We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night when on business and it was lovely. The place is hard to find but when you get there you know you are in for treat. The building, rooms and pub are very clean and ooze charm. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was fabulous, a great menu and all very well cooked. The beer was excellent as well which always helps :)

This is the kind of place I love finding, so much better than staying in a chain. I've less to say here than I usually do when I review but thats because it can't be faulted and you should stay here, just watch your head on the low doorway!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demig_AIUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 307 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Beautifully located in the countryside, this place oozes a cosy, laid back, relaxed atmosphere and one that is most welcoming. Room was perfectly sized and very clean. Grwat value for money and the bar staff were absolutely lovely! I would definitely go back again. Would highly recommend to others :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateAngelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A large group of us stayed at the Carpenters for a family event. Everyone seemed to like their rooms apart from the fact it was freezing cold in them all at night and in the morning. However, we had room 4, which didn't have a proper shower, just one of those European-style hand-held nozzles which, if you lifted it above your waist, cut out completely making showering and hair-washing very awkward and time consuming, especially as the water temperature changed from icy to scalding every 15 seconds or so. However, the decor was nice, the fittings new, the facilities good, the staff pleasant. Breakfast was superb and mostly everyone else found their bathrooms to have proper showers. Some rooms had a sofa although ours did not. It is in a quiet setting (aka the middle of nowhere) but with easy reach of A-roads to Bristol, Bath and Somerset. Parking is ample and free and the location is well signposted. The pub downstairs does good food and is traditionally decorated. Very cosy by the log fire. All in all a good stay, just bring a hot water bottle and don't request room 4!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 unless you prefer baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busyquizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is our most favourite place for a wonderful escape. Lovely rural setting superb food and wonderful friendly nothing too much trouble service. The squid starter I had last night was the best squid I have ever tasted!! This is such a superb all round hotel and so worth a visit. Each time we leave we look forward to our next visit !!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was the second visit by our small group, this time staying for two nights. Again we were not disappointed. The rooms are perfect, with comfortable beds (unusual for me), enough space to put things and good free wi-fi. There was a kettle tray, including a cafetiere and some tasty biscuits, and a desk/dressing table complete with mirror, light and socket - hooray! The bathroom was lovely with a small bath with shower over and everything working well and with good toiletries.

I enjoyed our two dinners enormously. Try the Thai chicken curry - a popular favourite apparently and always kept on the menu despite other regular changes. But don't do what I did and have the paté as a starter first. You will struggle! The desserts looked lovely, but I couldn't get near them either night. Some in our group thought the vegetables were too al dente - some allegedly nearly raw, including the potatoes apparently, but the things I had were fine. Breakfasts were exellent with nothing too much trouble for the staff looking after our rather picky group. In fact the service the whole time was first class, from friendly folk who seemed keen to provide a first class experience without excessive pretension.

If you are going just for dinner you will need to book. There was no room at the inn (in the dining room, anyway) the nights we were there, creating a lovely buzzy atmosphere.

This is a great place to stay and to eat. It is kept in apple pie order, with everything looking in good condition. We will go back and I would recommend it to anyone. There are good packages for dinner bed & breakfast that are very good value. Other inns and expensive hotels could learn a lot from the quality of rooms, meals and service offered here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have used this pub frequently as a convenient mid-way meeting place with friends over a number of years - we stopped using about 4 years ago because standard had dropped, but thought that we would try again. Unfortunately we were disappointed - not by the service which was excellent, but the food which was bland. Not sure how you take essentially good ingredients and make them tasteless, but that was the general opinion of the 4 of us who ate together last week. The starters were ok, although the only part of the asparagus, pancetta and black pudding salad with any flavour was the pancetta. For mains, two of the party had Seabass fillet, crisp vegetable stir fry and noodles. Not only was this virtually tasteless, but was extremely oily - resulting in two unimpressed customers. The meat of the confit of duck was good, but the red wine and thyme sauce, of which there was a very generous quantity, was tasteless - just brown and a bit savoury.
Puds (sorbets and ice cream) were good , but the Treacle tart purist in the party was very disappointed with a very dense over bread crumbed filling with little flavour. Sorry if this seems picky, but for people to travel 20 odd miles and pay over £25, it needs to be worthwhile.
Unfortunately we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have been to this lovely inn several times and always very pleased with it.
There is ample parking at the side of the inn and across the country lane as well.
We were a group of eight and seated on a large table comfortably in the main restaurant for lunch.
The choice of food is very good and at a reasonable price. We shared various breads with balsamic&oil as starters, The mains were all very good - the fish&chips were large , the confit duck tasty and my lamb chumps were beautifully cooked pink and tasted great. The portions were large so we missed out the desserts (which is a shame as they looked really nice). Coffees and chat carried on well into the mid afternoon and the staff did not hurry us out.
If you like really good food,cooked very nice, at a good price in a nice atmosphere, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatisfiedUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton Wick
5 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
710 reviews
5.4 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
491 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
159 reviews
7.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Litton
The Litton
#1 of 1 in Litton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Address: Stanton Wick BS39 4BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stanton Wick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Price Range: $98 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel Stanton Wick
The Carpenters Arms Stanton Wick, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing