved me a table in the restaurant once I was ready.

The room was very modern, clean and bright the bathroom was newish. the bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant looked very promising, the waiter came and took the order after a short time but when I ordered Pate he did not understand what I was ordering?

I also ordered a bottle of red wine which came delivered open by who I am assuming was the owner and slammed down of the table with a forced thank you.

The food was good and served at a good speed.

The breakfast next morning was ok not great service again but I assumed she had not slept well.

All in all this place would be amazing of only the service was upto the building

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal via their website and must say it was fantastic value. The outside of the pub is beautiful with lots of seating areas to make the most of the weather. We really enjoyed our 3 course dinner and also breakfast the following morning. The only negative would be the size of our room - it was more like a single, so a little cramped with two adults. However this wouldn't put me off staying here again because it really is a lovely place to stay in beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came here to meet some old friends of my parents while waiting for our flight to bristol. the restaurant had a cosy interior and judging by the amount of people; it must be popular. However, the food was just pub-standard and quite overpriced. I wouldn't come here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 12yearoldcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great romantic place to stay off a remote country road. We stayed her because we were having a romantic dinner near by. Its a great place for couples. We didn't eat at the pub but, plane on coming back to just do that, sleep there again, and have their breakfast. It was perfect for a quick get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arimaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very friendly welcome the moment you enter this beautiful pub. It's in a wonderfully quiet location on a small country road. The rooms was very well finished with a big comfortable bed with very high quality bedding & a smart and spacious bathroom. Our room had two windows looking out over the hills behind. Dinner was superb, we couldn't fault it. Breakfast was also excellent with that rarest of things - perfect poached eggs. We can't wait to return to this marvellous Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armourpiercing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked to stay here on a Friday night as we were going to a nearby restaurant. We were very impressed by the rooms, setting and service. Very comfortable beds and good quality bedding- an excellent nights sleep was had! Good breakfast the next morning and we would certainly like to come back to try the food.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton Wick
5.4 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
7.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bear & Swan Inn
The Bear & Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Chew Magna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Property: The Carpenters Arms
Address: Stanton Wick BS39 4BX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stanton Wick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel Stanton Wick
The Carpenters Arms Stanton Wick, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing